to top 10 table

10 Best Newton Running Shoes Tested & Compared

last updated Sep 29, 2018
There are just so many choices when it comes to running shoes. Brands that have been around since the birth of athletics and brands that are marketed for particular strengths. Its hard to know what you want, let alone what is best. We want this list to help you understand what Newton is and what it wants to do on top of what shoes they make.

Newton is a company all about running. Their products are not for general athletics or for sports that are working centric but for solely running. This single-minded dedication shoes in every one of their designs and how they are clearly made for the trail, 5K, or marathon you bought them for.

Below we have a list of the most exceptional shoes from the Newton line, what we believe are the very best they have to offer. We also have the criteria by which we judge the shoes so our readers can understand the reasoning of our conclusions. Further still, we have our FAQ filled with questions we here frequently and the answers we believe are most helpful.
Researched Sources
10
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
15k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Max Knapp:

We believe continious up to date information is essential, so we have gone through and brought our assessment criteria and list is up to date, including adding the Fate 3 and the Kismet 3. 8/5/18 We went through and overhauled our list to make sure it reflected the current assessment of these as well as our own changing take as our understanding grows. We added the Boco Sol to the list as well. We also went ahead and overhauled the FAQ, adding a couple of new questions and cleaning up the answers on a few others. We want to make sure our FAQ section is as helpful as possible. 9/29/18 With this update our selection largely remains the same, but here we've brought the best Newton shoes to our new and improved format. Now you can get the same reliable buying info in a great new look with upgraded readability and design.

Sorting Options
Comfort Durability Price By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Comfort
99%
Durability
99%
Price
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.7
Comfort
98%
Durability
98%
Price
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$116.25
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Comfort
96%
Durability
97%
Price
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$120.07
$174.95
Best Deal
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Comfort
96%
Durability
95%
Price
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Comfort
94%
Durability
95%
Price
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Comfort
92%
Durability
93%
Price
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Comfort
92%
Durability
92%
Price
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$118.95
Best Deal
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Comfort
92%
Durability
92%
Price
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Comfort
91%
Durability
90%
Price
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.7
Comfort
89%
Durability
89%
Price
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Newton Lady Isaac
  • Newton Distance VI
  • Newton Motion VI
  • Newton Distance Elite
  • Newton Tri-Racer MV3
  • Newton Boco Sol
  • Newton Energy NR
  • Newton Energy AHA
  • Newton Gravity VI
  • Newton Fate III
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources
Click here to see more

Top 10 Picks

1. Newton Lady Isaac

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
1. Newton Lady Isaac
Comfort
99
Durability
99
Price
98
best offer for today
Pros:

Appropriate for all levels of running

Designed to help prevent common running injuries

Users enjoy the roomy toe box

Cons:

None reported by running and walking users alike!

One of Newton’s flagship shoes, the Lady Isaac is intended for walking or running.

Read more

Comfort
Newton states that this is their most structured and supportive shoe. With a toe drop of 4.5 mm, this highly stable, yet cushioned shoe is highly responsive to impact. It has midfoot support to help combat pronation.

Durability
A highly durable shoe because of carbon rubber, it is also breathable because of a mesh upper.

Price
One of the most expensive, but most highly rated, Newton shoes.

2. Newton Distance VI

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.7
2. Newton Distance VI
Comfort
98
Durability
98
Price
97
best offer for today
$116.25
Pros:

Comfortable

Lightweight

Responsive cushioning

Mesh construction for better ventilation

Designed with lugs for a more responsive shoe

Cons:

Pretty pricey

Newton brings a heavy competitor to the running shoe market with the responsive Distance 6.

Read more

Comfort
The cushioned and comfortable Distance 6 is constructed of flexible mesh for a snug fit that is properly ventilated. The Distance 6 comes equipped with Newton’s innovative lugs for a more controlled stride.

Durability
The Newton’s Distance 6 is a hardworking and durable shoe.

Price
These running shoes are a valuable addition to any runners rotation, even at a slightly higher than average price.

3. Newton Motion VI

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
3. Newton Motion VI
Comfort
96
Durability
97
Price
96
best offer for today
more shops
$120.07
$174.95
Best deal
Pros:

Lightweight and breathable

High stability and support

Good toe splay with 4-way stretch

Foam backing on tongue

Reinforced lacing system

Cons:

Some users report this shoe seems smaller than other Newton shoes of the same size

The Newton Motion 6 are a light and easy shoe that will have you feeling ready to run from the moment you put them on.

Read more

Comfort
The Newtons Motion 6 are lightweight and flexible, with little to no break-in time. There is 4-way mesh stretch over the metatarsal panels which helps with a more comfortable foot splay.

Durability
Newton is a reliable brand with few complaints involving quality and durability.

Price
The Motion 6, similar to other shoes from Newton, are slightly pricy. While these shoes are a wise investment for any discerning runner, make sure if shopping online to use discretion since they have been know to be of a smaller fit.

4. Newton Distance Elite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
4. Newton Distance Elite
Comfort
96
Durability
95
Price
94
best offer for today
Pros:

Lightweight and breathable

Eco-friendly

Seamless uppers

Midfoot support straps

Supportive heel

Super responsive

Cons:

Some users report feeling rolling or pronation in these shoes

This shoe was originally only available to elite running teams, but when released to the public, some of the world's fastest runners really took off!

Read more

Comfort
The Distance Elite is a minimally neutral running shoe intended for ultra marathons. It's light weight makes it super fast, and mesh construction lets your foot breathe.

Durability
Although this shoe is "green" with it's recycled laces, webbing, insole, outsole, AND box, it's construction can stand up to the challenge of an ultra race.

Price
Priced at the high end of the Newton spectrum.

5. Newton Tri-Racer MV3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
5. Newton Tri-Racer MV3
Comfort
94
Durability
95
Price
94
best offer for today
Pros:

Lightweight

Quick-drying

Anti-bacterial

Users report decreased lumbar pain

Seamless support straps

Roomy toe box and cap

Anatomical lugs help with grip

Cons:

Specialized for short distances

This light shoe is made for short and mid-distance running, as well as speed workouts.

Read more

Comfort
The MV3 has a zero-drop platform with light inner padding, making it ideal for short distances. Most users report having great runs up to 10 miles in the MV3.

Durability
Breathable and quick-drying mesh enables runners to tackle any terrain during their workout. Plus, the insole is made of a removable, anti-bacterial fabric to help combat germs and odor. The heel and toe are reinforced with high density rubber to help these high wear areas keep up with you over time.

Price
These shoes sit on the high end of the price spectrum, but durability and the return policy more than make up for this.

6. Newton Boco Sol

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
6. Newton Boco Sol
Comfort
92
Durability
93
Price
94
best offer for today
Pros:

Strong trail shoes

Good lugs

Lightweight

Wide toe box

Very supportive

Cons:

May not be fully supportive for high arches

Newtons Boco Sol running shoes are great choices for the runner who wants to tackle trails with a sure foot. The Boco Sol are as comfortable as they are stable and will have you running confidently in all kinds of terrain.

Read more

Comfort
The Boco Sol are known for their high level of comfort and stability. And while they do provide a lot of support or stability, especially for issues like plantar fasciitis, they do seem to fall a bit short when it comes to arch support.

Durability
Newton’s Boco Sol is a high-quality shoe with no issues with long-term durability or wear. They even have a water-repellent finish that helps keep them protected over time.

Price
The Boco Sol seem to cost a little less than your average Newton running shoe which is good news since they measure up to the same standards as other shoes from this brand.

7. Newton Energy NR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
7. Newton Energy NR
Comfort
92
Durability
92
Price
93
best offer for today
more shops
$118.95
Best deal
Pros:

Comfortable

Durable

Little to no break-in

Wide toe box

Regulates proper stride

Cons:

Fit may be challenging to those with wide feet

The Energy NR is a solid shoe from Newton that is not only reliable but affordable.

Read more

Comfort
Newton Energy NR are comfortable running shoes with very little break-in time. Their design is optimized for regulation of stride. They also have a wide toe box to allow the runner proper spread to push themselves off of each step.

Durability
Aside from running a bit on the narrow side, these shoes are of Newton’s same standard of exceptional quality and durability.

Price
The Energy NR has all of the same amazing features available from Newton with one of the lowest price tags on this list.

8. Newton Energy AHA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
8. Newton Energy AHA
Comfort
92
Durability
92
Price
90
best offer for today
Pros:

Lightweight (users say this is the lightest shoe they ever wore)

Suited for extra-long distances

Anatomical lug pattern for good traction

Very durable rubber

Seamless mesh uppers

Cons:

Some special edition patterns aren't available

A little pricey

Available in several different colors as well as special edition releases these are great marathon runners. They have a 6mm toe drop and a P.O.P. 3 platform that gives you a smooth ride.

Read more

Comfort
Super lightweight, the Energy AHA has a POP3 platform and a foam filled chamber, making runners feel like they are running on air. The metatarsal plate is designed for a comfortable step and the seamless uppers are extremely breathable.

Durability
The s.h.a.r.c. outsole makes this shoe highly durable, covering high wear areas with super dense rubber. The seamless engineered mesh uppers also contribute to the long life of these shoes.

Price
Comparable to other Newton prices, these shoes are a little expensive but are definitely worth the cost. You may be able to catch a discount with some of the special edition shoes for a limited time.

9. Newton Gravity VI

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
9. Newton Gravity VI
Comfort
91
Durability
90
Price
89
best offer for today
Pros:

Comfortable

Snug heel

Flexible mesh construction for better fit

4-way stretch metatarsal panel

Reinforced eyelets

Lightweight and breathable

Cons:

Runs small

Some runners may not like the new style tongue

The Gravity VI is another iteration in long line of impressively performing shoes and is reflective of Newtons persistent innovations in running technology.

Read more

Comfort
The Gravity VI are well padded and constructed of flexible mesh for a snug customized fit. The 4-way stretch metatarsal panel offers an ultra comfortable step.

Durability
Reinforced eyelets and a lightweight design will help make this shoe long-lasting, but if you enjoy the Gravity VI you may need to stock up on this model. The continued changes in the shoe are a sign of Newton’s dedication to innovation. Some runners who are familiar with the gravity line may not be keen on them because of a lack of consistency.

Price
The Newton Gravity VI are definitely on the higher end of cost for the brand.

10. Newton Fate III

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.7
10. Newton Fate III
Comfort
89
Durability
89
Price
91
best offer for today
Pros:

Lightweight

Firm

Mesh upper ventilation

Enhanced stretch panels

Seamless construction for comfort

Reflective for safety

5 Lug grip

Cons:

This shoe is new and isn't as extensively tested

The Fate III is a newer option available and is a fantastic example of Newtons continued commitment to improving and innovating their designs.

Read more

Comfort
The Fate III is a comfortable running shoe, made to with enhanced stretch panels for a more flexible fit. The shoe is also made seamless to prevent uncomfortable rubbing caused by protrusions of the stitching. The Fate III also have five lugs at the bottom to maximize stability and footing.

Durability
The Fate III are well-designed running shoes. They have a firm construction that isn’t overly constricting. So they can endure the stress of use as well as absorb that same stress.

Price
These shoes come at a fairly low cost, even for Newtons. The Fate III coming with a markedly affordable price turns them from a great pair of shoes to one of the best on the list.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

A shoe is only the sum of its parts and there are many parts that make up a shoe's comfortability.

Breathability is an essential trait of any good running shoe. Not only does a breathable shoe keep your foot dry and comfortable but these conditions prevent the irritation that can lead to hot spots and, eventually, blisters. These are things that anyone would wish to avoid and runners especially so. If a shoe is breathable, sometimes the materials and design that allow it to ventilate so well will also mean it is lightweight and easy to wear. lightweight running trainers offer better responsive features compared to the regular or standard running sneakers. They have smartly designed to supply the feet with more flexibility, this enables a runner to include natural springy push in their running, something very useful for sprinters and fast paced runners. The weight of a shoe is a serious point to think about when deciding on a shoe. A heavier shoe will provide more padding but will require more effort to move the shoe. Choosing the best option for you and your running style is the goal, so we want you to know what each of these shoes feels like.

Support is one of those things that is so important to the people who need it and not so much to the people who don’t. If you are a runner who suffers from past injuries, over pronation, or arch issues, we want you to know which shoes on this list will be he most helpful to you and which shoes you will want to avoid so that you may run comfortably and pain free. Many of the features that will contribute to a supportive shoe will also provide more comfort, like adequate cushioning and good heel counters.

Cushioning is crucial. Its one factor that every feet wants. Though feet want different levels of cushioning. Cushioned trainers are made for the under pronators. Though the supinators can also use them because they offer the same advantages offered to the under pronators that the athletes who have supination look for in a good trainer. The cushioning present ion these trainers guarantee maximum shock and impact absorption during running.

Durability

Durability can take a worthwhile running shoe and make it valuable.

Whether you run on the deep woods trails or on the sidewalks near your house, you need to have have grip and traction. Making sure your footing doesn’t slip or slide means recording your best times and distances, as well as insuring that you won’t injure yourself as a result of a slip or a fall. Shoes with good traction will probably be fitted or molded with lugs or well-textured rubber outsoles, often using dense rubber to reinforce the areas that need more grip and see more wear. This can really help the durability of your shoes, helping to prepare them to hold up to long-term use.

The materials a shoe is made of will also contribute to (or negatively impact) a shoe's long-term life so be aware of their construction. Materials are the first thing you feel when you pick up or touch a shoe you are interested in. How does it feel? Is it flexible? Does it bend with your foot? Does it seem like it would breath? Is it light or heavy? Then there are the other less immediately noticeable aspects that come into play with shoe materials. How well do they repel water? How much moisture can they hold? Does the padding properly absorb the shock of your footfall? These are all the sort of factors we consider when looking at the materials used to construct the shoe.

Value

If you're shoe shopping on a budget, you're not alone.

Newton shoes can be more costly than other brands, so it's important to keep this in mind while browsing their selection. You are definitely paying for quality and high-performance, as well as the reliability of the brand name that has become popular among experienced runners. This doesn't mean, however, that you won't be able to find a pair of Newton shoes within your price range if you're working with a budget.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

Looking for a shoe that can provide the best fit can be a real challenge. Sizing can vary from brand to brand, let alone style to style. RunnerClick wants to give you the lowdown on what brands run looser, tighter, and where they might fit differently on your foot so that you can make an educated choice on which options is best for you. Ideal you want a shoe that isn’t tight enough to constrict your movement but isn’t loose enough to allow for slipping.

The gender distinction of most shoes comes down to just sizing. Any other model differentiation should be taken into account when considering the shoe, but that is more about the shape of your foot, not your gender. A runner's utmost concern is selecting a shoe that suits them. Go with the shoe that serves you best and don’t let the label worry you.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What separates Newton running shoes from other brands?
a:

Newton designs their shoes exclusively for running. You won’t end up with design features meant for other running shoes or have a divided design team working on extremely different models. Everything that Newton does is directly and specifically for making a better running shoe. And while they may design shoes in a way that doesn’t suit your needs they are driven to always improving their shoes for better performance for runners so its a brand worth keeping your eye on.

q: Does the shoe's style/appearance matter?
a:

Some aspects of a shoe’s style are a little important to actual performance, especially when a designer makes a cosmetic choice that can actually impact how you run, but these instances are few and far between. Most shoe designers are too careful to include an oversight like that.

Can a style affect your performance in other ways? It tends to sleep peoples minds how important morale is to a runners performance. When you have shoes that look good and you feel good wearing them that can impact how well you run. Same goes for shoes you hate. It may not be much, a second here or there, but runners know how much those seconds count. We recommend favoring shoes you feel positively about, even if its just a choice of appearance.

q: How should I consider my running surface?
a:

Many shoes will state the terrain their best suited for. Road shoes are good for beating the pavement and work on smoother surfaces. Trail shoes are meant to grip terrain and protect you from natural hazards. “Race” and marathon shoes are meant for long-term use and should be able to maintain their cushioning over the long term. Using the wrong shoe will cause you discomfort and will possibly damage the shoe so you’ll want to be careful. If a shoes specific use is unclear we recommend a little reading, some research, and asking around.

q: What socks should I wear while I run?
a:

If you are running in warmer weather then you’ll want to favor, more breathable sock and in colder weather, warmer socks are essential gear. You’ll also want to wear socks that deal well with moisture and wick well otherwise that can lead to skin problems with the sweat build up.

We also should mention that no matter what you do that should make sure to get well-fitted socks. Poor fitting socks can lead to discomfort for certain but also the bunching and slipping can cause irritation and blisters in the long run.

q: What features should I look for in a running shoe?
a:

We know that specific challenges require specific shoe needs, so we are going to try to stick with the essentials with this question. You will want shoes that are comfortable, uncomfortable shoes lead to too many problems down the road to bother. Lightweight shoes are a big plus since they won’t weigh you down. Shoes with proper airflow will keep you cool, comfortable, and blister free. Support is another big consideration since a shoe that properly supports you will keep you on your feet much much longer. Keep this checklist in mind while you are shopping on it will be hard to make a bad choice.

Sources

  1. Eric H. Doss, Lady Isaac Neutral Guidance Trainer-Initial Review, Fitness Website,
  2. Editor, Tried and Tested: Newton Lady Isaac running shoes, Sporting Website,
  3. Peter Larson , Newton Sir Isaac Running Shoe Review: This Heel Striker Can’t Seem to Find His Forefoot, Running Website,
  4. Stan, Shoe Review: Newton Distance V, Running Website,
  5. William Quick, The Newton Motion V, YouTube,
  6. Editorial Team, Newton MV3 Review: Feel the Need for Speed, Running Website,
  7. Editor, Newton Gravity V Review , Running Website,
  8. Jason Saltmarsh, Newton Gravity V, Running Website,