to top 10 table

10 Best Green Tea Extracts Tested & Fully Reviewed

last updated Jul 03, 2019
Green tea provides our bodies with powerful antioxidants that improve the immune system and heart health while assisting with fat loss. The best green tea extracts are also packed with Epigallocatechin (EGCG)—a natural phenol and antioxidant.

Green tea extract is simply a concentrated version of green tea—which makes it easier to fit into your daily routine. It is just a more convenient way to dose, providing you with all of the same health benefits on the go.

There are a ton of other benefits that can be found in some of the 10 Best Green Teas as well when combined with other vitamins, minerals, and even caffeine. Scroll through to our FAQs section to get better acquainted with this power supplement and use the Evaluation Criteria to help you along with your search.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Zhou
95/100 our score
Features
93
Value
95
Product Purity
95
Application
97
Zhou
Why is it better?

Free of harmful ingredients

Affordable

Easy to take

Aids your metabolism

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Zhou
Test Winner: Zhou
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Gabby Gabbard:

We went in and updated our precious Evaluation Criteria. After looking at what consumers were saying, we figured advancing our search criteria with what is best for consumers based off of consumer reports would help you find what you are looking for faster. Our 10 Best Green Tea Extracts line up is strong and we felt it was necessary to share that strength with more detailed information on why we chose these great supplements.

Sorting Options
Features Value Product Purity Application By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Features
93 %
Value
95 %
Product Purity
95 %
Application
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$18.97
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Features
97 %
Value
95 %
Product Purity
93 %
Application
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$19.96
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Features
90 %
Value
97 %
Product Purity
92 %
Application
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$12.80
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
Features
91 %
Value
89 %
Product Purity
97 %
Application
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$17.45
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Features
88 %
Value
94 %
Product Purity
90 %
Application
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$60.23
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Features
87 %
Value
90 %
Product Purity
93 %
Application
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$20.93
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Features
92 %
Value
87 %
Product Purity
90 %
Application
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.92
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Features
82 %
Value
86 %
Product Purity
93 %
Application
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Features
90 %
Value
88 %
Product Purity
86 %
Application
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Features
80 %
Value
85 %
Product Purity
88 %
Application
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$18.99

Our Top 10 Best Green Tea Extracts

1. Zhou

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Zhou
Amazon Link
Features
93
Value
95
Product Purity
95
Application
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.97
Pros:

Free of harmful ingredients

Affordable

Easy to take

Aids your metabolism

Cons:

Some users don’t like the caffeine side effects

The Zhou Green Tea Extract is the highest rated product among many people--so it's no surprise it took our top spot as well. It's pretty affordable and provides you with more health benefits than you can count.

Read more

Ingredients

These gelatin capsules have 500 mg of green tea extract and are 50% ECGS. Each capsule contains about 15 mg of caffeine. It is a Non-GMO product that is FDA approved and free of harmful ingredients.

Certifications

This item is FDA certified, GMP certified, LAB verified, and certified Non-GMO

Cost and Value

These run at about 14 cents per capsule, making them highly affordable when compared to other products on our list

"Zhou" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

2. Bulk Supplements

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Bulk Supplements
Amazon Link
Features
97
Value
95
Product Purity
93
Application
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.96
Pros:

Comes in powder or capsules

100% Green Tea Extract.

Non-GMO, dairy free, and gluten free

Quite affordable

Cons:

Some reviewers commented that the powder version of this product has a taste that was difficult to get used to and was difficult to hide in other food items

This is one of the two powder products on our list. It is cheaper than the other item on the list, and Bulk Supplements are a trusted, affordable name in supplements. Their green tea supplement contains only green tea extract.

Read more

Ingredients

Similarly to the Hard Rhino powder, this product is a 100% pure green tea extract powder. It is easy to mix into other food items to mask the potentially bitter taste of green tea extract.

Certifications

It is free of soy, gluten, dairy, and additives. It is also tested in an outside lab to ensure quality.

Cost and Value

This product is slightly less expensive than the other powder on the list. It comes in at about $.10 per serving. This product can also be purchased in capsules.

"Bulk Supplements" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

3. Life Extension Mega

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Life Extension Mega
Amazon Link
Features
90
Value
97
Product Purity
92
Application
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.80
Pros:

Decaffeinated

Contains 725 milligrams of green tea extract

All natural ingredients

Comes in 100 capsules that are easy to use

Cons:

Not certified vegan, vegetarian, non-GMO or gluten free

Life Extension's Mega Green Tea Extract contains a higher concentration of green tea extract than some of its counterparts, at 750 milligrams.

Read more

Ingredients

This product contains green tea extract, rice flour, and vegetable stearate. With 750 milligrams of green tea extract per capsule, this product contains more green tea extract than some of its counterparts.

Quality

This product contains no artificial ingredients or sugar. It is soy free, milk free, peanut free, and shellfish free.

Cost and Value

This product can be purchased in 100 capsule containers. Each capsule comes out to be about 17 cents each. It is on the higher end of the price spectrum, but the amount of green tea extract is higher than some other brand.

"Life Extension Mega" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

4. ZenWise Health Extract

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
ZenWise Health Extract
Amazon Link
Features
91
Value
89
Product Purity
97
Application
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.45
Pros:

Naturally derived

Easy to swallow capsules

Plant-based ingredients

Caffeine free formulation

Cons:

Some users report an aftertaste

If you are looking for a green tea supplement that is easy to take and powerful then you, need the ZenWise Health Extract green tea formulation. This capsule is formulated from high-quality elements and supplies you with the healthy boost of antioxidants you need a day in and day out!

Read more

Features
Featuring 725mg of Green Tea Extract per serving this decaf formula offers your body a pure and gentle boost of energy without the caffeine crash, hangover, and energy drop other stimulant supplements bring with them.

Value
The ZenWise Health Extract green tea formulation offers a concentrated dose of green tea antioxidants that will help your immune system fight off toxin and free radicals while also boosting metabolism all day long! It is an excellent value for any runner and athletes looking for that healthy boost!

Product Purity
With 98% Polyphenols, this particular formulation of green tea works with Vitamin C and other nutrients in this formula for an authoritative source of antioxidants that boost immune systems and energy levels all day long. And best of all, ZenWise Health Extract green tea formulation is 100% caffeine free for no jitter energy!
Application

The supplement is formulated as easy to swallow capsules and is best taken with a lot of water 1-2 times a day. Users love the easy to drink design and the potent power punch they offer. Try it for yourself today!

"ZenWise Health Extract" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

5. Now Foods

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Now Foods
Amazon Link
Features
88
Value
94
Product Purity
90
Application
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$60.23
Pros:

Affordable

Vegan/Vegetarian

Comes in easy to swallow capsules

Additional Vitamin C in ingredients

Cons:

This product contains a higher dosage of caffeine than similar product sizes. It is still a safe amount, but consumers who are sensitive to caffeine should be aware of this

Now works hard to makes superfood supplements accessible to everyone through affordability. Their Green Tea Extract meets these same high standards. Plus, Now adds in Ascorbic Acid (vitamin C) for an added health benefit.

Read more

Quality

Apart from the vitamin content in this product, it is considered to be both vegetarian and vegan.

Ingredients

One of the major perks of this product is that it adds in an additional vitamin source, Ascorbic Acid. Now includes 60 milligrams of Vitamin C in each of their capsules. Other than 60 mg of Vitamin C and 400 mg or Pure Green Tea Extract, this product only has essential items listed on its ingredient list.

Cost and Value

Now excels in the value department. At around $.05 per serving (and the serving size is only one capsule), you will have a hard time finding a more affordable product. This product also comes in two different bulk sizes, 100 capsules per bottle, or 250 capsules per bottle.

"Now Foods" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

6. Nutrigold Decaffeinated Gold

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Nutrigold Decaffeinated Gold
Amazon Link
Features
87
Value
90
Product Purity
93
Application
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.93
Pros:

Vegan

No fillers or artificial ingredients

Soy-free

Gluten-free

Cons:

Runners looking for a boost of caffeine should look elsewhere. This supplement is decaffeinated.

Since caffeine can upset the system of some athletes, Nutrigold naturally extracted the caffeine so runners could still get the benefits of the green tea extract without the irritation of caffeine. Also, this all-natural supplement contains only two ingredients!

Read more

Ingredients

Nutrigold Decaffeinated Green Tea Gold keeps it simple. You won't find any filler ingredients in this product. The only ingredients you will find are green tea extract and plant cellulose (the veggie capsule).

Quality

The list is long for this product. Nutrigold cares about providing the highest quality to its customers. Not only does this supplement contain pure ingredients, but it is also certified GMO free, soy free, vegan, and gluten-free.

Cost and Value

The product comes in one size: a bottle of 90 capsules. This supplement is moderately priced and costs about $.13 per capsule.

"Nutrigold Decaffeinated Gold" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

7. Nature’s Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Nature’s Nutrition
Amazon Link
Features
92
Value
87
Product Purity
90
Application
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.92
Pros:

Affordable

Sourced from a GMP consistent quality

Made in the USA

All natural

Cons:

Not GMP certified manufacturer

Nature's Nutrition Green Tea Extract is unique as it is produced FDA certified facility. It is also non-GMO and made in the USA. This product is all natural and contains no artificial fillers or ingredients.

Read more

Ingredients

This product has a high amount of green tea extract. Each capsule contains 500 MG. In addition to this, the only other ingredient is vegetable cellulose (the capsule).

Quality

This supplement is gluten-free and contains non-GMO ingredients. It also does not contain soy, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat or artificial ingredients. It is third-party certified and sourced from a GMP consistent quality.

Cost and Value

This product comes in 4 sizes, including 60, 90, and 120 capsules. It is also very affordable.

"Nature’s Nutrition" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

8. Hard Rhino

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Hard Rhino
Amazon Link
Features
82
Value
86
Product Purity
93
Application
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

100% green tea extract

No fillers or additives.

Quick Absorption.

Affordable, great value

Cons:

Some may be turned off by the taste of green tea extract in its powdered version.

Hard Rhino is one of two powder product that made it onto our list. Some feel that powders can be too bitter and foul tasting. However, the powder can be mixed into food or a variety of beverages. The best part about this product is the only ingredient is green tea extract.

Read more

Ingredients

The only ingredient in this product is green tea extract. It is free of any fillers or other ingredients.

Certifications

This product is manufactured in an FDA approved facility. This product is also soy, dairy, and gluten-free.

Cost and Value

Each serving of the product costs less than $15 each. Because of the difference in delivery, the serving size is slightly different. The two purchasing options are 125 grams or 250 grams.

"Hard Rhino" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

9. Evlution Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Evlution Nutrition
Amazon Link
Features
90
Value
88
Product Purity
86
Application
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Third- Party Certified

Quite affordable

Easy to use capsules

Cons:

Some aftertaste reported from some users

When it comes to green tea extracts, one popular option for runners and athletes alike is the Evlution Nutrition supplement. It is designed to supply all the nutrients an antioxidants your body needs to heal and rejuvenate itself and increase optimal of performance and health.

Read more

Features
The antioxidants in this specially formulated green tea extract, especially EGCG, have been the focus of research studies and has shown to help protect brain cells and speed cellular recovery.

Value
The Evlution Nutrition supplement offers a concentrated dose of green tea extracts and is very affordable compared to other supplements. Its actual value comes from the health benefits and long term support your body gets when it becomes part of your regular health and wellness routine.

Product Purity
This Green Tea Leaf Extract is formulated with only the highest quality ingredients which are manufactured in the U.S.A in an F.D.A. approved facility using strict GMP Guidelines. Users love the product and rave about the Evlution Nutrition health benefits.

Application

The supplement is formulated to be easy to use and is designed in such a way that delivers a potent dose of green tea extract in an easy to swallow capsule. You will love how easy it is to take and how great you will feel once the Evlution Nutrition green tea supplement becomes part of your health protection plan!

"Evlution Nutrition" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

10. Advanta Supplements

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Advanta Supplements
Amazon Link
Features
80
Value
85
Product Purity
88
Application
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.99
Pros:

Easy to swallow capsules

Potent dosage

Cons:

Stomach upset reported at times

If you need a green tea supplement to add to your daily health and wellness routine then you need the Advanta Supplements green tea capsules. They are specially formulated from high-quality ingredients and gives your body the healthy boost of antioxidants that it needs to stay a whole day in and day out!

Read more

Features
Featuring a potent dose of Green Tea Extract per serving this formula gives you the metabolism and energy boost you need. Advanta Supplements Green Tea Extract is a carefully developed formula that will offer you the incredible antioxidant benefits of green tea in a single bottle!

Value
Advanta Supplements green tea capsules are an excellent investment for people who want to improve their overall health and wellness. They are a little costly up front, but the long term benefits you can gain are well worth investing in a bottle today.

Product Purity
All ingredients used are certified pure and safe, and the formulation is carefully tested and proven by years of brand backing and user reviews. Advanta Supplements green tea capsules are an excellent choice for anyone wanting a safe and effective green tea extract!

Application

One capsule contains over 90% pure green tea leaf extract and is best when taken with a lot of water. The recommended dose is one capsule per day, but two can be made at a time when needed on occasion.

"Advanta Supplements" is one of the Best Green Tea Extracts on our list!

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

From basic one ingredient supplements - green tea extract- to others that have additional boosters such as caffeine, a best green tea extract can have little to loads of features to offer your health. Make sure you are checking labels and getting the best there is to offer.

Some brands tend to sneak in fillers and other artificial ingredients that are unnecessary in a dietary supplement. Make sure that every ingredient in your green tea extract choice is there to enhance your body and not counteract the goodness this herb can offer.

Furthermore, they are a dietary supplement, so always make sure that nothing counteracts with your body either. For instance, some green tea extracts are made with caffeine. If you are sensitive to caffeine, it obviously would not be the right choice for you.

Value

We make sure that you are getting the best value for your buck when it comes to our 10 Best Green Tea Extracts. Price doesn't always say a lot about a product and we know that.

We looked at how many supplements were in a bottle versus daily dosage. This is to make sure you aren't spending on 30 pills but you have t take 5 a day. You want a supplement to be potent enough to at least last you more than 2 weeks.

The potency, as we mentioned, and other ingredients also plays a huge factor in what makes a green tea extract worth it. If you’re only getting a little of what you want with a bunch of added fillers, then we know the value really isn't worth it. No one wants a pill full of Jello when they're looking for a green tea pick me up.

Moreover, we agree, saving money is great so we made sure to do tons of research to get you the best options at the best value. Each one of our 10 Best Green Tea Extracts is valued according to all the criteria we use and you can be sure all of them are worth every penny, it all just depends on which one offers you the best ingredients for your needs.

Product Purity

We have mentioned purity a few times as it is one of the most influential criteria we base our 10 best picks on. It is important to note that not all supplements are created equal and each one can offer a different array of ingredients

Pay attention to allergy warnings on labels as this is a quick way to know that this is not a pure product. However, not all products that aren't 100% Green Tea Extract are bad, they just may offer other stimulants and vitamins to add to the flavor and health benefits of a supplement.

Furthermore, the actual supplement casing may have added fillers even though the actual product is 100% green tea inside. This is usually a go-to for those who practice vegan and vegetarian-friendly lifestyles. We gathered quite a versatile line up in our 10 Best Green Tea Extracts, taking some of the stress out when looking into the purity of a product.

Application

Sitting down to a nice hot cup of green tea is relaxing, however, it isn't always an option. Furthermore, Green Tea Extract is more potent than most teas. It is also a good way to get the boost you want on the go.

There are a few different ways to get a dose other than tea, most green tea supplements come in pills, liquids or powders so you can just pop one or mix it in some water faster than you could brew it.

Some consumers get all three and add it to almost every part of their diet. Green tea is known to aid in weight loss ad the more applications you get the better it works. Now, we aren't saying start chewing on the bottle but it's a healthy way to boost your immune system and getting it throughout the day will help you along your way to weight loss for sure.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Switch out your coffee

Green tea can be a great replacement for your morning coffee, for its caffeine content. Plus, you'll get so much more from it than your regular cup of Joe. You will also enjoy a boost to energy levels and overall metabolism without the jitters and annoying crash that comes with caffeine and other stimulants.

Don't forget to hydrate

If you're taking green tea supplements, don't forget to drink more water, as it's still a diuretic. If you have issues with water retention, kidney or bladder issues, or other health considerations it is important to make sure you talk to your doctor before you start taking green tea supplements or any other supplements.

Other Factors to Consider

Safety Hazards

Caffeine and powerful antioxidants found in the best green tea extracts have been proven to improve your overall brain function, boost your metabolism, and reduce breast, prostate, and colorectal cancer rates. With all of these benefits, it makes sense to incorporate a green tea supplement into our diets.

That being said, it’s important to be able to distinguish between the best green tea extracts and the lower quality supplements also available on the market. These low-quality supplements often may include high amounts of fluoride, unnecessary fillers, and unwanted appetite suppressants.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are the health benefits of Green Tea Extract?

a:

The most important health benefit of green tea is that it is a great source of antioxidants. It also improves immune function, reduces cancer risks, promotes fat loss, and improves heart health. The component of green tea that offers the most health benefits is Epigallocatechin gallate, or EGCG, which is a type of antioxidant and natural phenol.

q: Why can’t I just drink green tea?

a:

You could! There is nothing wrong with drinking green tea, but you would need to drink 3-5 cups a day to get the same health benefits as taking one or two green tea extract capsules or powder. Green Tea Supplements may be a more convenient option for those looking to get the health benefits of green tea, but cannot or do not want to drink 3-5 cups of green tea every day.

q: Can green tea extract be dangerous?

a:

As with anything, too much of a good thing can be bad. In very high doses, green tea extract can be damaging to a person’s liver function. Also, since green tea naturally contains caffeine, too much of it can make some people jittery. Some individuals also complained that green tea extract in concentrated doses caused them an upset stomach.

q: Are there different ways to take a green tea extract?

a:

Yes! The most popular is a capsule. It is easy to ingest and masks the unpleasant taste. Another option is a powder which can be mixed with drinks or other foods. Finally, green tea supplement can also be a liquid which then can be mixed with warm or cold water. Our list of Best Green Tea Extracts above includes one or more of each.

q: Do I need to take green tea extract?

a:

No. There isn’t a health requirement, but it does contain high levels of cancer-fighting antioxidants that can have major health benefits. As with all supplements, be sure to talk to your doctor before starting a new supplement.