to top 10 table

10 Best Sport Shoe Bags Compared

last updated May 17, 2019
If you’re an avid runner or athlete, at some point you’re going to want to invest in one of the best sport shoe bags available to choose from.

The best sport shoe bags will help you keep your shoes clean and secure as well as separate them from the rest of your clothes—so if they’re a bit stinky then you won’t have to worry about seeping into your clothes and gear.

While some gym bags come with separate shoe pockets for your shoes, some of us prefer something that isn’t attached—although you’ll find we included some gym bags on our list just in case that’s something you’re interested in checking out.

Take a look below to learn more!

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Adidas 3 Stripe
93.4/100 our score
Materials
97
Brand
95
Durability
96
Size
91
Features
88
Adidas 3 Stripe
Why is it better?

Durable

Breathable

handle for easy carrying

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Adidas 3 Stripe
Test Winner: Adidas 3 Stripe
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1300
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
13
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

Our most recent update focused on providing you with more insight and information about our selection process, the criteria we use, insights from our experts, and answers to more questions from readers like you! Be sure to check out all the great information and if you have any questions be sure to reach out to us!

Sorting Options
Materials Brand Durability Size Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Materials
96%
Brand
94%
Durability
97%
Size
92%
Features
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$18.64
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Materials
97%
Brand
95%
Durability
96%
Size
91%
Features
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$16.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Materials
98%
Brand
90%
Durability
97%
Size
91%
Features
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$13.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Materials
94%
Brand
85%
Durability
95%
Size
92%
Features
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$13.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Materials
85%
Brand
90%
Durability
82%
Size
86%
Features
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$44.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Materials
89%
Brand
80%
Durability
87%
Size
81%
Features
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$15.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Materials
86%
Brand
83%
Durability
82%
Size
87%
Features
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$20.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Materials
82%
Brand
80%
Durability
83%
Size
87%
Features
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$10.49
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Materials
80%
Brand
76%
Durability
72%
Size
75%
Features
78%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$17.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Materials
76%
Brand
73%
Durability
75%
Size
74%
Features
73%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$15.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • ASICS
  • Adidas 3 Stripe
  • Eagle Creek
  • Dot and Dot
  • Nike Brazilia
  • G4 Free
  • Adidas Stadium Team
  • Misslo
  • Mier
  • BAGSMART
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Sport Shoe Bags

1. ASICS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
ASICS
Materials
96
Brand
94
Durability
97
Size
92
Features
93
best offer for today
$18.64
Pros:

Durable

Fits up to a size 14 shoe

Easy to use

Fits inside of larger gym bags

Small zippered compartment

Cons:

Pricey

One compartment only

This bag is really simple, but perfect to store a pair of shoes. While you can't store anything else inside of it, you can put this bag inside of your gym bag to keep your shoes separate from everything else.

Read more

Compartments / Size

This bag measures 4.8 x 8.1 x 1 inches and consists of one compartment that holds a single pair of shoes. It is large enough to store up to a size 14 shoes--so if you have smaller feet you could squeeze some other essential items in there if you really wanted to. It also has a small zippered pocket--which is perfect for storing your spikes and spike wrench.

Cost

This bag is a little pricey given that it only holds your shoes, however, it is highly durable and can fit inside of larger gym bags.

2. Adidas 3 Stripe

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Adidas 3 Stripe
Materials
97
Brand
95
Durability
96
Size
91
Features
88
best offer for today
$16.00
Pros:

Durable

Breathable

handle for easy carrying

Cons:

Pricey

no additional storage

Adidas is known for their gear and this shoe bag is one of the best ones on our list. It has a carry handle and fits up to a size 13--so it works for most people.

Read more

Compartments / Size

This bag can hold up to a size 13 shoes and will fit into most gym bags as well. Living a healthy lifestyle can be hard, and forgetting your shoes can make it even more difficult to keep up your workouts, so this bag will definitely help you out.

Cost

Pricey compared to other bags on our list but it is really durable

3. Eagle Creek

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Eagle Creek
Materials
98
Brand
90
Durability
97
Size
91
Features
90
best offer for today
$13.95
Pros:

Durable

Comes with a handle

Packable

Provides great protection

Handle for easy carry and transport

Cons:

Only fits up to a men's size 13

No additional storage pockets

Whether you're a CrossFit athlete or someone who likes to cross train regularly, a sports shoe bag can come in handy if you need to change out your shoes mid-workout then the Eagle Creek sports bag may be a perfect addition. It will fit in your gym bag, or you can carry it separately if you want!

Read more

Compartments / Size

Unlike other options on our list, the Eagle Creek sports bag is packable so you can fold it up and take it with you on the go. The shoe sac measures 16x9 and can fit most shoe sizes. It's made of 30D Silnylon Ripstop--which makes it durable, lightweight, and a perfect addition to all your adventures. While it doesn't have additional pockets, the handle makes it easy to carry.

Cost

Great price and really durable

4. Dot and Dot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Dot and Dot
Materials
94
Brand
85
Durability
95
Size
92
Features
86
best offer for today
$13.99
Pros:

Fits most shoes

Breathable

Prevents odor

Handle for easy carry

Cons:

No additional storage pockets

Not a well-known brand

While this is not a sport shoe bag from a well-known athletic brand, like Nike or Reebok, we found this was a highly recommended and reviewed by runners and athletes. Many use it for both sport and travel and keep it safely stored in their gym bag so they always have the shoes they need available.

Read more

Compartments / Size

This shoe bag is 13.75 x 7 x 4.5 inches which will fit most shoe sizes. It can carry any of your shoes--including your favorite pair of running shoes of course--and can be carried separately or packed in your gym bag. It doesn't have any additional pockets for storage but it is breathable and will prevent odor from accumulating.

Cost

Pretty affordable and has handle so you can easily carry it

5. Nike Brazilia

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Nike Brazilia
Materials
85
Brand
90
Durability
82
Size
86
Features
86
best offer for today
more shops
$44.99
Pros:

Good sized storage compartment

Secure with a zip system

Carry handle

Water resistant

Constructed from durable polyester

Cons:

Some runners prefer more than one compartment

Securely store your running shoes is this attractive and well-constructed bag made by Nike; this can be placed in a bigger carry bag or carried separately. A durable handle is designed into the bag for easy carrying and the product is constructed from synthetic long lasting durable materials.

Read more

Compartments/Size

The size of this bag is 13.4 inches by 7.1 inches by 5.9 inches. Reliable longevity and durability are guaranteed through the use of hard-wearing polyester and a large spacious shoe compartment for storing shoes, the compartment is secured by a sturdy secure zip system.

The synthetic material used in the making of this shoe bag ensures that it is fully water resistant and protects the shoes from a soaking. For easy and comfortable carrying the bag is fitted with a robust carrying handle. The bag looks stylish and is topped off with the Nike logo.

Cost

This Nike product is available at a standard price which is comfortably comparable to other popular sports shoe bag brands.

6. G4 Free

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
G4 Free
Materials
89
Brand
80
Durability
87
Size
81
Features
90
best offer for today
$15.99
Pros:

Versatile

Can be carried 3 different ways

Adjustable and padded straps

Several storage compartments

Breathable shoe compartment kept separate from anything else stored in the bag

Several color options

Tear and water resistant

Cons:

Some users don’t like the U-shaped opening

This bag is the most versatile option on the list. It comes with a separate compartment for your shoes and can be used for the gym, travel, or simply to carry your extra shoes or gym clothes you may need to change into.

Read more

Compartments / Size

This bag is 12X10 inches and can be carried as a backpack, a duffle bag, or a cross body. It is great for outdoor hikes, daily gym visits, and even for travel. It has 2 adjustable foam padded straps that can be hidden and be switched up so you can carry it how you wish. It also has several compartments and storage areas--it has a breathable shoe compartment that can hold up to a size 12 shoe, a side pocket for miscellaneous items, a front zippered pocket, and a mesh zippered pocket on the inside of the bag. It is both tear and water resistant and comes in several color options.

Cost

This one is pricier than the first two options, however, this one gives you the most features so we consider it the most budget-friendly since they are still close in price.

7. Adidas Stadium Team

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Adidas Stadium Team
Materials
86
Brand
83
Durability
82
Size
87
Features
85
best offer for today
$20.00
Pros:

100% polyester construction for added durability.

Laser-cut freshPAK ventilated compartment for shoes keeps the area nice and breathable.

Handle is made out of a webbing loop for overall grip.

Cons:

You can get any color you want as long as it’s black.

Adidas is one of the most recognizable names when it comes to the world of active gear, so with their name behind a sport shoe bag, you should expect nothing short of greatness. Thankfully in the case of the Stadium Team Shoe Bag, Adidas absolutely delivers.

Read more

Compartments / Size

With a size of 13.5 x 6.5 x 6-inches, the Stadium Team Shoe Bag is certainly on the smaller side compared to the past couple bags we’ve looked at. However, that’s because this is solely for housing shoes and nothing more.

Cost

Despite carrying the iconic Adidas name, the Stadium Team Shoe Bag comes in at a price that’s considerably more affordable than some of the other bags on our list.

8. Misslo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Misslo
Materials
82
Brand
80
Durability
83
Size
87
Features
84
best offer for today
$10.49
Pros:

Lightweight

Fits most shoes

Easily packable since it folds up

Really affordable

Cons:

Not really durable

Doesn't prevent odor

Another lesser-known brand, but a great shoe bag to use in conjunction with your gym bag or on its own to carry your shoes around.

Read more

Compartments / Size

This bag measures 15X9.8X4.3 inches and is made of lightweight Nylon fabric. This is a good pick for your lifters or shoes that don't absorb a lot of odor since you don't use them strenuously--but still need to have with you on the gym.

Cost

Really affordable but also not as durable or odor preventing as other bags out there.

9. Mier

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.2
Mier
Materials
80
Brand
76
Durability
72
Size
75
Features
78
best offer for today
$17.99
Pros:

Included shoulder strap is adjustable and can be completely removed

The carry handles include a padding made for increased comfort

Useful as carry-on luggage when traveling

Cons:

Too small for some customers

The MIER Barrel Travel Sports Bag is easy to spot among its competition right off the bat thanks to the vibrant colors that it comes in. The two-tone color scheme is certainly eye-catching, and the 16 x 8 x 8-inches form factor mean that you should have plenty of room for all of your gear.

Read more

Compartments / Size

Although the MIER Barrel Travel Sports Bag is definitely on the small side, it can still hold a fair amount of items. There’s 1 zipper pocket on the front, 1 main compartment that’s accessible from the top, a mesh pocket for odds and ends, and a special section that’s specifically for storing your shoes.

Cost

MIER has made the Barrel Travel Sports Bag incredibly affordable for most everyone out there, and that’s definitely something that’s always great to see.

10. BAGSMART

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
BAGSMART
Materials
76
Brand
73
Durability
75
Size
74
Features
73
best offer for today
$15.99
Pros:

Decent color selection

Zipper provides a smooth and secure shut

Allows you to carry dirty or sweaty shoes without ruining other items

Constructed out of ripstop and polyester fabric

Cons:

Can only hold up to men's size 11 shoes

Some travel sport shoe bags come in the form of bags that also function as gym bags, and others serve the sole purpose of protectively encasing your gym or running shoes. The BAGSMART Portable Travel Shoe Bag is the latter of those two options, and the outcome is quite nice.

Read more

Compartments / Size

This bag measures in at 32 x 23 x 14cm. The bag is rated to hold women’s flats or flip-flops up to a size of 6.5, or a pair of men’s athletic shoes up to a size of 12.

Cost

BAGSMART keeps with the trend of the other bags on our best sport shoe bags list so far by offering a quality product at an extremely affordable price.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

While it may not seem as important because it is not something you are wearing, the materials used in your sports shoe bag are still worth carefully considering. Materials can impact the way you use it, if it weather resistant enough to use outdoors, how durable it will be, and how much it is going to cost. It is worth taking the time to look at the materials used and consider carefully how they will affect the way in which you are going to use the bag!

The fabric that is used to make the bags really matter as it will define the shape of the bag when it has the shoes inside and when it doesn't. The right material can also guarantee durability. The selection of a sports shoe bag depends also on how often it is used, the materials vary in terms of canvas, nylon, and leather. This will also determine the price of the bag, leathers are most likely recommended because of their durability nature and it also comes with status as we all know it is slightly priced than the other materials.

As much as this choice appears to be the best for many it might not be suitable for the rainier seasons because tends to get wet--for this weather you will definitely need to look for bags with waterproof compartments.

The most durable bags are made of leather and the least durable are made of nylon. You need to consider this because it's important you get the one that fits your needs.

Brand

You will also want to consider the brand behind the product once you have narrowed down your choice to a select few. When you are stuck choosing between two shoe bags that are otherwise basically the same considering the brand of each can help you determine which one is best for you. It is always best to go with a brand that is known and respects by athletes and runners so you can be sure you are investing in a quality product!

The fashion industry has taken over and it is sweeping away anything that comes its way. Bags are no different, the designs that make you fall in love with them as soon as you lay your eyes on them is there, the wow factor. Bags have different designs relating to different use. You will be wise enough to know that you need to look for factors that made you want the bag in the first place then ruin to design later. Things like wheels and handles to pull, the number of compartments it can handle, the spacing it has among other variances. Can it be carried on the side or not does it have a side handle that you could use, in case that doesn't work does it have something else to carry it with? so many questions that go through your head when looking into the design. Make sure you pick a functional bag first.

Durability

Runners want their gear to be durable and that is true of all gear. The shoe bags we have on our list are all rated highly in terms of durability and are designed to be easy to use and to hold up well to frequent and even daily use. This is important because any runner who invests good money into their gear wants it to last a long time and needs to have it serve its purpose and perform as they expected!

Finding that very bag that has all your needs at heart is a challenge and once you have it you might not want to let it go that easy,that is why you need to get one that is of good quality which leads us straight to leather or canvas as they are known to be very durable,let us remind you that the durability of your bag also has something to do with how frequent it is used and how it is maintained,avoid washing your bag every other day after using you need to be able to use it  for quite sometime before washing it and even when washing you will need to avoid the use of hard brush and go slow on the fabric as this will also result in fast wear and tear.

Size

The size shoe bag you need to have will depend largely on the type of shoes you are wanting to carry and how many pairs you will want to have on hand at any given time. There are many different sized bags available we tried to include a range of product sizes for you to choose from. There is no need to pay for more space than you have a need for, and likewise you do not want to pay for something that will not accommodate your needs!

Size is important because you want to make sure your stuff fits appropriately. Most of the shoe bags on our list fit most shoe sizes--more specifically up to a men's 13--so it's important to be aware of whether or not your shoes will fit in. A lot of runners and athletes may want to use their travel bags to store their shoes in their gym bags with their other stuff--in order to keep their stuff separated. If this is the case for you then you will also want to make sure the shoe bag you pick will fit in your gym bag as well.

Just because these shoe bags aren't attire or apparel you need to try on or wear doesn't mean you don't need to consider size. If you get the wrong size in one of these you will be unhappy and will probably need to replace for another one or, worst might end up never using it.

Features

The final feature to consider in your search for the best sports shoe bags for your needs is to think about any additional features you want or need. What kind of strap system works best for you? What about access and security features? Do you need extra storage for things like changes of clothes? Do you want a place to hold a water bottle or your valuables? Knowing what features you would like to have will help you narrow down your choice!

While shoe bags don't offer a ton of different features, there are still factors you need to consider. Some of the shoe bags are made of odor resistant material and designed to be durable and long-lasting--while others are less so. Here we considered the materials the shoe bags were made of . We also took a look at whether or not the shoe bag has pockets and how packable it is. While most shoe bags don't come with additional pockets, some do.

On the other hand, some bags are waterproof and machine washable, while others are not. Make sure to consider what you need in a shoe bag before making your choice. While all of the selections on our list are all great, none of them are made to accommodate the needs of everyone--there is no one size fits all, so make sure to do your research.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Let it Breathe

It's important to remove any dirty or sweaty clothes and running shoes that you place in any of these duffle bags as soon as possible in order to avoid causing any odors to linger inside. However, even if you do this, you may still experience lingering smells if you don't also frequently air out your bag. Empty your bag, unzip and open all compartments, and place it somewhere with plenty of airflow in order to ensure that it smells fresh.

Check the Warranty

Even if a shoulder strap or zipper on one of these bags breaks, you don't necessarily have to throw it away and immediately purchase a new one. Many of the manufacturers of these sports bags will offer extended warranties that cover these kinds of damage. Check the manufacturer's website in order to find out how you can have your faulty product replaced or reimbursed.

Mind Your load

It is important to take care of your shoe bag so it will last a long time and serve you well. One mistake many people make is they overload their bag with too much weight. This stressed the seams and the material and can lead to tears and snags in the fabric as well ad straps that start to pull loose and unravel. It can also make it difficult to zip the bag closed which over time and lead to trouble with the zipper because of the tugging it takes to get it opened and closed each time. So, try not to stuff it too full and mind the amount to weight you are putting in your bag!

Other Factors to Consider

Use

You will need a bag that you can easily use and maintain,most bags are meant to last longer especially if you buy according to the durable materials,however some can be on another level of this and might not be able to last as long as we think this can be due to the maintenance as you tend to wash it regularly and end up losing the stitches that hold the bag together making a hole of worse.cleaning the bag should not be a struggle as this will result to tear and wear,the bag should have at least a side compartment where the shoes can be placed and the place might also have nylon inside as this makes it easy to wash.the bag should not at all be complicated as this might result in the damaging of the bag in the process of trial and error.

Weight

When it comes to shoe storage bags you will have to make sure it is lightweight and easy to use. If you think you'll have it out in wet conditions then you may want to look around for a waterproof one as well, so you don't have to worry about it soaking the water up and weighing more. If you plan on putting the bag in your gym bag then you definitely want to make sure your bag doesn't bring more weight than the shoes do on their own.

When looking at the weight we considered the overall durability of the bag and what materials they are made of. Some will be a little heavier--especially the ones made of sturdier material. Although that doesn't mean they are necessarily heavy, just heavier when compared to other more affordable and travel-friendly options.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are these bags expensive?

a:

Sport shoe bags are not as expensive as gym bags or gym bags that come with shoe storage--in fact, they are actually pretty affordable. However, it's important to note that some bags are more affordable than other options. You'll find the pricier bags on our list are more durable and odor resistant than others. Overall, if you want something like that you are going to pay a little more--but these bags aren't really expensive when compared to gym bags--and they will keep your shoes separated from the rest of your stuff.

q: How often should I clean my bag?

a:

This really depends on whether or not you need to clean it. I have a pair of lifters that I don't use for strenuous activities so the bag I store them in honestly never needs to get washed. My trainers on the other hand typically give their bag odor so I have to wash it more often. Not all of them are machine washable but mine is, so make sure you take a look at the manufacturer's recommendation before tossing it in your washer.

q: Where can I buy a sport shoe bag?

a:

You can get one from a store near you that deals with running gears or you could order from online from a reliable market source. The trick is to make sure you go through reviews first in case you have identified one to avoid disappointments. All of the bags on our list, however, are found on Amazon so we recommend you read about them before making your purchase.

q: Do they have additional storage pockets?

a:

While some have additional front pockets, most shoe bags do not--although you will find we include 2 gym pags with shoe compartments so you can note the differences and consider those on your search as well. The shoe bags on our list are designed to provide additional storage that can be used with your gymbag, backpack, or travel bag.

So, overall there are some with additional small pockets but having them (or not having them) doesn't take away from the function they provide.

q: How long do these bags usually last?

a:

While there is no magic number to give for how long a sports shoe bag should last a lot of it comes down to the quality of the bag and how well you take care of it. A well-made bag from a brand known for quality products will last longer than a cheaply made bag almost every single time! Also, if you take care of your bag, clean it often, don’t cram too much into it, and use it the way it was intended to be used, it should last you a good long while. You will also need to factor in wear and tear because obviously if you use your bag 5 days a week it will wear out faster than if you only use it once or twice a week. But as a general rule, a quality shoe bag that is taken care of properly should last you several years.

q: Do I have to spend a lot of money to get a good shoe bag?

a:

You do not have to spend a lot of money to get a shoe bag, but if you want a good one that will last a long time and serve you well then you are going to want to invest a bit more and get a quality bag. Paying more upfront to get quality is always the best way to go. You may find something for $30 but if it’s wearing out after 4 months and you have to buy another one, then in a year’s time you will have spent close to $120, more than what you would have paid for a quality bag right from the start! So whenever you are able to, invest in quality with your initial purchase and it will more than pay for itself!

Sources

  1. Healthy Diet Base, Healthy Diet Base, Fitness
  2. KIT DILLON, The Sweet Home, EXERCISE & FITNESS
  3. Sepher Cadiz, Everyguyed, Fashion and Style