to top 10 table

10 Best Running Visors Compared

last updated Sep 17, 2018

When you hear the word visor, it’s usually connected with tennis players or occasionally golfers these days. This clothing item seems to be less popular when it comes to running. This is unfortunate because running visors can be very useful for runners and they can offer many more benefits than normal caps can. There are many reasons why you should look at getting a visor for your next outdoor run. Whether you run in the morning, afternoon, or evening, you can benefit from a high-quality running visor.

We know how terrible it is to have sweat on your eyes and the burning that comes with it- it is enough to make anyone turn around and head back home. A quality running visor will protect you from the glare if the sun and will keep the sweat out of your eyes. While you are running if you cannot see well for one reason or another, it can lead to injuries and other problems. This is why you should have a running visor in your collection of running gear!

But which visors are the best? What is important while choosing the best products? Here’s our guide to the best running visors based on our criteria for evaluation.

Researched Sources
100
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
15k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated: August 10, 2018
By Sarah Coryell:

Take a look at our revised list, with updated listings and features. A new layout makes everything easier to find and puts the need-to-know information at your fingertips.

Sorting Options
Durability Materials Protection Style Band Brand By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Durability
98%
Materials
97%
Protection
98%
Style
97%
Band
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$14.98
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Durability
98%
Materials
98%
Protection
96%
Style
96%
Band
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$27.49
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Durability
97%
Materials
96%
Protection
97%
Style
97%
Band
99%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$19.99
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Durability
95%
Materials
96%
Protection
80%
Style
94%
Band
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$12.88
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Durability
95%
Materials
96%
Protection
97%
Style
96%
Band
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Durability
89%
Materials
90%
Protection
95%
Style
90%
Band
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$59.88
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Durability
85%
Materials
86%
Protection
86%
Style
85%
Band
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$35.00
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
Durability
85%
Materials
83%
Protection
85%
Style
80%
Band
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$18.00
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Durability
83%
Materials
85%
Protection
83%
Style
80%
Band
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$11.81
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
67.6
Durability
83%
Materials
85%
Protection
85%
Style
83%
Brand
2%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
$14.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Outdoor Research Radar
  • Salomon Race
  • Under Armour Shadow 3.0
  • Halo II Headband Sweatband Pullover
  • New Balance Unisex Performance
  • Nike Feather Light
  • Adidas Adizero
  • Asics Mad Dash Unisex
  • Headsweats Supervisor Sun
  • 2XU Run
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Outdoor Research Radar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
1. Outdoor Research Radar
Durability
98
Materials
97
Protection
98
Style
97
Band
96
best offer for today
$14.98
Pros:

Foldable brim, easy storage

Nylon with UPF 30 protection

Water resistant 100%

High quality construction

Cons:

Bit on the expensive side

The Outdoor Research Radar Visor shields your eyes from the sun, it makes sure you stay dry, and stores away in your pocket easily due to its folding brim (one of the coolest features in our opinion). If you want a high quality visor that will stand the test of time look no further.

Read more

Size.
Flexible and can fit most people,in this case no need to worry as the fit will be just the right one for you.
Material.
This Visor is made of Fabric 100% Supplex nylon, plain weave that gives it a comfortable feel and ensure you keep dry all the time,it also is durable and can last longer.
Price
Its price is slightly expensive but it is always worth every penny.

2. Salomon Race

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
2. Salomon Race
Durability
98
Materials
98
Protection
96
Style
96
Band
95
best offer for today
$27.49
Pros:

Synthetic materials

Precise fit is fully adjustable

Soft flexible brim

Reflective branding

Cons:

Not much structure

Some feel it is kind of floppy

The race visor is designed to offer a bit of protection from the elements but add little/no weight to your load. Its very minimalistic and easily folds up to be packed away when not in use.

Read more

Size.
In terms of fitting It is fully adjustable and very flexible on the head.
Material.
Its material is made of Synthetic and it is also very light with a soft brim that makes it easy on the head as you cannot feel the weight.
Price.
Salomon race visor is one of the expensive visors due its quality

3. Under Armour Shadow 3.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
3. Under Armour Shadow 3.0
Durability
97
Materials
96
Protection
97
Style
97
Band
99
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:

Form fitting, comfortable

Lightweight, moisture wicking

Reflective UA details on the front and back

Durable construction

Cons:

One size fits all

May not fit everyone

This visor is built with a bit of an unstructured design and it is meant to conform to your head over time. Aside from that it checks off all the boxes most runners will need in a visor, it will keep you cool, protected, and not swamped with sweat.

Read more

Size/fit
The size may not really fit as desired as there is no adjusting or different sizes, because its only one size for all

Material
The material is a very lightweight fabric that helps in moisture wicking. This not only makes you feel like you have nothing on but it also makes you feel cool and dry.
Price
This visor is also slightly pricey but all the same worth all coins invested.

4. Halo II Headband Sweatband Pullover

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
4. Halo II Headband Sweatband Pullover
Durability
95
Materials
96
Protection
80
Style
94
Band
93
best offer for today
$12.88
Pros:

Will not lose shape over time

Pull over design is comfortable

Material is high absorbing and quick drying

Reasonably priced

Cons:

Doesn't offer any protection from the sun

Keeping sweat out of your face is one of the primary jobs of a visor and to that end we included the Halo II headband. To state it simply this is one of the most effective ways to control sweat while you’re working out. Patented SweatBlock Technology ensures that a maximum amount of sweat is absorbed. Although not a visor we couldn’t resist.

Read more

Size.
Can fit on any head comfortably because its very elastic which means it is bound to stretch and can fit just about all head sizes.

Material.
The material is made of a dryline fabric that quickly absorbs sweat from the head keeping the face dry and cool which means you maintain your focus all day without sweat dripping from your head.

Price.
it is very affordable and can be quickly acquired with anyone who works out, cycles or does any activity that involves sweating.

5. New Balance Unisex Performance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
5. New Balance Unisex Performance
Durability
95
Materials
96
Protection
97
Style
96
Band
93
best offer for today
Pros:

Hook and loop closure, secure fit

Very lightweight

Favorable price-to-value ratio

Dark underbrim, less glare

Cons:

Unisex, no gender specific sizing

If what you’re after is sensibility and quality, you just might have found your ticket. Nothing fancy here, rather a dependable running visor that features: an antiglare underbill, lightweight breathability and a reflective NB logo. All in all it’s hard to go wrong.

Read more

Size/fit
Fits well in most people hence not a problem to while making a purchase like the fixed fitting ones.

Material
the material is made of hydrophilic poly that is comfortably surrounded with a wicking mesh sweat band which ensures that dryness is maintained and no sweat will be dripping at the end of the day.
Price
The new balance performance visor is not expensive and hence very affordable to many,with its features it gives you a smile on you face.

6. Nike Feather Light

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
6. Nike Feather Light
Durability
89
Materials
90
Protection
95
Style
90
Band
89
best offer for today
$59.88
Pros:

Breathes really well

Dri-FIT fabric, plus a sweatband

Fancy design aesthetics

Many colors to choose from

Embroidered logo

Comfortably contoured bill design

Cons:

Fairly expensive compared to others

Fitting can be difficult to nail down

A great choice for those runners who want to get a high performance visor and a little bit of Nike bling. The featherlight 2.0 has an extremely low profile, it hugs your head and adjustable velcro allows it to feel like a customized fit.

Read more

Size/fit
Has an adjustable strap that enables a customized fit,well this is another one that just makes you feel at home as you make it how you want it on you head,so cool.
Material
Moisture wicking dry fit fabric that helps wick sweat and keep dry. The mesh around it enable air circulation as you move around.
Price
The Nike feather is quite expensive but does on hell of a job,you wouldn't even notice.

7. Adidas Adizero

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
7. Adidas Adizero
Durability
85
Materials
86
Protection
86
Style
85
Band
83
best offer for today
$35.00
Pros:

Wide range of colors

Fully adjustable backing

Lightweight

Deals well with the heat

Budget friendly pricing

Cons:

Sizing runs smaller than expected

May be a little too tight for some

The highlight reel for this visor includes a typically understated design from adidas combined with soft and lightweight polyester fabric. Throw in a ClimaLite moisture-wicking sweatband and protection from UV rays, and it’s not hard to see how this one makes our list.

Read more

Size/fit
This product offers a simple sizing method that may be a bit too simplistic for some as some buyers report it being a little too big or too small for their needs.

Material
Made of breathable materials that is designed to enable ventilation this is a visor that ensures you stay cool and comfortable throughout your running.

Price
Its pricing is favorable compared to some visors that do the same work as it does.

8. Asics Mad Dash Unisex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
8. Asics Mad Dash Unisex
Durability
85
Materials
83
Protection
85
Style
80
Band
80
best offer for today
$18.00
Pros:

Very lightweight

Adjustable backing, fits well

Black underbill

Reduces glare

Cons:

Unisex sizing may not fit perfect for everyone

Band can be a little uncomfortable for some

A sleek design, built in mesh ventilation to make sure that air keeps flowing, and reflective details — this visor has it all. Overall a great choice for an ultra busy day or a simple daily jaunt along the beach

Read more

Size/fit
Doesn’t really fit everyone because of the unisex sizing which posses as a challenge in most cases.

Material
Made of polyester with mesh panels to enable ventilation which ensures one remains calm and cool throughout your running.

Price
Its pricing is favorable compared to some visors that do the same work as it does.

9. Headsweats Supervisor Sun

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
9. Headsweats Supervisor Sun
Durability
83
Materials
85
Protection
83
Style
80
Band
80
best offer for today
$11.81
Pros:

Under visor glare resistance

Machine washable

Has a terry sweatband

Many colors available

Cons:

Some may not get a perfect fit

One size fits all not always accurate

If there is anything approaching a market standard for women’s visors this is it. Popular among marathoners and triathletes, the Headsweats Sun Visor is designed with strenuous activity in mind. There is a lot of different things to like about this visor but the pick of the lot is a terry cloth sweatband. Which ensures your face doesn’t end up drenched in sweat.

Read more

Size/fit
Some people may not find a perfect fit since it is standard.
Material
Has an Eventure knit shell and eventure sweatband fro cooling and breathability
Price
Quite pricey compared to other visors

10. 2XU Run

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
67.6
10. 2XU Run
Durability
83
Materials
85
Protection
85
Style
83
Brand
2
best offer for today
$14.95
Pros:

Available in a wide selection of colors

Sweat wicking interior liner

Flexible but strong

Built for airflow

UV protection

Cons:

Some issues with the rear strap

Uncomfortable fit for some

Keep your dome cool and sweat under control with the 2XU Run Visor. This handy piece of headwear has UV protection, it wicks away sweat, controls odor, and is ultra lightweight. In short — it does everything you need a visor to do.

Read more

Size/fit
Very flexible and strong and fits well on any head size.
Material
It has 100% nylon fabrication that ensures that it has great durability.
Price
It is available in many store outlets at a favorable price which is a plus to most athletes.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

Its impossible to just say that “any visor will do” since the variety of visors available can be used for different activities.

Its impossible to just say that “any visor will do” since the variety of visors available can be used for different activities. This is largely due to the fact that not all visors work in the same way. Because of this, we have to consider many factors when determining our top lists and try and explain to you why we picked it as one of the best. Many things have to be considered. Not only do we look at the style of the visors, but we go above and beyond to try and get you a list that we feel will best serve you and your wants and needs. We not only focus on making you look good but we focus on making you a champion in all you set out to do. You need to have an idea of what you need when going to get a visor for yourself, and we hope that this list helps to give you a starting point for doing just that.

Use

Quality is what everyone goes for when choosing a product that they are going to use day in and day out.

We decided to pick quality as the first since it’s always the major bench-marking tool most companies use in the market to compete. Quality is what really determines the value of a product therefore if the quality is poor then that might lead to customer dissatisfaction and hence lower sales which in turn leads to loses. It is a major factor in our criteria because it is what people rely on heavily when purchasing. Quality is what everyone goes for when choosing a product. All this is because customers know that the best quality is always believed to be the most durable and can survive specific conditions. All these said, acquiring a visor that can be used regularly and withstand the test of time is the best solution for most athletes and others who would want to use it in other activities.

Value

Price is a factor that most people consider because almost everyone needs a favorable price and a good product.

It’s quite obvious that price has always been associated with the quality the higher the price the better the quality. This is the same when it comes to visor prices since most of the visors come from well known international companies like Nike, Adidas etc that are one of the best brands hence their prices tend to be slightly higher compared to other upcoming companies. It is advisable that when looking for a visor one should first check what amount of money that they have and the available visors then go for what they can afford. Price is a factor that most people consider because almost everyone needs a favorable price and a good product. Do not Just go for what u can get your hands on but rather consider going for what will work and at the end of the day what will make you satisfied.

Size

Getting the right fit sets your mind at ease as you concentrate on whatever you actually are doing.

In case you have a doubt if it really stands a place in the factors then let us clear your doubts right away, getting the right fit on any running gear not only makes you comfortable but also ensures that you have fewer things to worry about when it comes to the gear you are buying. Because people are used to using products that exactly fit them. Visors that are too large or too small to a person can be said not to be the right fit. Getting the right fit sets your mind at ease as you concentrate on whatever you actually are doing. One has to get a visor that fits well and is not too tight or too loose on the head, visors that can be easily adjusted are always the best so that one adjusts to the size of their choice. when making a purchase always make sure there is room for trying it out and they have a good return policy as you might never know what will happen once you start using the visor.

Advanced Features

A good visor can be described as one that has a good cooling system during high impact activities.

This is the ability of a visor to enable cooling during any activity. A good visor can be described as one that has a good cooling system during an activity,this will be determined by the material one picks as the material is what can ensure the moisture is not kept in but is removed every time it is in excess and can lead to sweat dripping from your head all the way.No one can stand the sight of sweat dripping leave alone for hours of having that on the road, if it were the gym it would be an entirely different case. A visor that has the right size of a bill with a good mesh surrounding it can offer the best ventilation and air circulation which in turn leaves you cool and fresh during your routine exercises. Nothing to worry about at all.

Comfort

Comfort makes a person to feel free and relaxed even during vigorous activities.

This should come in as a no-brainer as no one doesn’t prefer comfort in anything they are doing or wearing. Getting a visor that doesn’t make you comfortable not only risks your ability but also makes you feel like running away from your running if that makes sense.It the ultimate thing that makes an experience worthwhile. Comfort makes a person to feel free and relaxed even during vigorous activities. Having to put on a visor that makes you uncomfortable might be traumatizing as it will not perform well. Great comfort is achieved by the material used and also the size, as a size that doesn’t fit results to discomfort and a material that doesn’t help with moisture tapping can also mean irritation which results to being uncomfortable. Well, ensure that you have this in mind when buying a visor to use.

Style

Make sure you put this in mind whenever you are getting visors by choosing one that has the features you want and need.

The size of the bill is also one of the factors to consider as it may have a great help to the general functioning of the visor. Having a visor with a long bill is always the best thing to do since they fully protect/cover your face from the sun or even rain making it easier for you to continue with your activity without your vision being affected. Having a visor with a short bill has its advantages but we can all agree the long bill always wins the argument. It has a lot of benefits that cannot be entirely ignored. Make sure you put this in mind whenever you are getting visors.

Other Factors to Consider

Features

When buying anything there is a purpose for doing so. This is true when you are looking for a new visor. You have to know why you are buying it, if now is the right time to buy, what features you want and need, and what the cost will be. Another important factor that must be considered is functionality. You should make functionality a priority as to why you get your visors as a great visor should be one that serves its purpose and meets your needs. Functionality is one of the key things we looked for in every visor that we include on our lists. We understand how important it is to your decision!

Materials

This sometimes becomes one of the most ignored reasons or factors to get a visor, guess what it isn’t and that is why we have it as one of the factors we consider when getting a visor. You need to know that weather can be a factor as to which visor suits you best. When it is cold then you can opt for a short bill visor that can work well since the major work of rains and sun won’t be needed. Different weather call for different clothing and different everything. That goes for the visors as well.

Advanced Features

The hairstyle you have is something many people do not think about when it comes to buying a running visor, however, it can have a huge impact on how your visor fits. The type of hairstyle you typically wear while running can play a part in determining what visor best fits your needs. Women have to worry about ponytails and buns getting in the way or loose hair flying everywhere while they are out for a run. Men too have to think about their hair. Longer hair can get in the way of bands and bald heads can be a challenge too as they can get slick with sweat and pose a problem with getting a proper fit. We wouldn’t want you to experience the disappointment of finding the perfect looking running visor just to struggle with fit and functionality because of how it interacts with your hairstyle. That is why we wanted to make you aware of the fact that hairstyle plays a big role in the shape and type of visor to choose. So be sure to keep that in mind as you look through the options that are out there and make sure it is a design and style that will work with your hairstyle rather than against it!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can the visor affect my vision?
a:

Visors can be great to use when out and about on a sunny day. Some people feel like they can interfere with vision but they usually do not -in fact, they will help improve your vision. Most of the visors on our list are of quality and they have been tested and certified to make sure that the customer gets what they really paid for and are satisfied. Therefore, these visors don’t negatively affect your vision at all, in fact, they are very helpful when it comes to protecting your eyes from the sun so that you can see more clearly.

q: What is the right size visor for me?
a:

The best way to ensure a good fit is to get one and try it on to see what you like and should look for in other visors you buy later on. Get one that is flexible and has good breathability and is comfortable on your head. Avoid visors that are too tight as this may make you uncomfortable and you will be unable to comfortably or safely wear them for long periods of time. Also, note that you need to buy at a place where you can take it back whenever you realize it’s not what you want.

q: How long of a bill do I need?
a:

The Length of the bill is also matters. It has been shown that have a slightly longer bill is best as it offers you the most protection from sun and rainy weather. Though it is also advisable to consider the shape and height of a person.e.g taller men should opt for longer bills

q: How do I decide what brand to buy?
a:

There are several quality brands eg Nike, Under Amour etc and all these come with different designs and feelings. This is why it is recommended that you chose a brand that has the features you looking for. Do not go for a brand simply because of the name, focus on the features.

q: How do I wash my visor?
a:

Visors are best cleaned by surface spot cleaning because soaking it might lead to fading of its color. The best way to wash it is by scrubbing it gently using a smaller brush like a toothbrush or even a soft cloth. Also, ensure that you read the tag to know which detergent to use or if it is used in a washing machine or not if its cold water or hot. Make sure you know what your vision requires.

Sources

  1. AMY SCHLINGER, VISORS TO HELP KEEP THE SUN AWAY AND SWEAT AT BAY, Fitness and Clothing, Mar 31, 2016
  2. Wise Geek, What Should I Consider When Buying a Visor, Fashion, Jul 01, 2017
  3. Valerie Johnston, How to Buy Good Quality Sun Visors, Mechanic article, Jan 11, 2016