to top 10 table

The Best Vibram FiveFingers Running Shoes Reviewed

last updated Nov 27, 2018
The best Vibram FiveFingers running shoes offer a natural running experience that will allow for your foot’s natural movement. They are light weight, breathable, and supportive without being restrictive.

So, if you are looking for a minimalistic running experience that will challenge you and bring your performance to new levels, then check out our list of the top 10 best Vibram FiveFingers running shoes below!!
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1522
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings the V-train, V-trail, Signa, and Trek Ascend Vibram models. All four of these are vastly different from each other when it comes to intended terrainand purpose. They are all, however, very durable, flexible, and comfortable.

Sorting Options
Flexibility Comfort Durability Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Flexibility
96%
Comfort
98%
Durability
96%
Weight
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$119.95
Best Deal
$143.42
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Flexibility
89%
Comfort
93%
Durability
99%
Weight
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$83.73
Best Deal
$119.95
Best Deal
$120.00
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Flexibility
93%
Comfort
97%
Durability
86%
Weight
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$57.00
$89.95
Best Deal
$90.00
Best Deal
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Flexibility
96%
Comfort
98%
Durability
89%
Weight
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Flexibility
89%
Comfort
92%
Durability
94%
Weight
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$47.83
Best Deal
$69.95
Best Deal
$72.00
$119.95
Best Deal
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Flexibility
88%
Comfort
91%
Durability
87%
Weight
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$47.94
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Flexibility
95%
Comfort
89%
Durability
96%
Weight
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$89.93
Best Deal
$104.65
$119.95
Best Deal
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Flexibility
92%
Comfort
87%
Durability
81%
Weight
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$100.00
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Flexibility
92%
Comfort
87%
Durability
79%
Weight
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$39.95
Best Deal
$60.90
$89.95
Best Deal
$90.00
Best Deal
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Flexibility
91%
Comfort
89%
Durability
85%
Weight
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.12.18)
$59.95
Best Deal
$64.99
$114.95
Best Deal
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Spyridon
  • Trek Ascent
  • El-X
  • V-Run
  • V-Train
  • Signa
  • V Trail
  • Treksport
  • KSO EVO
  • KMD LS
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Vibram FiveFingers Running Shoes

1. Spyridon

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Spyridon
Flexibility
96
Comfort
98
Durability
96
Weight
94
best offer for today
more shops
$143.42
$119.95
Best deal
Pros:

• Flexible

• Protective

• MegaGrip for great traction

• Balance of stability and flexibility

Cons:

• A bit less breathable than some of the others from this brand

Like the KMDs, Spyridons have a lot of the classic attributes that are found in common with many of the other FiveFingers shoes – they are super lightweight and the heel-to-toe drop hits zero. Also, the shoe contains mid-sole armor plating which effectively protects the foot from some pretty rough terrain, as well as fairly significant impacts. Because of this, they’re an awesome choice for those who venture out on exciting mountain treks, and even parkour in the city.

Read more

Comfort / Stability
These shoes are frequently chosen by mud runners because of their good traction and stability in rough terrain. There aren’t many major comfortability issues except for those who have wide feet.

Quality / Durability
The quality and durability of this model tends to be what attracts the obstacle racers and mud runners. They seem to hold up pretty well.

Price
As mentioned above, they are comparatively more expensive than others, however they can be found for a decent price on Amazon.

2. Trek Ascent

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Trek Ascent
Flexibility
89
Comfort
93
Durability
99
Weight
91
best offer for today
more shops
$120.00
$83.73
Best deal
$119.95
Best deal
Pros:

• Very durable

• Lightweight

• 4-mm EVA midsole

• Secure fit

• Great traction

Cons:

• Not great for intense running—more for hiking and light running and walking

The Trek Ascent is the new and improved version of the TrekSport (which is also further down on our list). They are perfect for hikers and outdoor enthusiasts looking for a minimalistic shoe that is durable enough to withstand their favorite terrains.

Read more

Comfort/Stability
We recognize that runners engage in activities other than running, so we wanted to incorporate these on our list because they are an excellent pair of hiking or light running shoes. They are durable, comfortable, and protective--while still remaining lightweight and minimalistic. They utilize 4-mm EVA midsole for adequate cushioning. They also provide a secure and comfortable fit that will ensure rocks and debris do not enter your shoe.

Quality/Durability
These are meant for hiking and rocky outdoor terrain--so they are definitely durable. They provide adequate traction and ensure you are protected from rocks and debris.

Price
These come at a great price

3. El-X

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
 El-X
Flexibility
93
Comfort
97
Durability
86
Weight
95
best offer for today
more shops
$57.00
$89.95
Best deal
$90.00
Best deal
Pros:

• Close-to-barefoot feel

• Easy on, easy off

• One of Vibram’s thinnest soles for great feedback

• Simple and comfortable, a standard Vibram running shoe

Cons:

• The thin material of the sole may wear more quickly than some others over rougher terrain

As the name implies, these shoes are multifunctional and can easily move from the trails to the streets. The XS Trek Outsole keeps the foot well-protected while the lightweight and zero-drop features keep this shoe perfectly minimalistic. In particular, the El-x cross-training shoes have been lauded for their comfort, ease of use, and highly minimalistic feel.

Read more

Comfort / Stability
As these shoes have very thin soles, allowing a much more barefoot feeling, the comfort would really be more relative to the runner who is wearing the shoes. With minimalistic type shoes in general, they are not known for being filled with a lot of cushioning.

Quality / Durability
Maybe having something to do with the minimal design and construction of the shoes, they seem to have some issues with durability and longevity.

Cost
The price tag on the EL-x widely varies, depending on where you find them. They are usually able to be found at a reasonably decent price on Amazon.

4. V-Run

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
V-Run
Flexibility
96
Comfort
98
Durability
89
Weight
92
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

• Lightweight

• Comfortable

• Minimalist protection

• Helps stride

• Very breathable

Cons:

• Stitching placement may be bothersome

The Vibram Fivefingers’ are all about providing an amazing product with a minimalist design, epitomizing the idea of getting a lot for a little. The Mens V Running Shoe will keep you running while helping orient your stride to a more natural state.

Read more

Comfort/Stability
The V Running Shoe is guaranteed to provide a comfortable run. This lightweight shoe will feel like you are wearing nothing at all, especially with the mesh breathable design to emphasize the barefoot feeling. While the V Running Shoe will help you get your movement in line with the standards of barefoot running with its zero point drop it will still be able to provide the support most runners will need.

Quality/ Durability
These shoes are tough and versatile. While some runners had issues with thicker stitch placement, most were very satisfied with the results they felt. Many of the Men’s V Running Shoe proponents are returning Vibram Fivefinger wearers.

Price
While they may be a bit pricier than the cost of your average running shoe, their quality makes it well worth the investment.

5. V-Train

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
V-Train
Flexibility
89
Comfort
92
Durability
94
Weight
90
best offer for today
more shops
$72.00
$47.83
Best deal
$69.95
Best deal
$119.95
Best deal
Pros:

• Versatile

• Flexible

• Comfortable

• Stable

• rope traction lugs

• Durable

• Secure fit

Cons:

• Break in period

The V-train shoes are not just good for running--but for everything. These cross training shoes are perfect for versatile athletes looking for a pair of shoes they can use for all of their activities. These shoes are great for running, CrossFit, lifting, and much more!

Read more

Comfort/Stability
As far as comfort and stability, these shoes have it! They are extremely flexible and allow for full range of motion. They are an updated version of the KMD Sport so they have all the same benefits as well as rope traction lugs for additional grip during those rope climbs. Their comfortable and secure fit will ensure you get the most out of your workouts.

Quality/Durability
These are made of high quality and durable materials, so they are built to last. While we don't recommend taking them out on rocky terrain, they will definitely last if you use them where they are intended to be used.

Price
These come at an average price, but can get expensive if you are looking for a specific color pattern

6. Signa

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Signa
Flexibility
88
Comfort
91
Durability
87
Weight
89
best offer for today
$47.94
Pros:

• Pretty flexible

• Quick dry

• Comfortable

• Water drainage holes

• Machine washable

• Breathable

Cons:

• Meant for wet environments (great for triathletes)

• Not as durable

These Signa shoes are great for those of you who run in wet environments or participate in triathlons. While they aren't specifically marketed for running, they definitely allow you to run comfortable and allow for full range of motion.

Read more

Comfort/Stability
These shoes have a zero drop and are comfortable, stable, and breathable. They have a wave grip outsole and dry quicky so you can keep going.

Quality/Durability
These shoes have a rubber sole and a stretch polyester mesh. They have water drainage holes and are even machine washable. Overall, they are really durable but they are definitely meant for wet environments.

Price
Really affordable

7. V Trail

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
V Trail
Flexibility
95
Comfort
89
Durability
96
Weight
91
best offer for today
more shops
$104.65
$89.93
Best deal
$119.95
Best deal
Pros:

• Great for trails

• Comfortable

• Lightweight

• Stable

• Vibram 3d Cocoon technology

• Great traction

• Durable

• Flexible

Cons:

• Takes time to break into

If you love hitting the trails, then these are the perfect pick for you! They provide you with a comfortable, minimalistic, and secure fit that will allow you to push yourself without having to worry about issues with your footwear. They also provide you with the protection and durability you need when facing the outdoor elements!

Read more

Comfort/Stability
These are really comfortable and stable considering the terrain they are designed for. They are highly breathable and their Vibram 3d cocoon technology provides unsurmountable protection against rocks and debris.

Quality/Durability
These are highly durable and built to last through use in rough terrain. Their Multi-directional lug design allows for optimal traction as well as additional protection. They are made of high-quality materials that allow them to be both flexible and durable.

Price
These are newer on the scene so they are a bit pricey.

8. Treksport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Treksport
Flexibility
92
Comfort
87
Durability
81
Weight
93
best offer for today
$100.00
Pros:

• Stretch-mesh panels for breathability and protection from debris

• comfortable

• Excellent ground contact

• Super lightweight

Cons:

• The fit is strange at first, if you are not used to these

These are extremely light, comfortable, and affordable for a neutral running shoe. Treksports have a simple and quick upper Velcro fastening system for a good, secure fit. The insole is just thick enough to protect the foot from the elements and hard terrain. What’s more?

Read more

Comfort / Stability
It is recommended to purchase this shoe in a size larger than what you would usually wear. Overall, the general comfort and stability of the Treksport is pretty good.

Quality / Durability
There have been issues reported by users regarding their durability, stating that they tend to break down quickly. In all, the general reviews regarding this issue seem to be pretty mixed. I may depend on the specific activities that these shoes are worn for.

Price
Especially if purchased on Amazon, the cost of these shoes is really affordable.

9. KSO EVO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
 KSO EVO
Flexibility
92
Comfort
87
Durability
79
Weight
96
best offer for today
more shops
$60.90
$39.95
Best deal
$89.95
Best deal
$90.00
Best deal
Pros:

• Breathable upper

• Great traction on various surfaces

• Shed water quickly

• Strong toe grip for climbing or parkour

• Thin sole for flexibility and natural foot movement XS TREK technology for stability and comfort

Cons:

• Takes some time getting used to the way the toes feel

If you thought Vibrams couldn’t get any more lightweight, prepare yourself for the KSO EVO. These babies are a shocking 3.5 oz. (W) and 4.1 oz. (M). If you feel like running on air with minimalist arch support and zero heel-to-toe drop, your near-barefoot running experience is just waiting for you. These are one of the best Vibram FiveFingers running shoes because they allow the foot to move naturally while still providing stability and comfort.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

There are some reviews that complain about the toes being a little too tight, resulting in an uncomfortable fit. However, this seems to be an issue reported by a relatively small number of wearers.

Quality / Durability

Likely due to the lightweight and low profile minimalist construction, these shoes also reportedly have some issues with durability when put to heavy duty use, the bottoms wearing thin.

Price
These come at a pretty average price

10. KMD LS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
KMD LS
Flexibility
91
Comfort
89
Durability
85
Weight
87
best offer for today
more shops
$64.99
$59.95
Best deal
$114.95
Best deal
Pros:

• AEGIS Microbe Shield prevents odor and athlete’s foot

• Decreased underfoot friction thanks to polyurethane footbeds

• Quick lacing system for a custom fit

• XS TREK compound for flexibility and stability

Cons:

• The upper could be more breathable

Vibrams can be minimalistic in their design as well as, unfortunately, their color options, but the brand has proven that they can spruce things up with the introduction of the KMD LS Cross Training Shoe. These shoes keep the well loved minimalistic design, but add splashes of much needed colors such as blue and lime green, making them some of the best choice of Vibram FiveFingers running shoes out there for someone looking for style and quality alike. Just a glance at the KMDs and you can tell they’re really quite minimalistic, but in a good way, (5 oz. W, 6.7 oz. M, zero heel-to-toe drop). Here’s what these have going for them that makes them a popular choice for many.

Read more

Comfort / Stability
The slightly thicker sole offers a little extra support, without taking too much away from the minimalistic experience that these shoes are meant to provide. Overall the KMDs have excellent reviews with regards to their comfort and stability. There are a few complaints about their lack of breathability.

Quality / Durability
There are mixed reviews, however, there are some which suggest that the overall durability if these shoe doesn’t go for very long. That may be related to the type of activities that they are used for.

Price
They are available with a reasonable price tag.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Flexibility

Flexibility is important because it allows us to Avoid injuries and ensures we have full range of motion. Minimalistic, barefoot shoes need to allow for our natural movement, which includes our full range of motion. We all strike differently, have a unique gait, and have our own type of arch. Vibram shoes need to be flexible enough to ensure all of our needs are met while also allowing for different types of runners to be able to use their shoes.

Comfort

These shoes need to allow you to comfortably feel the ground beneath you as well as allow your body to adjust to your natural running form and personal running technique. When looking at comfort we also considered the the thickness and firmness of the shoe as well as how much protection it provides.

Durability

The whole concept of minimalist shoes relies on going back to the basics of human nature, that we have been walking and running around the planet for a long time without trainers than with them. So, shoes that provide protection but allow your foot to move in the most natural way possible, are called minimalist shoes. FiveFingers are the most extreme version of them.

When looking at durability we also looked at the material the shoes are made of, what terrain it was meant for, as well as how long they held up for other users.

One of the most important things we look for in a shoe is durability and longevity. First of all, we need to look at where we plan on running and then to choose a shoe. Trail shoes will be much more durable than cross training or road shoes, however, this does not mean that the latter is any less durable or of lower quality. Different environments have different needs, so when we looked at the durability we assessed it according to where the shoes are designed to be worn.

Weight

Minimilastic shoes re designed to be lightweight and allow for your natural movement. Here we looked for the most lightweight option and made sure they wouldn't weigh you down--even if they got wet. You will find that the trail and hiking Vibram shoes are a bit heavier than other options on our list, but that is because they need to provide additional protection against outdoor elements.

Value

We know everyon has a different budget, so we wanted to make sure to take this into acount as well. While most Vibram shoes come at an average price, there are more advanced and newly released models that cost a good bit more. Make sure to consider your own personal budget as well as the features you need for your own situation, before making your purchase.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Flexibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Love them or leave them, but are they right for you?

FiveFinger shoes are about as close to running barefoot as it gets without actually doing it. If you require arch support, or stability features to prevent or support specific foot conditions.

If you need that extra support and stability, think hard before going for these. But, if you don't need all that extra stuff, then get your feet closer to the ground and go for a pair.

Know where you're running.

The overall protection is limited with these shoes by design. If you're planning on heading into rougher terrain, make sure to go with the model that offers more toe and side protection.

Other Factors to Consider

Drop

The arches on your feet should be balanced by your heels and your toes, creating the stability that gives you an ideal body posture. So look for the kind of show that makes you feel stable and comfortable at the same time.

Protection

They are those very light running shoes designed with individual pockets for each of your toes. They are designed to provide a barefoot experience while still providing protection from the terrain you run over. FiveFingers are designed with thin and flexible soles with zero drops from heel to toe. If you buy the right pair, they will fit like gloves to your foot, allowing a better range of motion while still protecting you from the road.

Terrain

As mentioned above, terrain plays a big part in the durability and overall comfort of the shoe. If you plan to hit the trails then a cross-training or road running shoe is not for you--they won't provide you with the protection you need or the durability you are looking for. Before making your purchse, be sure to consider where you plan on running as well as the features you need to ensure you you get the vest shoes for you.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I get the right FiveFingers fit?
a:

FiveFinger running shoes, when worn, should be feeling like a glove on your foot. The best judge of size is your own comfort level, every person has a different foot shape and structure. However, Vibram has a size chart you can refer to if you want to find out what your FiveFingers running shoes.

q: How long does FiveFingers running shoes usually last?
a:

These should last as long as any other shoe. But like most shoes, Fivefingers’ longevity is all in how you use them. Making sure to pick a pair suited for the terrain you will be running on will extend the life of your shoe, and many runners will pick up different pairs for the different types of running they will be doing that day.

q: Is there a difference between the men's and women's models?
a:

The women’s shoes are designed to be shorter and more narrow and may be suited for differently sized feet. The size conversion may also be a bit tricky at times so make sure to be attentive if ordering online.

q: Can I run on my FiveFingers shoes during the winter?
a:

We do not recommend wearing FiveFingers running shoes in very cold conditions. It is possible for you to slip in the ice or get frostbite. If you are planning to run during the winter, we recommend you to get other minimalist shoes with a better protection from cold conditions.

q: Should I wear socks with my FiveFingers running shoes?
a:

If you are going to wear socks, make sure to pick the right socks, ones with individual pockets for your toes. Socks help absorbing sweat, provide warmth and can reduce friction that generates blisters. Wearing socks is a personal preference.

q: If I suffer from plantar fasciitis, tendonitis, flat feet, bunions, hammertoes or/and the conditions, can I wear Vibram FiveFingers running shoes?
a:

We strongly recommend you to check with your doctor first before trying any barefoot running shoes.

Sources

  1. Mark Cucuzzella, Runner's World, Running enthusiast website, Jan 01, 1970
  2. Marc Perry, Built Lean, Online fitness publication, Feb 20, 2016
  3. Vibram Team, Vibram, Manufacturers site,