to top 10 table

Our Favorite Barefoot Running Sandals Rated In-Depth

last updated Sep 30, 2019
The best running sandals are a perfect alternative to your favorite running shoes. If you have never used a pair of sandals for running, then you know how great they are—and if you haven’t, you are definitely missing out.

If you’ve never heard of barefoot running sandals, you might be thinking “what in the world?!” The best running sandals are perfect for high-impact running in versatile terrain. They are able to absorb shock, last you mile after mile, and keep you comfortable with each and every step.

Surprisingly, there are quite a bit of running sandals to choose from, so it can be pretty difficult to narrow down the best options you have to choose from. In order to help our readers, we have taken the type to research and review the best running sandals—so you don’t have to.

Take a look below to learn more!

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Xero Amuri Z-trek
97.3/100 our score
Comfort
98
Style
96
Materials
98
Durability
97
Xero Amuri Z-trek
Why is it better?

Excellent flexibility

Easy on/easy off

Easy strapping

5000-mile warranty

No toe post

Comfortable straps

Zero drop

Anti-slip soles

Adjustable to individual comfort

Function well on land and in water

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Xero Amuri Z-trek
Test Winner: Xero Amuri Z-trek
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.2K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

To keep things current, we have updated each of our product reviews and streamlined them to be easy to sift through and compare. We have also added a lot of information to several sections throughout our buying guide and the FAQ sections, so make sure you take a close look.y're all highly reviewed and we hope you enjoy them.

Sorting Options
Comfort Style Materials Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Comfort
98 %
Style
97 %
Materials
99 %
Durability
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Comfort
98 %
Style
96 %
Materials
98 %
Durability
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
Amazon Link
$84.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Comfort
95 %
Style
96 %
Materials
97 %
Durability
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Comfort
89 %
Style
95 %
Materials
95 %
Durability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Comfort
89 %
Style
92 %
Materials
88 %
Durability
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Comfort
85 %
Style
89 %
Materials
87 %
Durability
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.5
Comfort
87 %
Style
82 %
Materials
90 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
Backcountry Link
$65.00
See Deal
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Comfort
85 %
Style
84 %
Materials
89 %
Durability
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
Amazon Link
$64.90
Backcountry Link
$64.95
See Deal
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
Comfort
85 %
Style
87 %
Materials
87 %
Durability
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Comfort
85 %
Style
84 %
Materials
86 %
Durability
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.12.19)
Amazon Link

Our Favorite Barefoot Running Sandals

1. Luna Oso

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Luna Oso
Amazon Link
Comfort
98
Style
97
Materials
99
Durability
99
Value
98
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Extensively engineered for an ideal design

Excellent terrain grip

Comfortable straps

Anti-slip soles

Zero drop sole

Cons:

Some runners are critical of the challenge of adjusting the laces.

Some runners feel the shoe runs is expensive for a sandal

Founded by the famous Barefoot Ted McDonald featured in Born to Run, Luna's Oso holds the top position on our list. Not only do they have the ultra-marathon (50 miles) example of their founder to endorse the product, but many marathon and ultramarathon runners also testify to the durability and appropriateness of these shoes.

Read more

Comfort

The super comfy nylon strapping system with the heel cushioning and the easy-grip soles make these very comfortable. The comfort improves with time as they conform to the natural shape of your foot.

Style

Available exclusively in black, the Oso has 13mm Vibram® Megagrip outsoles and Vibram® midsoles. The soles have 4.5 mm lugs to give you a secure grip on any surface and the shoes weigh only about 9 oz. They have a unique sure-grip footbed to hold the sandals to your soles.

Materials

Made of high-quality materials, these are definitely a great pair of sandals for those of you who love to run.

Durability

Made for long-distance runners, these running sandals are durable and built to last you for the long haul.

Value

These are quite pricey, but as it seems close to impossible to wear them out, the objective price must be compared to the subjective investment.

2. Xero Amuri Z-trek

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Xero Amuri Z-trek
Amazon Link
Comfort
98
Style
96
Materials
98
Durability
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$84.99
Pros:

Excellent flexibility

Easy on/easy off

Easy strapping

5000-mile warranty

No toe post

Comfortable straps

Zero drop

Anti-slip soles

Adjustable to individual comfort

Function well on land and in water

Cons:

Some runners find they dislike the slapping sound as the sandals strike the surface.

The standard size is not appropriate for wide feet.

The Xero Amuri Z-trek are half the price of our top pick in this category and offer many of the same benefits through very different design elements and using very different basic components.

Read more

Comfort

The anchor points are somewhat elevated to keep the straps off the ground and the entire sole has a subtle contour to enable the sandals to hug the sole of your foot.

Style

Available in three color combinations for both men and women, the Amuri Z-trek is a remarkably flexible, durable sport unshoe with 5.5mm rubber soles that enable excellent, natural running style and road read.

Materials

Xero uses rubber for the soles of the Amuri S-treks, rather than heavier, tire-like soles, for greater flexibility. These soles include technical elements including a slight toe curl-up for spring, modest arch support and a comfortable heel cup.

Durability

These are so light and comfortable you may forget you are wearing them. The sole holds to your natural sole as if it were just another layer of skin and the Z strapping system is soft and nearly weightless. These average about 6.9 oz. and feature zero-drop for natural posture support.

Value

At half the price of many running sandals, these are a good value investment.

3. Vibram VI-S

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Vibram VI-S
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Style
96
Materials
97
Durability
98
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$40.92
Pros:

Minimalist design

Very comfortable

Excellent for running

Versatile style

Easy to use strap closure system

Cons:

Not as durable as other options

Run small

If you're familiar with this Vibram you know that they've helped to revolutionize the running shoe game with their minimalist, barefoot-style shoes. This is their sandal offering and has the same high level of quality and good materials as their shoes but with a more open design. Users loved how comfortable they are but you should be aware that they do run large so you may want to order a size smaller than your normal shoe size.

Read more

Comfort

Users mentioned again and again how good these felt on their feet and how they could wear them all day. The design is great for helping your feet to remember their natural form and function.

Style

Most people either love or hate how these look. Most users like wearing them and even feel that they're suitable for more formal occasions than one would think based on their initial impression looking at them.

Materials

These are made from imported textiles and have a grippy rubber sole with a serrated knife style lug pattern.

Durability

Like most minimalist shoes these won't last as long as other options simply because of the design and thinness of the materials.

Value

Available at a pretty great price, these are a good first-time pair of running sandals.

4. Vivobarefoot Achilles Sports Sandals

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Vivobarefoot Achilles Sports Sandals
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Style
95
Materials
95
Durability
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Heel cup

Contoured, anti-slip footbed

Zero drop

100% Vegan

3mm

Very flexible

Split toe

Protective toe caps

Removable nylon strap

Puncture resistant

Cons:

Some people find the toe division with protective caps unattractive

The toe division requires a very large separation of big toe from the rest of the toes

You can identify Vivobarefoot by the cool red “V” logo placed at various strategic points on the shoes. These feature a 3mm sole, have a distinctive look. The Vivobarefoot Achilles Sport does not have a toe post, rather feature a wide separation between the first toe and the rest of the toes with toe caps to protect those delicate digits.

Read more

Comfort

Intended to anchor the foot into the footbed, the toe separation is irritating unless the division matches your foot ideally. The entire sole is curved up at the edge like a saucer and prevents small stones and sticks from intruding between your foot and the footbed.

Style

Offered in bright and brilliant colors or, of course, in black, Vivobarefoot Achilles feature the unusual toe separation with cap described above as well as a removable, nylon strap.

Materials

The over-the-foot strap anchor includes padding for comfort. The sole pattern is of hexagons enables foot movement in any direction.

Durability

The edge of these sole curve ever so slightly upwards preventing irritating intrusion of small objects under the toenails. These also leave a cool-looking imprint in moist or sandy soil like an ungulate.

Value

When these shoes agree with you, this is a great value. The toe division is not comfortable for many runners who must pass on this sandal, but for those whom it suits, this is a great shoe at a great price.

5. Skechers On The Go 400

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Skechers On The Go 400
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Style
92
Materials
88
Durability
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Extremely comfortable

Energy return footbed

Run true to size

Good support

Cons:

Possible durability issues

They squeaked for some users

These are a great option for running and for people who'll be on their feet all day. These Skechers running shoes offer the user a lot of support and have good cushioning. The footbed features energy return materials and they run true to size. A few users did mention that they experienced some squeaking, but it didn't seem to happen to everyone.

Read more

Comfort

This is one of the highest rated shoes on our list in this category. The energy return footbed and soft fabric lining of the straps help to ensure they'll feel good on your feet all day long.

Style

These are middle of the road when it comes to looks. They don't stand out and they won't make you look like a dork either.

Materials

These feature a rubber sole and textile straps. The straps have a fabric lining for comfort that feels very soft against the user's skin.

Durability

We did find a few mentions of people who experience the sole coming apart from the footbed after a couple of months of use. This didn't happen to everyone, but it wasn't an isolated incidence either.

Value

If you are on a budget, these are a great pair of sandals given the cost.

6. Vivobarefoot Eclipse

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Vivobarefoot Eclipse
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Style
89
Materials
87
Durability
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Dimpled footbed for anti-slip comfort

Puncture-resistant soles

5 mm sole

Strap cushioning and breathability

Curved sole for foot protection

Slight arch

Heel bed

Cons:

The strap can be too springy for some

The toe post can feel uncomfortable

The Vivobarefoot Eclipse is attractive and Vegan. They feature 5mm, puncture-resistant soles as well as a perforated, cushioned strap. The strap is particularly springy, which some runners like and others feel impedes their running by allowing too much room between the foot’s natural sole and the footbed.

Read more

Comfort

The dimpled, anatomical footbed keeps the foot from shifting in the bed in both moist and dry conditions. Vivobarefoot anatomical footbed contains dimpling for stability and comfort and the slight arch is a welcome addition.

Style

Intended as an all-purpose sports option, these have a fashionable edge to them while retaining their sporty construction. Available in attractive colors, these have a fun vibe but the anti-puncture sole and dimpled, anatomical footbed ensure their performance on the road and trail do not suffer because of their good looks.

Materials

Made of durable and high-quality materials, these are a great pair of sandals to invest in.

Durability

Really durable and built to last--great for runners looking for a long-term pair of running sandals.

Value

These are mid-priced action sandals and are durable and washable, a good price for these sandals.

7. Keen Newport H2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.5
Keen Newport H2
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Style
82
Materials
90
Durability
91
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
Backcountry Link
$65.00
See Deal
Pros:

Secure lacing system

Versatile design

PFC free materials

Excellent traction

Cons:

Some users experienced durability issues

Somewhat expensive

These are a very secure option that can be used for running as well as water sports such as river rafting and stand up paddleboarding. They feature PFC free materials and have a very comfortable footbed and a great multi-directional lug system for traction. Users found them to be supportive and secure, but they do have a short break-in time and some buyers experienced durability issues.

Read more

Comfort

The EVA footbed keeps the user's foot feeling good even during all-day use. The secure lacing system also works well without being too tight.

Style

Personally, we like how these look, and users felt comfortable wearing them in a variety of settings. They're also available in 12 different color combinations.

Materials

We love that these are made from PFC free sources. PFC is an inorganic compound that doesn't break down and releases harmful chemicals into the environment. KEEN shows their commitment to our natural world by going the extra mile to make products without PFC.

Durability

This seems to be a mixed bag with these. Most users enjoyed a long-lasting experience with these, while several others had the strap system fail rather quickly.

Value

Although these are a little pricey, you will find these are one of the best running sandals out there.

8. Teva Katavi

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Teva Katavi
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Style
84
Materials
89
Durability
88
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$64.90
Backcountry Link
$64.95
See Deal
Pros:

Comfortable

Great traction

Secure, unobtrusive strap system

Rear loop for easy on and off

Cons:

Some users feel this brand's quality used to be better

This is a solid option from an iconic sandal brand. They feature an extremely grippy rubber outsole and very comfortable footbed. The strap system works well to secure the sandal to the user's foot.

Read more

Comfort

This is one of the best parts of this product. The footbed is soft and comfortable but still supportive, and the strap system is very secure but won't bit into your foot so they're good for all-day wear.

Style

These are fairly average looking for this type of product. They only come in one color.

Materials

These feature imported textile straps. The rubber outsole is made from what the company calls Durabrasion rubber, which is their own proprietary rubber that has a lot of traction and grip but is also very durable.

Durability

Most users enjoyed long-lasting use from these but there were a few instances of early failure, mostly with the strap system.

Value

They are a little bit expensive, however.

9. OOfos Original

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
OOfos Original
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Style
87
Materials
87
Durability
86
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Achilles tendon support

Arch support

Anti-slip sole

Comfortable straps

OOfoam footbed

Durable

Cons:

The straps are not adjustable

The quality could be improved

Beyond encouraging the minimalist, exercise aficionados, Oofos takes the next step in this foot ware trend by creating a product that actually claims to encourage recovery. The molded, cushioned footbed of OOfos Original absorbs shock so every aspect of your gait can recover.

Read more

Comfort

OOfos cradles the foot for maximum comfort. Though a hybrid of comfort/recovery product and workout one, the OOfos anatomical footbed is a sweet, comfortable ride, cushioning the entire running mechanism for recovery and performance.

Style

Stylish to the point of loud, these are not low-profile. Oofos creates the footbed from OOfoam which is comfortable and maintains its cushioning over time.

Materials

Though more technical than many shoes on this list, Oofos 1” heel provides Achilles tendon support and the anatomical footbed is dimpled to prevent sliding in any direction.

Durability

Although these are not the most durable running sandals on our list, they will definitely hold up for you over time if you need a durable pair of sandals.

Value

These hit the mid-point for this type of footwear. If this is your style, these are a good price for an established, well-known product.

10. Atika Maya Trail

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Atika Maya Trail
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Style
84
Materials
86
Durability
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Molded EVA sole

Multi-directional lug pattern for excellent grip

Comfortable nylon straps

Straps adjust at two points for comfort and hold

Arch support

Slight heel elevation

Cons:

Run narrow

Possible blistering issues with constant use

Atika Maya Trail is modestly-priced and is another example of the hybrid running design. They provide some arch and heel support while remaining flexible and comfortable. Not for the true blue minimalist, these shoes, designed for trails, hug the trail to prevent slippage.

Read more

Comfort

The molded footbed of the Maya is supportive and light enough, though far from a featherweight. The nylon straps are adjustable in two places and are blister-resistant.

Style

Offered in quite a few color combinations, none of the hues disguise the heavy-duty nature of these trail shoes.

Materials

When we enter the category of multipurpose hiking designs, we must exempt them from most issues of fashion and judge them on their practicality.

Durability

The lugs on the soles hold the trail effectively without passing any discomfort on to the soles of your feet.

Value

This is another adapted rather than designed product. The price is so affordable that they are worth trying in case they are a good match for you.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Running sandals should be just as comfortable as your favorite running shoes, so keep that in mind before you buy a pair.

The entire idea behind running sandals is to have a more connected feeling while you’re running. A lot of extreme athletes enjoy running barefoot and swear that improves their performance under certain conditions. Naturally, you can’t do this if you’re running on rocky or difficult terrain. Running sandals get you a step closer to this without putting your feet at as much risk for injury.

They offer you a measure of protection while allowing you to get closer to a more natural state. New technological innovations surrounding footwear have made the creation of running sandals possible. The soles are thin enough to give you that barefoot feeling while still protecting your feet from repetitive impact.

This is a really interesting way to enjoy your run, and we’ve looked at a huge number of products to choose the best ones for your needs. On top of being trendy and functional, many of these running sandals are also incredibly stylish. Many runners report that barefoot running or running in sandals actually results in fewer injuries than running with more cushioned footwear.

This is because a person places less pressure on the soul of their foot when they’re able to feel what they’re running on. This has to do with an instinct to protect your feet from injury and the fact that you aren’t pushing against a highly cushioned surface. Running sandals are also notoriously comfortable.

This is because of the freedom that they allow your foot and the breathability. The foot isn’t being restricted in any way, and this actually changes the way that you absorb the shock. We looked at products that will offer you enough of a cushion to protect your feet while still keeping you firmly connected to the ground.

There are a wide variety of different running sandals, and we tried to populate this list with products that can appeal to runners at every level. The selections on our list are definitely the best running sandals currently available on the market--but when it comes to comfort, only you can decide what will work best for you.

Style

You should feel and look great in the running sandals you decide to get.

We’ve been transitioning to a more natural version of the style. In fact, Earthier products are incredibly trendy. This means that your running sandals aren’t relegated to just the trail. You can also wear them when you’re out and about for supreme comfort and mobility. The products that we looked at are highly fashionable and can appeal to your aesthetic senses as well.

This means that you can enjoy your favorite footwear just about anywhere. While style is not the absolute most important thing to look out for, we know our readers want to look great, so we considered the factors below when evaluating the overall style. Remember to prioritize your own personal style preferences before making your final decision.

Are they available in different colors or patterns?

Many of the running sandals on our list are actually available in a variety of colors and patterns to choose from. While many of them are neutral and minimalistic in design, you can still add your own personal flair with these sandals.

How are they constructed

As you can see, many of these sandals feature a functional design--meaning that when they were made what they would be used for was the primary priority of the company. These running sandals are first and foremost made to be good for running, the style came second.

Materials

The materials your running sandals are made of can make them or break them, so make sure they are constructed from high-quality materials.

Runners prefer that their footwear be lightweight. This helps with their performance, eases the stress on their knees, and improves comfort while running. Running sandals are the ultimate lightweight running footwear. They give you the option of using a product that has a thin enough sole to reduce the overall weight that’s on your feet while running.

Every time that you take a step you’re pulling up that weight. This requires additional energy and can place a good amount of strain on your shins and knees. The running sandals that we looked at are incredibly lightweight and can offer you a unique experience.

Thin soles

Here the question is how barefoot do you want to go or feel? If you want a minimalistic feel while running you want to achieve the thinner the soles, ensure that the soles are thin as this is exactly why you are looking for the barefoot sandals, but if you are a first-timer it is good if you go slow on the thin sole.

Try one that is about 8mm before going to the 5mm directly as this will give you the experience of what you are looking for. Thin soles, however, are the best for running sandals as there will not be the shoe feel in the sandals.

Flexibility

A great barefoot sandal should be very flexible as to allow your foot to move more naturally, the less weight of the sandal should be able to allow you this as you can move your feet as you want them to. Consider going for a thin sole too as this will increase the effectiveness of the sandals as well, flexibility is easy to achieve once you get the right pick of sandals.

Durability

We all want to make sure our running gear lasts us for the long haul, so we made sure our top picks were all durable.

This related to vast products and it’s not a surprise the sandals also have this. Well when talking of durability of sandals, we mean the straps and the sole, the material of the straps need to be ones that can easily be worn and ones that last long and cannot break in the middle of your run as this can pose as a life-threatening problem.

As a runner ensure that you get sandals that have the right sole grip for the terrain you will be exposing them to, ensure that they are ones that can be used in every terrain and can conquer in most cases rubber soles are considered best as they have an amicable grip with them. They are able to be used to the best as they are durable. For the straps consider going for leather as they're comfortable and durable.

Before we rated each of the running sandals on our list, we took the time to research what real-life users had to say about each of the running sandals we considered for our list. This meant going through countless reviews and taking a look at how each of the sandals really held up to the test of time--after all, you won't really know until you put them to the test.

Value

Whether you are on a strict budget or not, you should feel like your running sandals bring true value to your life.

The value of the sandal is so much more than what their initial cost is. In fact, it is important to remember that just because a pair of running sandals are really expensive doesn't mean that they are the best. To determine the value make sure to consider the following:

What is your budget?

Although the price isn't the most important thing to consider, you will need to keep this in mind if you are on a strict budget. Some of the sandals on our list are a little pricey while others are more cost-effective--we made sure to include options that would work for everyone.

Do they offer all of the features you need?

To get the most of your running sandals, you need to make sure you get a pair that offers what you need. If you have pronation issues or require additional support, then make sure to prioritize those needs as you narrow down your top picks. Even the best running sandals won't work for you if they don't address your specific needs.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Are sandals right for You?

Running in sandals isn’t necessarily for everyone. It takes dedication to change the way that you look at running shoes, and a little bit of adaptability. Running sandals definitely have a different feel and can take some getting used to.

Start with short distances

It is recommended to start out running short distances and seeing how your body responds. If you're sore the next day take some time off and try again. Build up to longer distances slowly.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

When it comes to anything you wear, you need to make sure you get the right size--and this is especially true for any type of footwear. When it comes to running sandals, you really need to make sure you get the right size because if they are too big or too small you can get injured while you are out on your run--so make sure you get the right size from the very beginning.

Sizing varies from brand to brand

Not all brands size the same--unfortunately. So, just because you are a size 7 in one brand, doesn't mean that you are going to be a size 7 in every brand. This is especially true for those of you who may have wide feet. If you are someone with wide feet, you will need to take an extra close look at the size you order.

Are you ordering online or in-store?

If you are able to go into the store you will be able to try on your running sandals and determine the right size for you. This is the best way to ensure your sandals fit you and that you can run properly in them. On the other hand, if you are ordering your running sandals online, you will need to make sure you measure your feet and refer to the manufacturer's sizing chart to ensure you are ordering the right size for you.

Bottom Line

At the end of the day, you need to make sure you get a pair of running sandals that fit your specific needs and work for you. While we rated each of the sandals on our list, at the end of the day, you are the only one who knows what is best for you--so make sure you take a look at the features that will work best for you!

Are they comfortable and do they fit?

The number one thing to look out for is that the running sandals you choose are comfortable! Your sandals won't work for you if they are uncomfortable, so make sure to pick a pair that will work for your foot type. Choosing the right size goes hand in hand with comfort as well, so if you are ordering online ay special attention to the size you order.

What materials is the sandal made of and does it hold up?

The materials and construction of your running sandals go hand in hand with the overall durability and life they will provide. If you want a pair of running sandals that will last you the long haul, make sure you look for those that are constructed of high-quality materials and take a look at what real0world users have to say about the sandals before you buy them.

Do you like the way they look?

Although the style of your running sandal is not the most important factor to consider, we know it is important for many of our readers to feel both stylish and comfortable. While most of the selection on our list are functional and minimalistic in design, some of them are available in several color and pattern options to choose from.

Are they worth the cost?

This is especially important for anyone on a budget! But, regardless of how much you can or can't spend, it's important that you invest in a pair of running sandals that will be worth it in the long run.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I really run in sandals?

a:

Absolutely. People have been running in sandals for thousands of years. The modern sandals on our list offer far more in terms of support and protection than what people have been using since the dawn of time. The caveat, however, is that because we've worn shoes for pretty much our whole lives our feet didn't develop with the natural strength, toughness, and flexibility that our ancestors did.

With some time, patience, and adjustment in types of footwear we can absolutely return to our feet the ability to walk, run, and play in much less constrictive footwear than you'd think possible.

q: Can everyone run with these?

a:

It depends. As always, talk to your doctor to make sure that your health history allows you to go with us on this adventure, we would be pleased to know that it is okay for you. If you are currently injured or have a previous injury that causes you some constraints these may be tough for you to use.

q: Which running surface can I run on?

a:

This depends on your experience and fitness level. If you are new to this type of workout, stick to the more leveled and smooth surfaces to help you work up to getting used to using minimalistic gear during physical activity. If you are experienced then you have more flexibility because your body is in tune with the feel of minimalistic running.

The materials that the sandals are made of will also play a role in determining the surface you choose.

q: Will my feet hurt after running in sandals?

a:

That all depends on how quickly and intelligently you make the transition from running in regular shoes to a more barefoot style minimalist shoe. If you take your time and start with short distances at a slow pace, all while progressively reducing the supportiveness of your footwear you should be able to run in sandals or even barefoot without experiencing pain.

If you go too far too fast, however, yes, it's gonna hurt--even with the best running sandals.

Sources

  1. Bill Hendrick, Barefoot Running Laced With Health Benefits, Fitness & Exercise
  2. Bretta Riches, Best Barefoot Running Sandals, Running Guides.
  3. Adventurous Habits, THE Guide to Minimalist Sandals, Running guide
  4. Patrick Sweeney, Running in Sandals?, Running Magazine