to top 10 table

10 Best La Sportiva Trail Running Shoes Reviewed

last updated Sep 30, 2018

Are you looking to run a trail and in the need of some trail running shoes? If you are, then one of the best La Sportiva Trail Running Shoes on our list is a perfect option for you! When you hear the name La Sportiva, you wouldn’t be surprised to learn that this company is rooted in Italy. In fact, this brand can trace it’s origins all the way back to the Dolomite mountains so, it’s no surprise they would make such an awesome pair of trail running shoes.

This company offers shoes of course for all types of terrain so whether you like to run in the snow, mud, mountains or woods they will have a product tailored for your specific needs. The Best La Sportiva Trail Running Shoes are really durable, comfortable, and an excellent option for outdoor enthusiasts who love hitting their favorite trails.

After a lengthy research, we’ve managed to whittle the best La Sportiva Trail Running Shoes creating a top 10 list for our readers. We believe we have the best list to help you find that perfect pair for your needs – please take a look down below!

Researched Sources
19
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1310
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
20
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated: September 30, 2018
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

For this update, we focused on readability making sure our article was easy to read for our viewers. We double checked our top 10 list making sure that every product is available.

Sorting Options
Comfort Stability Durability Breathability Price By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Comfort
96%
Stability
98%
Durability
97%
Breathability
87%
Price
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Comfort
95%
Stability
97%
Durability
98%
Breathability
94%
Price
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Comfort
96%
Stability
96%
Durability
95%
Breathability
87%
Price
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Comfort
96%
Stability
94%
Durability
98%
Breathability
90%
Price
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Comfort
95%
Stability
92%
Durability
96%
Breathability
86%
Price
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Comfort
95%
Stability
97%
Durability
94%
Breathability
88%
Price
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Comfort
94%
Stability
96%
Durability
93%
Breathability
88%
Price
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Comfort
92%
Stability
95%
Durability
93%
Breathability
89%
Price
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Comfort
92%
Stability
94%
Durability
97%
Breathability
86%
Price
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Comfort
92%
Stability
83%
Durability
87%
Breathability
85%
Price
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.18)
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Mutant
  • Bushido
  • Crossover 2.0 GTX
  • Ultra Raptor
  • Akasha
  • Akyra
  • Wildcat 2.0 GTX
  • Helios SR
  • Primer Low GTX
  • Helios 2.0
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best La Sportiva Trail Running Shoes

1. Mutant

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Mutant
Comfort
96
Stability
98
Durability
97
Breathability
87
Price
90
best offer for today
Pros:

Modern design

Extremely breathable

Extremely durable

Great protection

Sticky outsole that provides great traction and stability

Protective toe cap

Cons:

For some users they look ugly

Slightly on the heavy side for some super-fast runners

La Sportiva Mutant backcountry trail running shoes are a modern-looking trail running shoe that offers great cushioning and protection for your feet while offering enough air to keep them cool and dry. The outsole has been specifically designed to stick to everything, a major bonus for sticky and rocky terrain, and we love the shoe's durability too.

Read more

Comfort/Stability:
These Mutants will provide you with top-quality cushioning for the terrains you have to conquer. They are perfect for harsher environments that other less durable shoes just can't handle. They will also provide you with amazing stability giving you the perfect platform to tackle those arduous and unpredictable routes.

Durability/Quality:
These are very durable running shoes that will last you for a long, long time before they break down. The materials used are high quality and you'll really enjoy the reinforcement inside the shoe.

Value/Price:
Perhaps the best aspect of the Mutant is its low price. They are seriously cheap considering the quality you provide. We challenge you to find a better bargain anywhere in the athletic shoe market

2. Bushido

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
 Bushido
Comfort
95
Stability
97
Durability
98
Breathability
94
Price
80
best offer for today
Pros:

Comfortable

Breathable

Really durable

Cons:

Expensive

Robust enough for the harshest environment, La Sportiva's Bushido trail running shoes are extremely comfortable thanks to the synthetic materials used to make them. They're also vegan-friendly, which is a nice little bonus. And they're seriously lightweight. Not the flashiest item on our list, the Bushido is nonetheless ultra-reliable.

Read more

Comfort/Stability:
A wide outsole offers great stability as well as traction, spreading your weight across a wider surface area as you run. The mesh offers vital ventilation properties and the in-built impact brake system is really valuable for those who have to endure a lot of sudden twists and turns on their trails.

Durability/Quality:
The Bushido is one of the most durable trail running shoes on the market. The quality of materials used is top notch. They won't fall apart any time soon. Or any time late, come to think of it.

Value/Cost:
Fairly expensive but not outrageously so, the Bushido is a great choice if you're prepared to invest a decent amount but don't want to really splash out.

3. Crossover 2.0 GTX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Crossover 2.0 GTX
Comfort
96
Stability
96
Durability
95
Breathability
87
Price
89
best offer for today
Pros:

Provides lots of support and stability

Great traction

Really comfortable

Highly durable

Cons:

Bulky

They may look more like Marty McFly's sneakers than something the average trail runner might wear, but the La Sportiva Crossover 2.0 GTX are extremely robust and the high ankle supports offer additional protection as well as stability. The lacing system is beautifully simple, and the best feature of all is the grip zone, specifically designed to help you negotiate snowy and icy conditions.

Read more

Comfort/Stability:
The Sportiva Crossover 2.0 GTX offers amazing comfort thanks to its sturdy design, which grasps your feet just right. The shoes also offer great stability because of an outsole full of lugs that offer you a great grip.

Durability/Quality:
These are very durable running shoes. The polyester mesh may look lightweight but it really does the job - and then does it again, and again.

Value/Price:
While they are cheaper La Sportiva trail running shoe models out there but it really depends what sort of trail running you enjoy. If you look getting out there and slogging through the snow and ice, trust us - you'll love these.

4. Ultra Raptor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Ultra Raptor
Comfort
96
Stability
94
Durability
98
Breathability
90
Price
82
best offer for today
Pros:

Modern and colorful design

Vibram sole provides great traction

Great breathability

High-quality materials

Great support

Cons:

Too heavy for some users

A bit bulky for some super-fast runners

Colorful, cutting-edge vegan-friendly... the Ultra Raptor is perfectly attuned to 21st-century life. And La Sportiva's high-class synthetic solution means the shoes feel amazing against your skin while keeping all that dirt, rainwater, and other nasty stuff. The Vibram Sole, which provides you with an amazing grip while running on trails and rough terrain, makes this a rugged as well as an eye-catching product.

Read more

Comfort/Stability:
The ankle supports are designed to offer additional protection, managing your twists and turns and enhancing that locked-in feel which makes La Sportiva's shoes so popular. The softer materials are gentle on your feet, and the super-stable soles are the icing on the cake.

Durability/Quality:
The Ultra Raptor is a durable running shoe that will last you for hundreds, if not thousands of miles.

Value/Cost:
La Sportiva Ultra Raptor mountain running shoes aren't cheap, but like most products, in this range, the quality more than compensates.

5. Akasha

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Akasha
Comfort
95
Stability
92
Durability
96
Breathability
86
Price
90
best offer for today
Pros:

Seriously good-looking

Well-ventilated

Great traction

Ultra-light reinforced uppers

Cons:

Quite expensive

La Sportiva Akasha trail running shoes are one of the most beautiful trail running shoes on the market. They feature a great combination of colors in a modern, sleek design. They are made of fabric and leather and well as amazing traction, as well as great comfort and support.

Read more

Comfort/Stability:
These offer you great comfort and stability from La Sportiva's high-cushioned sole. The soft Frixion XT rubber outsole is designed to keep a suction-like grip even when things get really wet.

Durability/Quality:
These shoes are very durable and will last you for hundreds of miles. Also, the quality of the materials is great. The leather is best known as a durable and long-lasting material.

Value/Cost:
There aren't usually complaints about the cost of these shoes even considering their relatively steep price. The reason may be because of their beautiful design, or the STB technology that provides you with great comfort, or just the overall quality that they provide.
PROS

6. Akyra

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Akyra
Comfort
95
Stability
97
Durability
94
Breathability
88
Price
84
best offer for today
Pros:

High-quality materials

Great shock absorption

Brilliant on tough mountainous trails

Durable

Cons:

A touch on the heavy side

Pricey

There's so much to love about the Akyra. Its air mesh offers great ventilation and its built-in shock absorbers are a real benefit to those who run on unforgiving surfaces or have to jump every now again (a common issue for mountain runners). The impact brake system further reduces the impact of any collision or hard landing.

Read more

Comfort/ Stability:
This is one of the most protective shoes on our list. As we've said above, the Akyra coms with shock absorbers and an impact brake system, so you won't suffer from any sudden impacts. There's more cushioning in these shoes than in a penthouse suite at the Ritz; they're as comfortable as a trail runner gets, without being overly heavy.

Quality/ Durability:
Users said that the shoes worked great on every kind of terrain--But we reckon they're particularly good for mountain runners, giving the cushioning and impact absorption system which come as standard.

Cost/ value:
These may be a bit pricier than some other shoes you'll find but they're pretty durable and offer great value for money over the long-term.

7. Wildcat 2.0 GTX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Wildcat 2.0 GTX
Comfort
94
Stability
96
Durability
93
Breathability
88
Price
80
best offer for today
Pros:

Great traction

Lovely fabric

Water-resistant

Versatile

Cons:

A bit pricey

La Sportiva Wildcat 2.0 GTX trail running shoes are a major improvement on the first generation. The synthetic fabric and one-piece molded harness make for a seriously sleek design and the waterproof, breathable Gore-Tex membrane is great when you're slogging away in tougher running environments. An aggressive outsole gives you great protection and real traction in rocky terrain.

Read more

Comfort/Stability:
The synthetic materials provide a lovely feel and the lacing system grips your foot just right. These shows will offer you amazing stability with their unique outsole.

Durability/Quality:
These are surprisingly durable considering the materials used. They will last you a long time, and all the materials used are high-quality.

Value/Cost:
Ok, these babies are a bit pricey. But hey, you gotta pay for quality, right?

8. Helios SR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Helios SR
Comfort
92
Stability
95
Durability
93
Breathability
89
Price
82
best offer for today
Pros:

Good lacing system

Modern design

Mesh system offers great breathability

Offers great cushioning for your feet

Cons:

Pricey

Outsole can wear out quickly by some reports

Designed to be abrasion-resistant and breathable, with leading-edge sweat-wicking properties, the Helios SR is great for those who love running or scaling rocky terrain. The shoes are packed with something called MorphoDynamic midsole technology, which keeps the shoes rigid and offers great edging capability, meaning they're effective for climbing as well as running.

Read more

Comfort/Stability:
Ask any fell or mountain runner what they look for in their shoes and they'll probably all tell you the same answer: stability and rigidity. The Helios SR offers these qualities and the design offers genuine comfort, ensuring your feet won't suffer too much damage as you push yourself up that hill.

Durability/Quality:
These are very durable running shoes, as they need to be. The materials used are high quality and users love the abrasion-resistant properties.

Value/Cost:
Yep, these cost quite a bit. That's the only real downside we can see, to be honest. But given how long they'll last, they're certainly not a bad investment.

9. Primer Low GTX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Primer Low GTX
Comfort
92
Stability
94
Durability
97
Breathability
86
Price
80
best offer for today
Pros:

Nano-cell technology for protection and comfort

GoreTex to keep your feet warm and snug

All the padding your feet will need

Snug-fit

Versatile

Cons:

Rather expensive

If, like us, you're a bit of a techno-geek, you'll be drooling over these babies. Nano-cell protection, Gore-Tex surround technology... yep, we agree, the Primer Low GTX is a pretty cool pair of shows. Trail runners love nothing more than escaping from the hustle and bustle of modern life and going back to nature, but hey, there's nothing wrong with a bit of futuristic gadgetry innovation.

Read more

Comfort/Stability
These are really comfortable and great for your favorite technical trails. They will give you the support and stability you need.

Durability/Quality
Read the reviews online and you'll see that these bad boys are durable. Like, really durable. They'll stand up to the toughest terrain you can put them through and come out the other side.

Value/Cost:
This is the one real negative we can find. The Primer Low GTX is an expensive pair of shoes. Right at the top of the price bracket. If it weren't for the price we'd probably have ranked it higher. Given the cost, we'd recommend you only go for a pair of Primer Lows if you're really into your trail running. If you're a budding athlete or a committed amateur, you won't find a better pair of shoes on the market.

10. Helios 2.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Helios 2.0
Comfort
92
Stability
83
Durability
87
Breathability
85
Price
80
best offer for today
Pros:

Ultra-lightweight

Good to look at

Extra padding

Cons:

Not as stable as some alternatives

If you have been looking for a very lightweight trail running shoe, this is it. The newest version of the Helios line offers a new lacing system as well as exta padding, yet it's one of the most compact and efficient shoes in this sector.

Read more

Comfort/ Stability
Users love the ultra-soft cushioning of the shoe, which makes it much more comfortable. The area of the heel is also very soft and it's designed to avoid causing blisters. These shoes will work better in colder temperatures although, for some users, they weren't breathable enough on warmer days. Because the shoe is so minimalistic, it won't offer the stability of some other members of the La Sportiva clan.

Quality/ Durability
Some users described these shoes as a "minimalistic shoe for trail runners". We must agree with this idea as you can really feel the ground. Although the shoe is lightweight, it will deal with moderate trails. Some runners encountered issues with drying while running on more wet surfaces but the overall durability was described as good.

Value/ Price
You can get these shoes for around 120 dollars. The price is good but it depends on what you look for. These shoes are rather for minimalist so if you look for something more rigid and for using on more demanding trails, you should look for something else. these will be perfect for trail races.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Not a lot of people are aware that La Sportiva operates from a small, 250-person factory in a mountain village in Italy. Beavering away in the heart of the Italian Dolomites, you can find their dedicated team of craftsmen and designers striving to maintain the company’s outstanding reputation in the outdoor footwear market. With a focus on quality over quantity, there is no production quota, sales figures, or marketing team. The company’s tradition and heritage are what make it one of the most respected names in trail running shoes. Let’s take a look at some of their latest and toughest trail runners and what they can do for your next outdoor adventure.

While going through reams of feedback from real-world users, we found that La Sportiva has the highest customer satisfaction rate when it comes to comfortable toe boxes. From their mountain climbing shoes to their standard trail runners, testers reported the perfect combination of freedom and fit when it came to their toes. Given La Sportiva can test its products right in the heart of the Italian mountain ranges, it’s hardly surprising the quality is so consistent.

Stability

If you require additional stability, for example, make sure that you make a selection that is most similar to your road running shoe. According to user feedback, one of the first mistakes they made was choosing a trail runner without taking this into consideration. We’ve done our due diligence to mark the models that have additional cushioning, stability, and flexibility so that you can have all the information required to make a selection that is best for you.

Durability

The last thing that you want to worry about when your out on a trail run is the integrity of your footwear. No need to worry. Users of this brand have counted on their outdoor footwear for generations. Their trail runners are built to last and have been tested in the harshest of conditions. This ensures that when you find yourself in the middle of nowhere, you will have trail runners that you can count on to last as long as you do.

One of the best things about this brand is their lasting durability. You can wear them for the most extreme in outdoor activities and months down the line they will look practically brand new. While this is great, make sure that you are replacing them at the proper intervals. While standard running shoes last about three hundred miles, trail shoes are much more different in terms of longevity and a ton of factors are involved whetelltalethat determination. Most seasoned trail runners keep a log on time and miles that they put on their footwear. Look for too much wear on the outsoles as one of the most tell tale signs. Additionally, if they don’t “feel” right, chances are they need to be replaced. Remember that cushioning, padding, and shock absorption all go downhill after two hundred miles of wear.

Breathability

When we look at shoes we always look at breathability because it helps your feet stay cool and dry. Breathability and ventilation is important, especially during the warmer months, because it prevents blisters and chafing from occurring. Many trail shoes are a little less breathable because they need to be more durable--but that doesn't mean they need to sacrifice all breathability.

Value

For some users, it’s very important to find shoes that won’t ruin their budget. Trail running shoes are those type of shoes that tend to be much more expensive than road running shoes. They’re made of much more durable materials, they have also many additional features to provide a better grip and shock absorption. There are different types of La Sportiva trail running shoes and you need to be aware that the differences in price don’t come from anywhere. The most expensive trail running shoes from La Sportiva are those who are also good for mountains. They’re more durable and the snow isn’t a problem. La Sportiva has also shoes for less demanding trails, this kind of shoe is, in general, less heavy but it doesn’t provide the highest level of protection. La Sportive isn’t very expensive brand and everyone can find something even if you need to tighten the belt. We’ve tried to put on our list both more expensive and less expensive products.

Other Factors to Consider

Features

Our readers have let us know time and time again when they are out on the trail they are looking for footwear that will keep their feet dry and comfortable. This is why we made sure that all the La Sportiva models that made our list came with the companies’ latest in moisture wicking technology. Beyond reading the labels, we made sure that user feedback matched the promises made by the material and design. What you are left with is a solid list of the best moisture wicking trail runners on the market today.

Protection

Safety always comes first to us here at Runnerclick, and we know that Mother Nature is full of surprises. From sharp, jagged rocks, to loose gravel and wet surfaces, there are no shortages of hazards when you go out on the trail. This is why their products offer rock guards, toes caps, and aggressive traction like no one else in the business. Our buying guide is full of the best-rated trail runners that will keep you nice and safe, no matter what Mother Nature throws your way.

Terrain

Keep in mind what kind of hazards you might encounter when you hit the great outdoors. It’s important to strike a balance of protection and weight when considering your trail runners. If you are going on more manicured, or nontechnical trails, then you may not need the highest in protection models. This will give you a lighter runner that will keep your endurance and comfort levels high for longer amounts of time. If you will be going at a slower pace through sharp rocks and stones, then you want all the protection you can get. Make sure you choose a model with a toe guard and rock plate for added protection.

Just like sharp rocks and jagged stones, wet surfaces and loose gravel can be extremely dangerous when you are hitting the trails. Please keep wet surfaces in mind when making your selection and when you are enjoying the great outdoors. If you know that there will be a significant amount of wet surfaces on your outings, look for models with Vibram soles for extra traction and grip. Tester feedback was very high when it came to combating wet, slippery surfaces. Enjoy the advantages that La Sportiva can offer you in this department.

Water Resistance

How much water do you plan to come across while you’re out on the trails? Beyond the occasional rain and puddle splash, if you will be encountering a considerable amount of water and mud while out on the trail, look for the GTX moniker on the models and choose one from this selection. That stands for Gore-Tex and the material will become your new best friend while you are battling the elements. It stays very breathable and keeps ventilation levels high while still blocking water from getting in. Stay dry out there!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Q: How should I care for my trail runners?
a:

A: Make sure that you always check for small rocks and stones that can become lodged in the sole and promptly remove them. Wipe off all mud and debris before drying, especially on Gore-Tex as this can hamper its ability to provide ventilation for your feet. Finally, check those laces. They can snap if they have been sniped by a random stone of twig.

q: Q: I have some pretty high-quality road running shoes. Why can’t I use them for trail running?
a:

A: No one would recommend that to you. Quite simply, trail rated running shoes are meant for handling things that standard running shoes are not designed to. From loose gravel, dusty surfaces, sharp rocks, and mud, there are elements out on the trail that will destroy your standard running shoe and may even injure you. If you are going to a non-technical trail, you may get away with using a standard runner, but for the intense stuff, you don’t want to risk it.

q: Q: How long can I expect my La Sportiva trail running shoes to last?
a:

Running shoes, regardless of brand, should be replaced every 300-500 miles. Trail runners are a different story. They will last through your toughest of treks and outings, but you need to replace them based on your individual usage. Seasoned trail runners expect to get about two hundred miles from their La Sportiva and replace them while they are still in great condition. They last long, but you want to keep a fresh pair for safety reasons.

q: Q: I’ve heard that wearing socks while trail running is a no-no; what’s the verdict?
a:

A: This is completely a personal preference, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. The best thing to do is try it out for yourself. If you experience some skin irritation, but still enjoy running without socks, try some runner’s tape on the problem areas before you head out again. There are experienced trail runners on both sides, you should do what feels best for you.

Sources

  1. La Sportiva, La Sportiva, Manufacturer Site,
  2. Runner’s World, Runner’s World, Running Webste,
  3. Active, Active, Health Website,
  4. Amazon, Amazon, Product Reviews,