to top 10 table

10 Best Green Tea Supplements Tested and Reviewed

last updated Oct 04, 2019
Green Tea, along with its derivatives, has been around for hundreds of years and with all of the options currently available today, it can be almost impossible to find the Best Green Tea Supplements—lucky for you we did the hard work!

The Chinese were the first to discover the benefits of Green tea, and it has been history ever since! Today, green tea continues to be a popular and effective herbal supplement that provides a multitude of health benefits.

The Best Green Tea Supplements assist with weight loss, improve cardiovascular health, help prevent cancer, and provide you with essential antioxidants. So, regardless of your need—everyone can benefit from green tea!

Check out our favorite green tea supplements below, happy shopping!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
Nature's Wellness
95.5/100 our score
Use
96
Potency
93
Value
98
Product Purity
95
Nature's Wellness
Why is it better?

Vegan

EGCG

Affordable

Increases health and focus

Non-GMO

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Nature's Wellness
Test Winner: Nature's Wellness
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
17
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

For our most recent update, we have upgraded each of our product reviews to make sure they are easy for our readers to sift through and compare. We also have added a ton of new information throughout our buying guide, so make sure to read through the end.

Sorting Options
Use Potency Value Product Purity By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Use
96 %
Potency
93 %
Value
98 %
Product Purity
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$17.85
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Use
94 %
Potency
91 %
Value
96 %
Product Purity
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$12.06
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
Use
90 %
Potency
94 %
Value
91 %
Product Purity
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$8.29
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Use
89 %
Potency
91 %
Value
95 %
Product Purity
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$16.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Use
89 %
Potency
93 %
Value
90 %
Product Purity
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$17.96
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Use
92 %
Potency
90 %
Value
84 %
Product Purity
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$11.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Use
82 %
Potency
87 %
Value
89 %
Product Purity
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$17.45
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Use
90 %
Potency
82 %
Value
88 %
Product Purity
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$17.49
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Use
91 %
Potency
86 %
Value
83 %
Product Purity
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$14.60
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Use
73 %
Potency
80 %
Value
82 %
Product Purity
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
$19.02

10 Best Green Tea Supplements

1. Nature's Wellness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Nature's Wellness
Nature's Wellness
Nature's Wellness
Nature's Wellness
Nature's Wellness
Amazon Link
Use
96
Potency
93
Value
98
Product Purity
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.85
Pros:

Vegan

EGCG

Affordable

Increases health and focus

Non-GMO

Cons:

Has caffeine

This product has quickly become well known because it is a high-quality product made of organic ingredients and has a minimum amount of caffeine.

Read more

Use

This one offers many health benefits and helps you lose weight, increases your brain function and focus, and generally improves your overall health.

Potency

While this supplement doesn't have a lot of caffeine, it can still cause you to get jittery and fidgety if you are sensitive to it.

Value

The supplement is super affordable and costs about 14 cents per serving. Moreover, the purity of ingredients and effects makes it extremely valuable.

Product Purity

As far as product purity goes, you will love that this supplement features organic ingredients that you can trust--so you don't have to worry about any unwanted ingredients in this one.

2. NOW

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
NOW
NOW
NOW
NOW
NOW
Amazon Link
Use
94
Potency
91
Value
96
Product Purity
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.06
Pros:

No extreme side effects reported

Customers who also drink green tea say the benefits are similar

Cheapest price point of the reviewed products

Increases energy and appetite

Cons:

Insomnia is a regular complaint when taken too late in the day

As we get towards the middle of the list, we start to find supplements that sacrifice one aspect of a perfect supplement for another. While NOW's standard green tea isn't going to beat out some of the higher-end supplements in performance, it certainly is an attractive choice for the more frugal, health-conscious person.

Overall this is a decent supplement that does precisely what it ought to do, increase your energy and decrease your appetite.

Read more

Use

While NOW created a supplement that effectively raises energy and kind of suppresses appetite, it basically missed the mark in the fat-burning department, and this is evidenced by the numerous reviews stating little to no effect in the weight loss category, barring using this in conjunction with a proper exercise regimen. If weight loss is your primary concern, there are better options to explore.

Potency

As with any caffeinated supplement, the big concern with this green tea is jitteriness, and potential inability to sleep if taken at an inappropriate time. Few customers reported any nausea or headaches.

Value

At a measly .06 cent per serving average, this is by far the most cost-effective option out of the supplements we've reviewed.

Product Purity

While the green tea content is comparable to others at 400mg, the EGCg content is only about 40% or 160mg of the total supplement. This accounts for the mild effects.

3. PureTea Green Tea

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
PureTea Green Tea
PureTea Green Tea
PureTea Green Tea
PureTea Green Tea
PureTea Green Tea
Amazon Link
Use
90
Potency
94
Value
91
Product Purity
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.29
Pros:

Affordable

Gives you energy

Aids in weight loss

Supports overall health

Cons:

Contains caffeine

While this one is geared towards weight loss it is an excellent option to increase your overall health and get an energy boost while you're at it.

Read more

Use

This one encourages steady weight loss and provides you with a boost of energy to get you through the day.

Potency

If you are sensitive to caffeine then this one might cause of jittery feelings and may even keep you up if you take it too late in the day.

Value

This product comes to about 27 cents per serving. However, most athletes prefer it because of its favorable caffeine levels.

Product Purity

Organic and natural, this green tea supplement is a great option for those of you looking for something that is safe and effective.

4. Zhou Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Zhou Nutrition
Zhou Nutrition
Zhou Nutrition
Zhou Nutrition
Zhou Nutrition
Amazon Link
Use
89
Potency
91
Value
95
Product Purity
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.99
Pros:

Highly potent supplement

More affordable than standard products

Fast reacting and highly effective

Cons:

Potency has been linked to an aftertaste for some

The Zhou Nutrition green tea supplement is a great option for those who are looking for a good supplement that won't cause stomach upset. This potent powder might be for you and it can deliver the energy and metabolism boost you have been looking for!

Read more

Use

It is important to ensure that with any supplement the ingredients are pure and the labels are accurate. The combination of caffeine and L-theanine in this supplement has been shown in trials to have synergistic effects that help support brain function, including mood and alertness.

Potency

Zhou Nutrition’s product contains a high level of polyphenol catechins and the powerful Epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG) which is known to help support healthy cell growth and healing. These potent elements also help promote and support healthy fat oxidation.

Value

This supplement is fairly reasonably priced compared to others of similar strength and capsule count. Suggested service in 1 capsule a day and there are 120 capsules in a bottle so you are more than getting your money’s worth when you invest in this green tea supplement!

Product Purity

The final thing reviewers like about this is that it is easy to take, gentle on the stomach and made from quality ingredients without any stimulants like caffeine.

5. BulkSupplements

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
BulkSupplements
BulkSupplements
BulkSupplements
BulkSupplements
BulkSupplements
Amazon Link
Use
89
Potency
93
Value
90
Product Purity
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.96
Pros:

Powdered supplement - mixes well in every medium

No flavor

Non-GMO + MSG free

Lab tested and verified

Cons:

Some customers report a bitter aftertaste

BulkSupplements Pure Green Tea Supplement starts our list, and of all the products reviewed, this one can be mixed to just about any drink you can imagine. It can also be found for a very reasonable price, but more importantly, it's frequently reviewed as being highly effective.

Read more

Use

BulkSupplements is on to something with this product. Almost every customer who reviewed it felt that it had some effect on their energy, weight loss, and appetite suppression. Customers also reported a quick onset, so you can take this supplement without having to worry about when it'll kick in.

Potency

Side effects were very rare with this supplement, almost entirely being regulated to a sense of jitteriness.

Value

For a powder, this supplement can be found for a remarkably reasonable price at roughly .10 cents a serving, of which there are about 500.

Product Purity

Of the reviewed products, this supplement had the second highest green tea content at 696mg per serving, and one of the higher polyphenol contents at 300mg per serving. The manufacturer did not provide an EGCg content

6. Green Tree Life Sciences

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Green Tree Life Sciences
Green Tree Life Sciences
Green Tree Life Sciences
Green Tree Life Sciences
Green Tree Life Sciences
Amazon Link
Use
92
Potency
90
Value
84
Product Purity
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.95
Pros:

Made in an FDA approved facility

Reports from some customers claim to have seen a drop in cholesterol levels

Slightly higher caffeine levels

Little known side effects

Cons:

A bit pricier than other options

Less EGCg than other options

Green Tree Life Sciences premium green tea supplement is, above all, a very stable, and mild supplement that won't give you much in the way of negative effects. While the benefits are marginal, for those of us with little tolerance for stomach aches, headaches, or the jitters, this is a very attractive option.

Read more

Use

While Green Tree Life Sciences makes sure to warn against all the standard issues of green tea supplements, very few, if any people actually had any complaints about anything short of stomach irritability.

Potency

500mg of green tea seems to be the industry standard as far as things go, but the 40% EGCgs and 75% polyphenols are towards the low end of the spectrum. IT is worth noting that the supplement does have a higher than normal 5% naturally occurring caffeine.

Value

At 20 cents a serving, this is certainly on the higher end of the products reviewed, and given the middle of the road results gained from taking them, some people might be less likely to want to invest in this product.

Product Purity

As with a lot of other supplements, the strength of this product is that it effectively mitigates appetites for a prolonged period of time, but conversely, it does little in the way of increasing energy and has hardly any direct benefit to weight loss.

7. ZenWise

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
ZenWise Green Tea
ZenWise Green Tea
ZenWise Green Tea
ZenWise Green Tea
ZenWise Green Tea
Amazon Link
Use
82
Potency
87
Value
89
Product Purity
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.45
Pros:

Empty bottle guarantee

High energy content

Moderately priced

Cons:

Some aftertaste issues reported

ZenWise green tea supplements are perfect for busy runners and athletes and people on the go. It is formulated to be fast-absorbing and long-lasting and won’t cause stomach upset like many other supplements often do. This potent supplement may be the missing piece to your fitness puzzle!

Read more

Use

It is important to ensure you are buying a supplement that is made from quality ingredients and the ZenWise green tea supplements are backed by a quality guarantee.

Potency

Featuring 725mg of Green Tea per serving and With 98% Polyphenols, this has everything you could possibly want from a green tea supplement!

Value

The Zenwise green tea supplements are priced mid-range and is affordable for just about anyone, which makes it popular among runners of all skill and experience levels.

Product Purity

Many supplements today are filled with a lot of sluff filler that does nothing for you and in some cases can even hurt you, Zenwise products are certified pure and only the finest ingredients are used! This means you get the best product and the best results possible!

8. Buddha’s Herbs Decaffeinated

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Buddha’s Herbs Decaffeinated
Buddha’s Herbs Decaffeinated
Buddha’s Herbs Decaffeinated
Buddha’s Herbs Decaffeinated
Buddha’s Herbs Decaffeinated
Amazon Link
Use
90
Potency
82
Value
88
Product Purity
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.49
Pros:

Decaffeinated - less than 1% caffeine per pill

Produced at an NSF certified facility

High level of thiamin to aid in cognitive function

Quite affordable

Cons:

The thiamin is bad if you have high blood pressure

Rough on the stomach

For those of us who can't have, or are sensitive to caffeine, we've got Buddha's Herbs Decaf green tea, a supplement that generally got rave reviews, with little in the way of negative comments.

Read more

Use

While the effects of this supplement are generally viewed as mild, they are also consistent across the board with buyers noting that they experienced significant increases to their energy, as well as moderate appetite suppression and fat burning.

Potency

If you're looking to this supplement for high levels of green tea, or EGCgs, then you may want to consider another source. The GTC is about 400mg per serving, with about 200mg of EGCgs. This may have something to do with the mild effects.

Value

At an average cost per serving of .08 cents, this is a very affordable option for anybody. Moreover, it still boosts energy and boosts performance.

Product Purity

This pill is great for those of us who are sensitive to caffeine, as less than 1% of the capsule contains the jitter-producing substance. Additionally, Buddha's Herbs supplements are well regarded as being generally soft on the stomach.

9. Health's Harmony

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Health's Harmony
Health's Harmony
Health's Harmony
Health's Harmony
Health's Harmony
Amazon Link
Use
91
Potency
86
Value
83
Product Purity
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.60
Pros:

Beneficial to overall health

Has a positive effect on allergies

Minimal side effects

Cons:

Some users reported insomnia if used late in the day

Say goodbye to 8 cups of coffee a day and the jitters and crashing that comes with a coffee habit. It is possible to get the energy boost you need and to feel more alert and to get more out of your daily workout routine without relying on harmful stimuli. Health's Harmony green tea supplement can help you achieve just that!

Read more

Use

The powerful green tea in Health's Harmony supplements are designed to be easy to take and will absorb fast for less stomach irritation and discomfort. The balance of nutrients is designed to aid in the natural effects of the green tea and help give you a great experience every time you take this supplement.

Potency

These easy to swallow capsules will also last all day so there is no worry about the jitters right after taking it or a bad crash at the end of the day.

Value

With a price tag under $20 in most cases and 120 capsules per bottle, Health's Harmony green tea supplement is a great way to boost your energy and metabolism levels safely and easily.

Product Purity

All Health's Harmony supplements are guaranteed fresh and are made from only the finest of ingredients.

10. Life Extension

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Life Extension Mega Green Tea
Life Extension Mega Green Tea
Life Extension Mega Green Tea
Life Extension Mega Green Tea
Life Extension Mega Green Tea
Amazon Link
Use
73
Potency
80
Value
82
Product Purity
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.02
Pros:

Buyers claim to notice a boost in focus

Low price point

Minimal side effects

Contains high ECGs level

Cons:

Some report the capsules are hard to swallow

Some report the capsules do not dissolve well

Life Extension Mega Green Tea supplement will help you get the energy boost you need without the harmful effect of caffeine and other stimulants. It will help you to feel more alert and to get more out of your daily workouts as well by boosting metabolism. This can help you be your very best!

Read more

Use

With a powerful doss of green tea and other vitamins and nutrients, Life Extension Mega is made to help runners and athletes achieve the best their bodies have to offer.

Potency

With 98% green tea, the Life Extension Mega Green Tea supplement is a powerhouse that many reviewers speak highly of. It can boost energy and metabolism levels without annoying powder mixes and with fewer side effect than other supplements on the market.

Value

You get 100 capsules for less than $20, which is a great price for green tea supplements. So this is a good option for those individuals who want the added health boost without spending a lot of money in the process.

Product Purity

Life Extension Mega Green Tea supplements are guaranteed fresh and are made from only the finest of ingredients.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

Green Tea supplements offer different benefits, so depending on what you need you may want to go one way or the other. Make sure to consider your needs and preferences before you buy to ensure you are getting something that works for you.

This category looks at a few different factors but primarily focuses on how well the supplement affects your body’s ability to burn fat, how it promotes appetite suppression, and how whether or not there was a noticeable increase in energy throughout the day--so make sure to think about what your body needs and how you can make sure you get these benefits from your green tea supplements.

In addition to that, we also paid special attention to pills that were reviewed as having a particularly strong impact on things like allergies, skin health, and other conditions that aren’t mentioned in the product descriptions. So, if you already know you are sensitive or allergic to specific ingredients, you will need to make sure to take a close look.

At the end of the day, you need to make sure you sit down and figure out what you need from each of your green tea supplements. They should be easy to use and portable enough for you to take with you wherever you go--if this is something that you would like to be able to do. The best green tea supplement for you should fit your every need, so choose wisely!

Potency

Not all green tea supplements are exactly the same and some of him have more caffeine, antioxidants, and benefits than others--even when choosing from the best options out there--so make sure to choose a supplement that you feel is made just for you.

As you can see, there are literally tons of green tea supplements available for you to choose from--and lucky for you, you get to choose from the top ten best selections currently available on the market. One of the most important factors we considered when looking for the best selections is how potent each of the supplements are.

More specifically, we took a look at how much caffeine each supplement had--this is specifically important if you are someone who is sensitive to caffeine. If this is you, make sure to take a look at the decaffeinated green tea supplements that we choose to feature on our list of reviews as well--so you don't have to worry about dealing with any caffeine jitters.

Here we also took a look at how antioxidant-rich each supplement was. Although all green tea supplements are rich in antioxidants, some of them are better than others, meaning you will experience more benefits. So, if you want to burn more fat or just get all of the antioxidants you need in a single serving, go for the more potent selections.

Value

We all want to feel like we are getting what we want from our investment, which is why we need to make sure the green tea supplement we decide to get brings value to our daily life.

The value is not just about how much the green tea supplement costs in terms of pricey, but rather what it has to offer in comparison to what you will be purchasing. And, although you need to make sure you are getting something that fits your budget, it is important to remember that more expensive does not mean it is better.

In fact, value also refers to the product costs per serving. We’ve taken into account whether or not a serving includes multiple pill/scoops of the product, which may explain why our metric looks slightly different than the one on the bottle. This is a good way to find the best deal and get the most bang for your buck from the get-go.

At the end of the day, the most important thing is that you are able to able to afford your supplement long term and still feel like you are getting what you need from the supplement. Take everything the supplement has to offer into consideration and compare it to your needs and what you can afford--and that's how to ensure you get something that brings value to your life.

Product Purity

Not all green tea supplements are the same and some are more organic than others, so make sure to take a close look at all of the ingredients listed.

This metric is meant to provide you with some idea of how much green tea is in the supplement, as well as its Epigallocatechin gallate (EGCg) content, and any polyphenols. While claims supporting the effectiveness of EGCg, and polyphenols in regards to weight and energy are scarce, customers claim that supplements with increased levels of these substances had a better success rate.

For our list of reviews, we made sure to take a close look at every ingredient listed on the product. Some of the products on our list are more organic than other options--so if you want something completely all-natural and organic take a look at the products that are USDA organic as well as where all the tea leaves are sourced.

At the end of the day, all of the green tea supplements on our list are safe to consume, so you won't have to worry about any unwanted chemicals or ingredients that could be harmful to your health. However, if you are a stickler about ingredients, there are some supplements on our list that may contain ingredients you won't want to consume.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Potency
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Poly what?

Green tea is full of Polyphenols, which can prevent swelling and inflammation, slows degeneration of joints and protects the cartilage between them.

Metabolism booster

Green tea stimulated lipid metabolism and provides endrance boosts, which can all positively affect your body composition.

Other Factors to Consider

Side Effects

As the title would suggest, this category looks at the adverse effects that taking it had on customers who bought it, including, but not limited to indigestion problems, cases of the jitters, nausea, inability to sleep and headaches. Since these are all common side effects of these kinds of supplements, the severity of the effects was what we paid attention to during evaluation.

Overall, we did not find any green tea supplements on our list that cause consistent side effects that would cause us to give our readers a serious warning. The only main thing that does run through all of these supplements is caffeine sensitivity. Some of the green tea supplements on our list have a lot more caffeine than others.

If you are someone who is sensitive to caffeine, you need to make sure you take a close look at how much caffeine is in the supplement to make sure it is something you can tolerate. Worst case scenario, if you can't handle any caffeine, you can just go for one of the decaffeinated green tea supplements.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are the side effects?

a:

As previously mentioned, before taking a supplement you ought to consult your physician, as it can have quite a few negative side effects if you suffer from certain conditions and/or take other medications. In fact, even if you don’t currently have a condition that warrants special consideration, green tea supplements can be rough on your system.

They may worsen the effects of anemia, bleeding, or anxiety disorders, and have been linked to an increase in irregular heartbeats, most likely due to the caffeine. On the topic of caffeine, it has been linked to weakened bones, and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

q: Who should not take green tea supplements?

a:

Consult your doctor prior to taking a supplement. That being said, most people are going to be ok, including pregnant women to a certain extent. However, it is not recommended that you take green tea if you’re breastfeeding. Also, it has not been extensively studied in children as of yet, so kids should avoid a green tea supplement unless specified by a doctor.

If you have a heart condition, kidney or liver problems, ulcers, or psychological conditions it's not recommended you take these supplements. If you're taking an amphetamine, or ephedrine based medication DO NOT take a green tea supplement as the combination will speed up your heart rate, and nervous system. and result in extreme jitters or extreme changes to your blood pressure, and cardiac health.

Green tea supplements have also been shown to have negative interactions with a variety of medications such as benzos, beta blockers, blood thinners, lithium, and it may also decrease the effectiveness of treatments during chemotherapy. If you’re taking any kind of medication it’s worth giving your doctor’s office a call to make sure there are no interactions.

q: Any reasons not to take a green tea supplement?

a:

Besides having an obvious health-related issue, there are a few things you want to consider. If your main goal is to lose weight, then this might not be the supplement for you. The best green tea supplements promote energy and appetite suppression but there's little evidence to support showing that it effectively increases the body’s ability to burn fat.

Also, the concept of legitimacy is one that has to be discussed. While all the supplements we rated are from well-regarded companies, not all supplements are perfectly regulated. If the fact that the supplement industry isn’t regulated is a concern, you may want to avoid green tea supplements (and supplements altogether) as anything over 500 mg can be potentially harmful.

Sources

  1. Editorial Staff, Amazing Green Tea, informational website
  2. Editorial Staff, WebMD, Medical Information Website