to top 10 table

Best Ryka Running Shoes Rated

last updated Jul 25, 2019
If you are on the hunt for the best Ryka running shoes, then you have come to the right place. Here you will find the best models currently available by the brand along with their Pros and Cons, and what to look for before making your purchase.

Rkya is a brand that focuses specifically on running, walking, and training shoes for women. The company has been around for more than 25 years and have quickly gained a reputation for themselves over the years and have proven they can be trusted.

If you need a pair of running shoes that are durable, comfortable, and cost-effective then you will love the 10 best Ryka running shoes featured on our list below. Take a look to find the perfect pair of running shoes for your needs.

We hope you enjoy our top picks!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Hydro Sport
95.4/100 our score
Comfort
97
Shock Absorption
96
Stability
96
Durability
95
Value
93
Hydro Sport
Why is it better?
    Extremely breathable and fast drying

  • Great if you strike mid-foot
  • Nice if you’re looking to transition into a more natural running strike
  • Particularly lightweight
  • Good comfort and cushioning
  • Good durability
In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Hydro Sport
Test Winner: Hydro Sport
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.1K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
14
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

This time around we have revamped all of our product reviews to streamline them and make them easier to sift through and compare. We have also added a lot of information throughout our entire page to ensure our readers get the information they need to choose the perfect pair of Ryka running shoe for their lifestyle.

Sorting Options
Comfort Shock Absorption Stability Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Comfort
97 %
Shock Absorption
96 %
Stability
96 %
Durability
95 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$46.96
Road Runner Sports Link
$69.95
See Deal
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Comfort
97 %
Shock Absorption
90 %
Stability
85 %
Durability
95 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$71.99
Road Runner Sports Link
$74.95
See Deal
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Comfort
90 %
Shock Absorption
93 %
Stability
80 %
Durability
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Comfort
92 %
Shock Absorption
94 %
Stability
94 %
Durability
75 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Comfort
90 %
Shock Absorption
90 %
Stability
70 %
Durability
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Comfort
94 %
Shock Absorption
95 %
Stability
80 %
Durability
80 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$42.99
Road Runner Sports Link
$59.95
See Deal
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Comfort
90 %
Shock Absorption
90 %
Stability
75 %
Durability
90 %
Value
69 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$50.25
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Comfort
88 %
Shock Absorption
89 %
Stability
75 %
Durability
79 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$64.99
Road Runner Sports Link
$79.95
See Deal
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Comfort
90 %
Shock Absorption
70 %
Stability
85 %
Durability
60 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Comfort
92 %
Shock Absorption
93 %
Stability
80 %
Durability
55 %
Value
55 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link

10 Best Ryka Running Shoes

1. Hydro Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Hydro Sport
Amazon Link
Comfort
97
Shock Absorption
96
Stability
96
Durability
95
Value
93
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$46.96
Road Runner Sports Link
$69.95
See Deal
Pros:
    Extremely breathable and fast drying

  • Great if you strike mid-foot
  • Nice if you’re looking to transition into a more natural running strike
  • Particularly lightweight
  • Good comfort and cushioning
  • Good durability
Cons:
  • Not suitable if you have narrow feet
  • Sizes sometimes run a little small

These well-reviewed shoes earned the #1 spot on our list for many reasons, not the least of which is a very small heel-to-toe drop so they are a good buy if you strike mid-foot. They are very flexible and provide decent comfort and protection, with a removable footbed for extra cushioning.

Read more

Comfort

The comfort and cushion on these is nice. The footbed is a little wide for some people, so they might not be suitable if you have a narrow foot. It’s also worth noting that these can sometimes run a little small.

Shock Absorption

These Ryka running shoes offer a good deal of shock absorption and will ensure that you stay comfortable throughout your runs. If you are tired of dealing with shin splints and other symptoms related to poor shock absorption, then you might find the cushioning and support in these shoes will fix that for you.

Stability

These are very lightweight, and the design helps you to transition into a more natural running style, which promotes more comfort and productivity over time. If you’re really serious about improving your runs, these might be the model to consider.

Durability

The durability here is great, and they are another top-quality offering from Ryka. In terms of how they encourage you to run, they are a very good piece of technology for the price point.

Value

An average Ryka price. These are lightweight and minimal and promote a natural running pattern. And the best part is they're designed to be extremely breathable and fast-drying, making them the perfect shoe for Tough Mudder races.

2. Devotion Plus 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Devotion Plus 2
Amazon Link
Comfort
97
Shock Absorption
90
Stability
85
Durability
95
Value
93
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$71.99
Road Runner Sports Link
$74.95
See Deal
Pros:

Flexible

Ortholite insoles

8 piece skeletal construction

Nice and light

Cons:

Not a shoe for challenging trail running

The Ryka Devotion Plus 2 running shoes are one of the brand's most popular selections. They are comfortable, breathable, and an excellent option for those of you who want a well-cushioned shoe specifically made for you, as a woman.

Read more

Comfort

These running shoes, by Ryka are really breathable and comfortable. They are made of 100% fabric that will ensure you get the ventilation you need to keep your feet cool and dry. The lacing system is designed to provide you with a secure fit and the footbed is removable so you can choose your comfort levels. The padded tongue and collar will also prevent any chafing or blisters and boost your comfort levels.

Shock Absorption

If you want shock-absorption, you got it with the Re-Zorb cushioning technology that these shoes have to offer. This tech combined with the shoe’s cobblestone pods will ensure that your feet have the additional cushioning you need to prevent the issues associated with poor shock absorptions.

Stability

To provide runners with more stability, these shoes feature a narrow heel cup to stabilize your heel. Although the toe box is roomy, they will also keep your feet securely in place so they don’t rub or chafe against the inside of the shoe. The footbed, which is removable, also features a secure fit to help prevent your ankles or foot from rolling when you run.

Durability

As far as durability goes, these running shoes feature the brand’s eight-piece rubber skeletal outsole and their breathable upper is made of durable mesh. The combination of these two features ensures that the running shoes are built to last as long as you keep them on the terrain they are designed for.

Value

When we evaluated the overall value of these shoes we found that aside from being cost-effective, these shoes are worth much more than your initial investment. They are comfortable, breathable, and stylish—what’s not to love.

3. Dynamic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Dynamic
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Shock Absorption
93
Stability
80
Durability
95
Value
95
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:
  • Breathable
  • Versatile
  • Several color options
  • Durable
  • Sock liner
  • Good cushioning
Cons:
  • Heavy 

If you need a pair of versatile running shoes that you can use for all your different workouts--including running--then you will love this Ryka model. Not only do they offer the support and stability needed to ensure you can do all of these workouts but they are also pretty durable as well!

Read more

Comfort

This shoe offers mid and forefoot support as well as a lacing system that allows you to receive a more custom fit.

Shock Absorption

It also features the re-zorb sock liner and adequate underfoot cushioning,

Stability

As far as stability, these running shoes are a good fit for those of you with a neutral foot type. They are good for running, cross-training, and other workouts.

Durability

These are pretty durable and their Exo-shell can withstand abrasion and hits from outdoor elements.

Value

These come at an average price for the brand and come in several color options.

4. Encore

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Encore
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Shock Absorption
94
Stability
94
Durability
75
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:
  • Nice comfortable padded design
  • Wide toe box
  • Shock absorption is good and keeps you stable
  • Nice aesthetic design
Cons:
  • Not much padding on the ball of the foot
  • The stitching can come loose on occasion
  • If you have slim feet, the toe box may be a little wide

These are a good lightweight option with nice breathability. They come with a removable Ortholite footbed and provide traction and shock absorption. They have a padded tongue and padded collar and offer a secure and reliable fit. There are three different color and pattern designs to choose from.

Read more

Comfort

Lots of users are really happy with the comfort of these, and the wide toe box, in particular, is a nice addition. If you have wide toes, these are definitely for you. They are lightweight and keep you light on your feet.

Shock Absorption

The main flaw with these is that they don’t seem to provide much cushion or support in the ball of the foot.

Stability

The shock absorption in these provides a nice amount of bounce and balance to keep you feeling stable.

Durability

People really like the design on these, which is a quality touch. They look good without sacrificing practicality. A couple of users have reported that the stitching can come a little loose on these, but that seems to be a very rare occurrence.

Value

Again, these run at a pretty average price for Ryka.

5. Fanatic Plus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Fanatic Plus
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Shock Absorption
90
Stability
70
Durability
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:
  • A good all-rounder
  • Plush feel and breathable design
  • Good at reducing impact
  • Great if you have narrow feet or heels
  • Top quality with good durability
Cons:
  • These are not a good option if you have wide feet

These are a very good all-round running shoe, and will work well for anyone without particular needs. They have mesh uppers, a plush tongue and collar as well as breathable fabric. The underfoot is cushioned and the rubber outsole reduces impact and chances of injury.

Read more

Comfort

These are very comfortable and provide a snug, breathable fit.

Shock Absorption

They offer particularly good support for those with narrow feet and narrow heels, and the bounce and cushion goes a long way in preventing any troublesome impact-related pain.

Stability

If you have wide feet, these might not be for you. The insole is removable.

Durability

These have no durability issues and are of great quality. They look good, and many users like the design.

Value

These are slightly more expensive than some other Ryka offerings, but they're still a great bargain buy.

6. Ultimate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Ultimate
Amazon Link
Comfort
94
Shock Absorption
95
Stability
80
Durability
80
Value
75
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$42.99
Road Runner Sports Link
$59.95
See Deal
Pros:
  • Excellent cushioning, bounce, and shock-absorption
  • Soft and comfortable
  • Great if you like arch support, ankle support and sole protection
  • Very good technology for improving your running
Cons:
  • Sizes run a little small on occasion, and can be narrow
  • Slight durability issues, though this is not too common

These are another good option if you’re looking for something trusty and versatile – they’re not called ‘ultimate’ for nothing! They are breathable, soft, responsive and comfortable, and their technology gives very good shock absorption and cushioning. These also offer good traction and the midfoot support is great.

Read more

Comfort

The sizes seem to run a little small and narrow, so you might want to size up if you’re looking for real comfort or if you have wide feet.

Shock Absorption

The ankle is pretty well-supported and they are a nice buy if you run heavily with a hard strike. For good cushion and bounce, these are an excellent option.

Stability

The cushion and support here are both very good, and they’re particularly effective if you have flat feet or if you like extra arch support.

Durability

A small number of users have experienced slight wear with these, but this doesn’t seem to be a common complaint. The technology on offer with these shoes is top-notch, particularly for the price, so they’re a good quality affair.

Value

These are an average price for a Ryka shoe.

7. Intent XT 2 SR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Intent XT 2 SR
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Shock Absorption
90
Stability
75
Durability
90
Value
69
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$50.25
Pros:
  • Great for trail running
  • Good for all conditions and won’t stain
  • Excellent for those who like arch support and pronation support
  • Great stability and bounce
  • Good traction
  • Good quality and durability
Cons:
  • If you don’t like stiffness and aren’t accustomed to high arches, you might not like these
  • A little pricey by Ryka standards

These are a great trail running shoe and come in two color options. The design allows for great traction and durability with added support. They are water-resistant and stain-resistant and are great in pretty much all trail conditions.

Read more

Comfort

If you’re not accustomed to a stiffer fit with high arches, you may find these uncomfortable.

Shock Absorption

The big plus here is the fantastic traction, which is provided by slip-resistant rubber bottoms along with the dynamic shape of the sole. Many users have commented on the great grip, so if traction is your priority, then these are a top buy.

Stability

They also work well for those who tend to overpronate. The support and stability are great.

Durability

The quality here ensures a well-supported run that will last for a while. There are no reported durability issues with these.

Value

These are one of the priciest on this list, but as a good trail running shoe and they're well worth the price.

8. Influence

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Influence
Amazon Link
Comfort
88
Shock Absorption
89
Stability
75
Durability
79
Value
70
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$64.99
Road Runner Sports Link
$79.95
See Deal
Pros:
  • Versatile
  • Several color options
  • Responsive
  • Padded tongue and color
Cons:
  • Narrow fit

Here we have another versatile pair of running shoes that you can use in both your cross-training workouts and for your runs. If you want a pair of shoes you can use for everything without sacrificing comfort or durability, then these are a great pair of shoes to consider getting.

Read more

Comfort

These running shoes are comfortable enough for runners with neutral arches. They are pretty versatile and their comfort levels is about the same all-around.

Shock Absorption

This shoe provides good bounce back and is highly responsive.

Stability

It has a padded tongue and collar along with additional support and stability.

Durability

These are pretty durable, but not meant for tough terrain.

Value

These are a little higher in price in comparison to other shoes from this brand.

9. Kora

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Kora
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Shock Absorption
70
Stability
85
Durability
60
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:
  • Good traction
  • Breathable
  • Provides stability and support
  • Great option for beginners
Cons:
  • Not durable outdoors

The Kora running shoe is an excellent option for beginner runners who like to run on treadmills and aren't looking to log miles in the great outdoors.

Read more

Comfort

They have light cushioning which is perfect for those of you who like to feel the ground when you run.

Shock Absorption

When it comes to the amount of shock absorption offered by these running shoes, you will find that they offer just enough for those of you starting out or who go on short light runs.

Stability

These shoes are a bit heavy but provide the stability beginners need.

Durability

While these aren't the most durable for running out of doors, they will last you on the treadmill.

Value

These are around an average price for a Ryka shoe.

10. Indigo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Indigo
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Shock Absorption
93
Stability
80
Durability
55
Value
55
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:
  • Great cushioning in the midsole
  • Very lightweight
  • Decent comfort and stability
  • Good for those with high arches and a high instep
  • Nice snug fit
Cons:
  • Quite pricey
  • Poor durability
  • Sometimes fit a little small

These have a very cushioned midsole and are particularly padded. The design of the shoe reduces impact and there is a good amount of traction in the outer sole. Good stability is on offer here without adding too much excess weight.

Read more

Comfort

They are very lightweight without sacrificing support and they offer a snug fit. They are on occasion a little too small, so you might want to buy a size up.

Shock Absorption

The inside of these shoes feels very soft and supportive, and they’re great for arch support and if you have a high instep.

Stability

Good stability is on offer here without adding too much excess weight.

Durability

These have fairly poor durability – many users have found that the rubber in the sole can wear away after a short time. Other than that, they are a good shoe of good quality.

Value

These are another pricey option.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

First and foremost, you need to feel comfortable in your running shoes--no matter what type of runner you are.

Nobody wants or likes uncomfortable running shoes, and we're sure you're no exception. In fact, if you're a runner your shoes HAVE to be comfortable, or several things will happen. First of all, you simply won't want to run in them, so you probably won't and your training will suffer.

Secondly, running in uncomfortable shoes can cause blisters and other injuries over time. So yeah, just please don't run in uncomfortable shoes ok? In order to determine the most comfortable Ryka running shoes, we looked at several factors, such as materials, design, and features, as well as considering over 1100 reviews from real-world users to see what they had to say about the products.

Before you buy a new pair of shoes, be sure to look at them and ask yourself several questions. When it comes to the upper comfort, what features are designed into the collar and tongue and how effective is the padding? Does the foot-bed contribute towards comfort, stability, and a good bounce return?  Can any of the shoe models serve runners that overpronate?

In the end, we assigned each shoe a comfort score in its review, so be sure to check those out while you're reading this buying guide so that you can find a pair that's sure to work for you. And, remember, at the end of the day your own personal preferences are what is most important so make sure to keep them at the forefront.

Shock Absorption

No one likes shin splints, good shock absorption will prevent them!

We were interested in the level of shock absorption technology designed into the shoe and how it works, as this is a key feature to look at when selecting a running shoe. Especially if you regularly run long distances, the level of shock absorption your shoes have goes a long way towards keeping you pain and injury-free as you train.

Some of the things we looked at in terms of shock absorption with each pair of Ryka running shoes was how good the combination of cushioning was with return bounce, and do any of the shoes have features for runners with flat feet? How good are the shoes for a runner with a hard strike, and when support is designed in for the ankle, what type of support and how effective is it?

All in all, you need to make sure you understand your foot type and your personal shock-absorption needs. Not all of us have the same feet and we definitely do not all run the same--if we did, then there wouldn't be ten different Ryka running shoes tho choose from on our list! Make sure to take your own needs into consideration if you want to make sure you find the model that works best for you.

Stability

Regardless of your foot type, you need to make sure you get the right amount of stability for you.

Ryka running shoes are unique because they are specifically designed for women. They also offer several different types of shoes that are made to fit specific needs and activities. When looking at shoes, we factored in exactly what the shoe has to offer when it comes to running.

We wanted to know if the shoes allow a runner to comfortably transition into a natural running style. We also looked for footbed cushioning and whether or not the shoes provide adequate foot support. Two more important features were whether or not there was any foot arch or lower leg support and how well the shoe would accommodate narrow and/or broad feet?

Do the shoes offer a snug FIT without any restrictive qualities which can negatively be felt during your runs? For those with a high instep, how good is the arch support? What are the neutral qualities in the shoe, the breathable qualities, and the weight? We were interested in the level of shock absorption technology designed into the shoe and how it works.

We looked closely at the shoe's built-in traction features because we wanted to know how effective their traction tech works and how durable the traction features are. While doing so, we noted the positive effects of the inclusion of slip-resistant soles designed into the shoes. While a sole may look impressive, it doesn't mean it is up for the task.

Grip factor and whether or not shoes featured lugs were also taken into consideration when evaluating the realistic performance of the shoe. Lastly, we also took into account whether or not the model we were looking at was compatible with any additional inserts, insoles, orthotics that could be used to add additional stability to your shoes if you need it.

Durability

We all want a pair of running shoes that lasts, take a look at how they hold up over time to see if the running shoes will work for you.

In terms of wear, how durable are the materials used in the sole and overall construction of the shoe? The lacing system is always of interest and we looked to ascertain if the shoe designers had given thought to lace systems which contribute towards a snug, comfortable, and a stabilizing secure FIT?

Another important feature is the soles of the shoe. Are they solid and constructed from high-performing durable rubber?  Does the sole tech have a combination of flexibility and firmness? Where is stitching included and is the stitch work professional and firm? Are the seams likely to rub and cause skin friction?

We looked closely at the shoe's built-in traction features because we wanted to know how effective their traction tech works and how durable the traction features are. While doing so, we noted the positive effects of the inclusion of slip-resistant soles designed into the shoes.

We looked at the features used in the construction of the different shoe models to see if they were constructed from materials that give flexibility but retain a good level of durability? To get a good gauge at the overall durability of each shoe we also extensively researched reviews from real-world users to learn more about how each model held up when put to the test.

Value

Everyone is on a budget--make sure to be honest with yourself about how much you can spend before you make your purchase.

We noted that prices were set reasonably and that each shoe model offered a wide variety of useful features. Mesh upper features are always an added bonus when shopping for affordable options. When looking at shoes, we wanted to know if their mesh upper contributed towards the shoe's overall secure FIT, its ability to provide against the entry of water, and whether or not it was able to wick away moisture.

Overall, you need to make sure you are investing in a pair of running shoes that will work for you and your needs--no matter how much you are willing to spend. That being said, we know a lot of our readers are on a strict budget and we wanted to make sure to provide even those with the strictest budgets with models they could afford as well.

Our list contains a well-rounded list of products that we feel are all worth their cost and bring a lot of value to our readers, should you decide to go ahead and get a pair from our list. In order to get a pair of shoes that truly brings you the value that you are looking for, you need to make sure you take your own personal needs and preferences as a priority over everything else.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Shock Absorption
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Style! Style! Style!

Although the style is not the most important factor to look out for, we know it is still important for a lot of readers. Ryka offers a lot of colors to choose from, so you can definitely get a stylish and effective pair of shoes with these.

Make sure your running shoes fit properly

If you can't make it to the store and try on the shoes before you buy them, make sure you check out the sizing chart and check out user reviews to figure out how they actually fit. If you get the wrong size you will end up right where you started--so make sure to take the time to get the size right from the beginning.

Other Factors to Consider

Protection

Don't overdo your training and listen to your body. Above all, it's important that you enjoy your runs and that you remain fit, healthy, and physically able to continue running. Build up your stamina gradually and watch yourself improve over time. Listen to your body. This is the most important advice we can give you; if you have any pain, no matter how small, make sure to take note of it and address the issue.

Reflective Features

Reflective clothing or features are another important safety feature we should all be on the lookout for. While you may be able to see an approaching vehicle, it isn't always likely that they will be able to see you. Running shirts, shorts, pants, and other running gear often have reflective features designed into them--to keep you safe and visible, especially at night.

Foot type and Arch Support

Before you narrow down your final choice, make sure you are getting a pair of shoes that will fit your foot type and support needs. The last thing you want is to end up with a pair of shoes that offer too much cushioning or too little cushioning--either one can be detrimental so keep that in mind to make sure you will receive the protection that you need.

What terrain will you be running on?

If you are a seasoned runner, then you understand that different types of terrain require different levels of protection, support, and stability. If you are a trail runner you will need to get a trail running shoe that offers features like a rock plate, water-resistant capabilities, a reinforced toe box, a good drainage system, and other trail-specific features that you will need to run on the trails and technical terrain.

On the other hand, if you are a road runner you will need to stick with road-specific running shoes that provide you with the protection you need to hit the road. These shoes are typically more lightweight than others--even if you need a bulkier model that is heavier because of its additional support and stability features.

Use

It is important to get a pair of shoes that will match the use you expect from them. Most importantly, you need to ensure that your running shoes are durable enough for the terrain you will run on, comfortable enough for the distances you like to run, and breathable enough for the climate you are in--especially during the summer.

How far do you run?

Running is an ideal exercise for those of you looking to improve your overall health and fitness levels. If you are just starting out, short runs are ideal and you can begin gradually build up your distances as you become more comfortable and are able to maintain a comfortable pace. A comfortable pace is different for everyone and the most important thing is that you enjoy each of your runs.

As your stamina increases, you will naturally be able to set more challenging distances--just remember that comfort and enjoyment are the most important factors when it comes to long-term running.

Water-resistance, Waterproofing, and drainage system

If you like to hit the trails, technical terrain, or run in the rain, you will also need to make sure your shoes offer some sort of water-resistance and drainage system. The last thing you want is to get stuck with soggy running shoes that will weigh you down and make you cut your run short.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Will Ryka running shoes help me build my stamina overtime?

a:

In order to become a better runner, you need to build up your stamina and the only way to do that is to train in the right running shoes. If you want to reach your goals, a pair of Ryka running shoes will help you reach your goals but you need to make sure to get the model that works best for your foot type.

q: I get cramps and shin splints when I try to run farther, is there a pair of Ryka running shoes that will help me prevent these symptoms?

a:

The fact that the cramps have started when you chose to increase your distance is a result of pushing your muscle endurance. On the other hand, you may need to ensure you are replenishing your electrolytes and taking the supplements you need. Here are two reviews that will help you put you right on track--preventing cramps and building up stamina.

q: I just took up running. I'm having major problems with foot blisters, any advice?

a:

 My first thought is that you're new to running and certain areas of skin on your feet need to harden but I think the problem could bigger. Blisters will at times happen, no matter how long you have been running.  When first taking up running the first thing to do is select a shoe and socks which offer comfort, nice stability and do not have features which can rub and cause irritation resulting in blisters. Preventing blisters through choosing the right quality running shoe will serve to greatly reduce your problem.

q: Are Ryka running shoes compatible with any additional insoles or inserts?

a:

Although our list of the best Ryka running shoes does contain some models that offer additional room or compatibility with any insoles, inserts, or orthotics you may need it is important that you take a look beforehand if this a must-have for you because not all Ryka running shoes will have the ability to work with additional accessories.

Sources

  1. Meg Milstead, Ryka: The brand made just for women, Running Website
  2. Editorial Team , Ryka Kora - Women’s, Running Website