to top 10 table

10 Best Vegan Running Shoes Reviewed and Tested

last updated Mar 19, 2019
In a perfect world, humans would live without disrupting the animal kingdom—however, since that’s not the case, investing in one of the best vegan running shoes is one of the many things you can do if you want to live a more environmentally conscious lifestyle.

As one of the many species sharing this planet, there is so much we can do to preserve the well-being of other living beings on this planet. The best vegan running shoes on our list have absolutely no animal byproducts, so you can run indoors or outdoors completely guilt-free!

The best vegan running shoes also provide you with lots of great features and benefits—so you don’t have to worry about sacrificing anything if you choose to get one of these shoes instead.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 13 hrs of research

icon
Brooks Beast 18
98.7/100 our score
Comfort
99
Durability
99
Value
98
Brooks Beast 18
Why is it better?

Good upper breathability

Interior saddle design locks feet in place

Adaptable support provided by Brooks' DNA cushioning

An ideal choice for heavier runners

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Brooks Beast 18
Test Winner: Brooks Beast 18
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1620
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
14
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

To keep things current here, we have added 4 new additions to our list below—the On Cloud X running shoes, the ASICS Dynaflyte 3 running shoes, the Nike Lunar Skyelux running shoes, and the Merrell Trail Glove 4 running shoes. These vegan running shoes are some of the best to choose from and can be found on Amazon as well as from many other retailers. Make sure to take a look at our FAQ section if you have any questions!

Sorting Options
Comfort Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Comfort
99%
Durability
99%
Value
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$160.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Comfort
97%
Durability
98%
Value
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$149.00
$174.95
See Deal
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Comfort
97%
Durability
97%
Value
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$102.39
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
Comfort
97%
Durability
96%
Value
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$132.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Comfort
97%
Durability
96%
Value
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$129.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Comfort
96%
Durability
96%
Value
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$82.47
See Deal
$130.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Comfort
95%
Durability
95%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$107.61
$159.95
See Deal
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Comfort
95%
Durability
94%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$94.95
$119.95
See Deal
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Comfort
99%
Durability
94%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$149.95
See Deal
$150.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Comfort
95%
Durability
94%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.04.19)
$99.00
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Brooks Beast 18
  • Newton Running Gravity VII
  • Mizuno Wave Rider 21
  • On Cloud X
  • ASICS Dynaflyte 3
  • Inov-8 Trailroc 245
  • ASICS GEL-Kayano 24
  • Saucony Guide 10
  • Brooks Glycerin 16
  • Merrell Trail Glove 4
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Our Favorite Vegan Running Shoes

1. Brooks Beast 18

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Brooks Beast 18
Comfort
99
Durability
99
Value
98
best offer for today
$160.00
Pros:

Good upper breathability

Interior saddle design locks feet in place

Adaptable support provided by Brooks' DNA cushioning

An ideal choice for heavier runners

Cons:

A bit expensive

The #1 spot on our list goes to Brooks' Beast 18. This time the Beast tops the stack as the best rated vegan running shoe model. They certainly "unleash the fury of the beast" with this one, but in a more environmental and animal-friendly way. With benefits such as breathable upper construction, Secure fit, stability, and exceptional cushioning, Its top status seems to be well deserved. Check out below for our full review of the Beast 14.

Read more

Comfort
The cushioning in this model is surprisingly comfortable. There seems to be a nearly perfect balance between comfort and responsiveness, which makes these very popular for many different specific reasons. These are even an excellent choice for those who need a bit more motion control. The breathability offered by the mesh upper material is really quite impressive. Additionally, these have features such as Brooks' BioMoGo midsole with full length DNA cushioning for even more support.

Durability
The upper is well made. The mesh material is reinforced with both stitched and non-stitched overlays for added support as well as increased durability. Other than a few reviews which suggest some issues with the midsole after repeated heavy use, there really aren't any major reports of quality concerns. These are intended for road use, so taking them on a rougher trail or similar type of terrain probably isn't a great way to make them last as long as they could.

Price
Although not the most expensive running shoe in the world, they aren't exactly the cheapest either. Depending on where you look, there are usually some good deals on sites like Amazon. It does seem that, though they are a bit pricey, they are probably worth the cost when you weigh in the benefits.

2. Newton Running Gravity VII

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Newton Running Gravity VII
Comfort
97
Durability
98
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
$149.00
$174.95
See Deal
Pros:

5 lug design under forefoot promotes a more efficient stride

Forefoot Flex Zone offers a more custom fit for the toes

Breathable upper materials

Vegan materials used in the shoe's construction

Cons:

The innovative lugs aren't for everyone

Many recognize this one by the unique lugs under the forefoot which are designed to aid in forward propulsion and an effective gait. These also offer a great percentage of good cushioning in a seemingly lower profile build. The innovative 5 lug design, breathable upper, supportive and responsive sole all work together to provide a unique runner that help to enhance the efficiency of the wearer, all while using materials that are friendly to the animal kingdom.

Read more

Comfort
These incorporate Newton's Action/Reaction Technology. This basically offers a trampoline-like effect to help reduce energy loss during a run. Their Technology provides more rigid and isolated lug for even more improved efficiency. As far as stability goes, these are equipped with a Biomechanical Metatarsal Sensor Plate. This gives specific key areas in the foot necessary added support. Additionally, you'll find good energy return from the High-rebound EVA foam sole.

Durability
For added durability they have incorporated s.h.a.r.c in the build of the outsole. This is a super high abrasion rubber compound that is intended to protect against quick wear from the road. Although some people are hesitant to try new things like a shoe with lugs protruding from the bottom, those who have tried them say things like "I'll never buy a different brand." We haven't been able to find much critical feedback on the Gravity IV. Really the previous versions haven't suffered much criticism either.

Price
These have a slightly higher price tag than some other average running shoes. In the range of $100 to nearly $200, the Running Gravity VII seem to be worth the price. We have not found any negative reviews concerning the price tag.

3. Mizuno Wave Rider 21

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Mizuno Wave Rider 21
Comfort
97
Durability
97
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
$102.39
Pros:

Wave technology under the heel provides energy returning impact resistance

Extremely breathable

Flexible and lightweight

Cons:

The sizing runs a bit narrow

Aside from Wave technology, The Mizuno Wave Rider is a vegan running shoe that has quite a few features to offer runners who like to put some distance under their feet. With some pretty positive ratings from users, let's take a closer look at what these are all about.

Read more

Comfort
Want breathability? The Mizuno Intercool technology offers exceptional ventilation throughout the length of the shoe. Additionally, the designed fit of the shoe's upper provides a secure, but stress relieving natural fit. Of course we couldn't fail to mention Mizuno's Wave technology which provides extra cushioning, equal to energy returning, shock absorbent bounce back.

Durability
There is a more durable high abrasion compound covering the high wear areas of the outsole. Really, there aren't many critical reviews of the quality or durability of this model. They seem to hold up well to quite a few miles .

Price
You're bound to find a great deal on these if you shop Amazon. Ranging between $60 and $155, you can get a high-quality vegan shoe in a variety of colors for a great price.

4. On Cloud X

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
On Cloud X
Comfort
97
Durability
96
Value
97
best offer for today
$132.99
Pros:

Well-cushioned

Really lightweight

Versatile

Breathable

Wide toebox

Cons:

Expensive

Not the best option for long-distance runners

The On Cloud X running shoes are a well-cushioned pair of vegan running shoes. They have a sleek and modern design--and are also available in several color options. Its lightweight, breathable, and perfect for almost all runners and athletes alike.

Read more

Comfort
These running shoes are incredibly lightweight even though they are also well-cushioned. If you have a need for speed, then these are an excellent option for you as well. Their breathable mesh upper makes them flexible and breathable while their pod design and midsole cushioning guarantees you get optimal comfort. They use zero gravity foam to ensure they remain lightweight and their padded heel color prevents unwanted chafing and blisters.

Durability
These shoes are pretty durable, although they aren't the most durable pair of shoes. Their thicker outsole makes them more water resistant and they can handle most types of workouts--although they aren't designed to be used in all terrains (no shoe is).

Price
These shoes are really expensive, especially when compared to more competitive athletic brands, However, if you want a versatile pair of shoes that will look sleek, stylish, and that comes in lots of color options then you will find they are a great investment.

5. ASICS Dynaflyte 3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
ASICS Dynaflyte 3
Comfort
97
Durability
96
Value
96
best offer for today
$129.95
Pros:

Lightweight

Well-cushioned

Breathable

Moisture-wicking

Lots of support

Several colors to choose from

Cons:

Expensive

Too cushioned for some users

If you want a pair of lightweight and comfortable vegan running shoes then these are another great pair of shoes to consider. Not only are they great for running, however, but they also look great and will have you looking stylish no matter what you wear.

Read more

Comfort
When it comes to comfort, these shoes come highly rated and reviewed by many real-life users. They featureFlyte foam lyte that makes these shoes bouncy, springy, and really comfortable. On top of that, their orthalite X-40 sockliner is not only moisture-wicking but also provides additional cushioning and comfort. Overall, these shoes are incredibly lightweight, breathable, and provide lots of support and stability during your runs.

Durability
These shoes are pretty durable, even though they may not look like it. They utilize ASIC's AHAR outsole, which allows it to withstand outdoor elements and continuous daily use. They are lightweight, but don't let that fool you because these shoes are built to last.

Price
While these shoes are definitely on the more expensive end of the cost-spectrum, they are also some of the brand's best shoes. They are lightweight, incredibly comfortable, and durable--and to top it off, they look great and come in lots of color options. If you have the budget for it, then these are definitely a great pair of shoes to consider.

6. Inov-8 Trailroc 245

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Inov-8  Trailroc 245
Comfort
96
Durability
96
Value
96
best offer for today
more shops
$130.00
$82.47
See Deal
Pros:

Very lightweight

Exceptional breathability

Decent traction over various types of terrain

Cons:

They run a bit narrow

Here is an offering from Inov-8, another manufacturer that produces really good vegan runners. Like the name suggests, Inov-8 does produce some innovative designs with features specific to the intended use of their particular models. The model that we have here is the Trailroc 245. This is a minimalistic trail running shoe that boasts some decent features to keep you going.

Read more

Comfort
The shoe's Natural Fit anatomical design gives the user a secure but natural and flexible fit, allowing better foot motion and control. Although a minimalist shoe, there is some cushioning and impact resistance provided by the Shoc-Zone midsole, which also offers a decent amount of bounceback.
You can have some added stability from the grip provided by the durable high traction outsole, which is ideal for the trail, but works okay on the road as well.

Durability
The durability of the Trailroc is enhanced by features such as upper overlays and abrasion resistant sections applied around midfoot and even more liberally over the toe, in the form of a protective cap. Although these are extremely lightweight with very mass, when it comes to material, they do hold up pretty well. There are some customer reviews that are critical of the shoe's longevity, but there really aren't any that give specific examples of conditions of use. So we will go with the majority of the reviews which are positive.

Price
The price tag on these are average for your typical high-quality running shoe. According to the number of positive reviews, they are well worth the cost. And of course don't forget the great deals you can find on the Amazon link above!

7. ASICS GEL-Kayano 24

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
ASICS GEL-Kayano 24
Comfort
95
Durability
95
Value
95
best offer for today
more shops
$107.61
$159.95
See Deal
Pros:

This shoes are quite stable making the user comfortable in everything they do

Best for people with over pronation and high arches

The sock liner has ortholite 40 that helps athletes with the overpronation  and high arches

Cons:

The toe box can be tight

Among the vegan shoes this one comes in our list as well, Asics brand are well known in sport gears which makes this a phenomenal choice for runners. The stability of this shoes is unquestioned as it works best for people who have overpronation and are long distance runners. Also have in mind when shopping for vegan shoes that this brand also deals with non-vegan shoes and they are labelled L to mean leather is used while making them.

Read more

Comfort
When designing these shoes, they put comfort in consideration, with its FluidFit upper. The midsoles have inserts made of silicone gel to enhance cushioning, plus other features like the sock liner with ortholite X40. It is great for athletes with over pronation and high aches.

Durability
The durability of this shoe is outstanding whether you have them on for casual outfit or daily runs. The lining makes the upper strong to improve the durability of the shoe. The outsole rubber is also hard to make it long lasting and stable.

Price
The price is fair considering what you get in the long run. At $50 to $180, the features are worth the price.

8. Saucony Guide 10

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Saucony Guide 10
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Value
95
best offer for today
more shops
$94.95
$119.95
See Deal
Pros:

Well ventilated uppers

Breathable

Good cost to value ratio

Lightweight with good stability

Good arch support system

Cons:

Upper mesh may wear fast if used on rough trails

Saucony is one of our best shoe brand as they always have the buyers’ interest at heart. This is another company that makes both vegan and non-vegan shoes, so if you shop off this list make sure you ask the right questions so your shoe choice is fully vegan. These are great for people who have average to mild pronation. The extra cushioning and thick heel sole makes them stand out as one of the best support enhanced vegan shoes in the market.

Read more

Comfort
When we put the comfort of this shoe to test it delivered quite an impressive result. Its EVA enabled midsole gave quite an impression of comfort and shock absorption when placed on the feet even after a long walk and run. This also means less injuries, with its light weight, good arch support, and increased breathability of the upper mesh.

Durability
The durability of the shoe is commendable especially if well taken care of. Of the 900+ reviews we researched, only a mere few complained of durability issues. These shoes were perhaps built for road or treadmill, instead of the rough terrain of trails. They may last longer on smoother surfaces.

Price
Saucony have great features in a shoe but all the same they have affordable prices. As always, you can find a great deal on Amazon where these shoes top off at $140. They are very affordable.

9. Brooks Glycerin 16

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Brooks Glycerin 16
Comfort
99
Durability
94
Value
91
best offer for today
more shops
$150.00
$149.95
See Deal
Pros:

Full-length Super DNA cushioning provides responsive comfort

More than adequate airflow through the upper

Energy returning properties

Cons:

Possible higher price

We should probably mention that Brooks is a company that produces, if not all, most of their products with vegan materials. And with features such as an adjustable saddle design that allows the shoe a better, more secure fit, and the full-length Super DNA midsole, these features are sure to give provision of benefit of a secure and comfortable run. Open the review below for more.

Read more

Comfort
The lightweight materials, secure fit, premium cushioning and energy returning properties make this model ideal for long distance or even competition runs. The full-length Super DNA and blown rubber sole work as a combined effort to archive outstanding comfort and stability to the user.

Durability
The upper is reinforced with overlays, which add additional support, but also help with the overall durability and form retention of the Glycerin 16. The only critical review that we have found regarding durability is one that suggests that the customer had an issue with the outsole. we don't know the conditions that the shoes were used under or for how long, so we really aren't too concerned when we only find one mention. In all the ratings from users are really good, putting this version of the Glycerin in the number two spot on our list.

Price
These could be a very inexpensive shoe or a rather pricey shoe depending on where you buy them. Your best chance for a great deal is on Amazon - just follow the link above!

10. Merrell Trail Glove 4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Merrell Trail Glove 4
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Value
94
best offer for today
$99.00
Pros:

Comfortable zero drop

Vibram outsole

Omni Fit Lace System

Breathability

Good traction

Good FIT

Cons:

Some runners suggest a need for more cushion underfoot

Merrel produces a good line of shoes for various types of running and is well known for being one of the few brands to put out shoes for vegan runners and are happy to put on labels to confirm this. This shoe can perform to high expectations and is comfortable, protective and gives good traction.

Read more

Comfort
The upper gives secure stable comfort with nice breathability performance, the upper has light reflective shoe tech and the Omni-Fit lace-up mechanism gives very secure FIT. The underfoot cushion is comfortable though some feedback suggests runners feel it could be more.

Durability
Durability is assured when good quality synthetics are used for constructing a shoe, therefore the shoe has an overall durability when the shoe is used in the right running context and the synthetic mesh is very durable. As this shoe is built to run trails durability has been factored into the construction. You feel comfort from the insole, the outsole gives nice reliable grip due to Vibram shoe tech

Price
Since the Merrell Trail Glove 4 running shoes are the newer version of this shoe's model, they are pretty pricey. However, they are more flexible and breathable than their predecessor--with additional durability this time around--so they are definitely worth the investment if they fit your budget. They are minimalistic, look great, and all around great trail running shoe.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

There are plenty of factors that contribute to the comfort you'll find in a running shoe, but with these vegan running shoes we focused on stability and fit.

If you are used to a more supportive running shoe, then you should select a vegan option that best reminds you of what you’re used to. Some runners make the mistake of going from a padded running shoe to a minimal barefoot runner to quickly and experience increased muscle fatigue, blisters, and even unnecessary injuries.

Stability is one of the qualities a shoe can have that will really make a difference when it comes to your personal comfort. Runners never know what they will come across when they head out of the door, so it was important to take traction into consideration when developing a “best of” list. Running shoes with aggressive patterns on the outsole will ensure that you can step with confidence and give allowance for you to follow through with your stride. Seasoned runners also look for well-spaced lugs that can make quick work out of small rocks and pebbles. Research demonstrates that vegan materials provide just as much grip and traction as non-vegan materials.

Choosing the right shoe size of the feet is one of the few things that are overlooked frequently by most people, especially by runners who are beginners. Typically, feet will swell throughout the day and after strenuous workouts. It’s a wise idea to get a size that is well fitting and sizing your foot whenever you are choosing your running shoe to get an accurate idea of your real size. Remember that these are running shoes that will see a lot of miles, and selecting the right size is crucial for comfort and support. Don’t assume that you’re the same size as your dress shoes.

Durability

There is a misconception among athletes that natural materials are somehow less durable than their industrially made counterparts. Nothing can be further from the truth.

When we took a look at the outsoles, midsoles, and uppers of these vegan running shoes and compared them to other shoes that we have reviewed, we found no difference whatsoever. Mother Nature is able to provide us with sustainable materials that stand up to the test of time and can take whatever you can throw at it. User feedback on vegan shoes demonstrated high marks in the durability department with just the same amount of mileage as a standard running shoe.

It is very important to keep in mind that while typical road running shoes are replaceable after every two hundred and fifty to six hundred and twenty miles, vegan running shoes are no different. Most runners agree that you should never go based on how much life the footwear “looks like” it has left. Furthermore, if you have a plan of running for back to back days strictly, you might need to have at least two pairs. Not only will this give allowance for your running shoes to get dried out from any moisture or sweet that has collected in them, but it will also let the midsole recover from the tougher impact that is common when running. If your shoes begin to loosen, rub, or feel uncomfortable due to wear and tear, then it is time to look at buying a replacement pair as soon as you are able to do so.

Value

It's up to you to decide whether the cost of the shoe is worth all of the value you'll be getting out of it.

Although cost isn't synonymous with quality, it is important to take into account how the price of a shoe affects its value. You can evaluate whether a shoe is worth the cost depending on your needs and your budget and comparing that to its cost. Most of the shoes on our list are in about the same price range, although there are a few that are more affordable than others.

Keep in mind that a lot of the more well-known athletic brands on our lists tend to be more expensive than other lesser known brands. If you are set on one of these brands, then you may have to settle on spending a little more. Also, keep in mind that sometimes shoes are more expensive because they offer additional features that offer beneficial benefits for some runners. Remember, however, that not everyone needs all of these extra features, and if you know that you don't then you will find no value in paying for additional features you won't need yourself.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Weight just a minute!!!

While you may associate lightweight materials with synthetic, man-made fabrics, the fact is that vegan, organic materials provide an excellent cushion while remaining lightweight and comfortable. If you need more support and stability features, however, you will find that your shoes might weigh a bit more. But, keep in mind that they are still lighter weight shoes to choose from even if you need a lightweight pair of shoes.

Keep the terrain in mind.

If your running outside stick to a selection with a strong outsole pattern. Stay away from the minimalist models with less grip. If most of your running will be on a treadmill or road, then consider lower profile running shoe what can give you the benefit of lightweight steps.

Other Factors to Consider

Terrain

It is important to consider what type of terrain you will be coming across on your run. If this is your case, then you might be more wishing to consider to stick to a selection with a strong outsole pattern. Stay away from the minimalist models with less grip. If most of your running will be on a treadmill or road, then consider lower profile running shoe what can give you the benefit of lightweight steps. As mentioned above, your terrain will affect what you need from your shoe so make sure you consider whether you are running on the flat or rugged ground most of the time.

It is important to note that if you know that you run on different types of terrain anyway then you do have shoes that will work for both. However, these shoes will not necessarily work for both terrains exceptionally well. They are just designed to be versatile for people who need it. If your budget allows, however, we recommend you purchase road running shoes and trail running shoes--that way you get the most out of each pair of shoes and can push yourself to the limit no matter what terrain you decide to run on any given day.

Protection

We also focused on having a keen research and look at the overall amount of protection the footwear is offering. Most runners and athletes have it in their fingerprints that it’s extremely important to be able to trust your footwear when you need it most. This gave us, the researchers, more inspiration to find out what the seasonal athletes or runners had in mind after the usage of their running shoes on high paced and intense runs. We chose the safest type of running shoes that provide whole-foot protection and tough and the upper of the shoe that is rugged for the most safety as possible for the athlete.

When you look at the right protection for yourself make sure to consider your needs here. If you know you will be hitting technical trails, then you will need a more durable and protective pair of shoes. However, if you find yourself typically running on the treadmill at your favorite gym or in your home, then you won't have to look for additional features like lugs or extra durable materials.

Bottom Line

The great news is that today’s environmentally conscious runners don’t have to choose between an animal-friendly shoe and style or performance. Major running shoe companies have stepped up and made the choice to care about Mother Nature without sacrificing looks or features. We listened to the opinions and suggestions of everyday runners about performance over long-term periods or wear.

We are aware that everyone likes to choose themselves the type of footwear they will wear– one that will be in line with their personal style– so we made sure to present products from a wide range of colors and styles. Research shows that if you are happy with how your footwear looks, you are more likely to exercise and put it to work. Form and function both are incredibly important and are key to determining which pair of running shoes are right for your unique lifestyle. It is also important to think about where you are running as sidewalks and roads will have different needs for support and durability than trail running will.

We know that when the environment is important to you, what your shoes are made from matters. We performed our due diligence and researched beyond manufacturer’s information when ensuring that the running shoes we selected were free of any animal products of any kind; careful to also look for animal by-products that can be found in the glues used in the manufacturing process. We are happy to report that all our selected footwear is 100% vegan.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know if a pair of shoes is made with vegan materials?
a:

There are actually companies who produce only vegan footwear. Some of the companies that are vegan only are Newton, Brooks, and Mizuno to name just a few. Keep in mind that it’s also important to make sure that they don’t test products on animals or use animal by-products on dyes or glue. There are many aspects of shoe construction, manufacturing, and testing that can impact our animal friends so we must be mindful of them all as we check.

q: Will vegan shoes hold up the same as those made with non-vegan materials?
a:

Sure they will. Most running shoes these days are mostly made up of durable and lightweight synthetic materials. The big difference is that some are made from vegan methods of material production. Vegan materials are just as resilient as their non-vegan counterparts and runners reported high marks on durability. They also are often easier to replace for many runners because there is no guilt associated with buying another pair of shoes that were made from the abuse or death of an innocent animal.

q: Do any companies claim to produce vegan products, but really aren’t truly vegan?
a:

We haven’t found any cases of that. However, there are some manufacturers that produce both vegan and non-vegan products. So, just because one pair of runners from a company is vegan, a different model may not be. When shopping, you’ll need to look for the product to state whether it is or isn’t. There are plenty of resources online, but you can even email a manufacturer inquiring about the matter. It’s important to make sure if there is any doubt. Our list contains verified 100% vegan options that use no animal products or by-products.

q: Are vegan running shoes more expensive than non-vegan models?
a:

We haven’t really seen any evidence of that. Typically the brands that offer the option are the ones who tend to produce the higher quality footwear. So, the prices seem to be right in line with there other similar products and the idea of getting what you pay for and investing in higher quality now to save money down the road still applies to vegan running shoes. One of the best things about vegan footwear and apparel is that is doesn’t cost a penny more and you can really make a big difference in a defenseless animal’s life. Peta recommends that vegans vote with their wallets because it is thanks to the demand from vegan options that shoes like these are now available to us!

Sources

  1. Matt Frazier, No Meat Athlete , Vegan Blog,
  2. Nikki D'Amico, Brooks Blog, Brooks Blog,