to top 10 table

10 Best Vegan Running Shoes Reviewed

last updated Sep 28, 2018
Are you trying to stay vegan, and want to make sure it carries over to what you wear, in addition to what you eat? There are many more brands available today that produce vegan-friendly products than you might be aware of.

In a perfect world, humans would live without disrupting the animal kingdom. A vegan lifestyle for all people would mean no more harvesting of animals for their dead flesh and cooked muscle; no more chickens packed tightly into cages, forced to lay chemical-filled eggs. Animals could live naturally and in peace. And man-kind could live without relying on the death of animals or the abuse of animas in order to live.

As just one of many species sharing this planet, we could do as much as we could to preserve the Earth’s well-being. As part of this effort, we can wear vegan clothing. This is where these top ten vegan running shoes come in. With absolute no animal byproducts, running can be a guilt-free activty and we can be free to enjoy the outdoors without harming our environment. With unbelievable features and benefits, you are destined to feel great as an athlete and as a humanitarian. Here are some of the best vgan running shoes you can find today.
Researched Sources
7
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
16k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
14
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Max Knapp:

We regularly update and today we have expands on the information provided to you concerning vegan running shoes, the process we used for our sleection, and an update to the specifics of the products listed. In our FAQS you will find expanded answers to the most common questions we recieve about our buying guide on vegan running shoes. 09/19/18 Here we bring you all the greatest information on the best vegan running shoes available on the market in a new and improved package. Our new look is meant to give you the most up-to-date data on our selection in a more readable and modern format.

Sorting Options
Comfort Durability Price By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Comfort
99%
Durability
99%
Price
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Comfort
99%
Durability
97%
Price
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$149.95
Best Deal
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Comfort
97%
Durability
98%
Price
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$174.95
Best Deal
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Comfort
97%
Durability
97%
Price
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
Comfort
97%
Durability
96%
Price
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$139.00
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Comfort
97%
Durability
96%
Price
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Comfort
96%
Durability
96%
Price
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$59.99
$149.95
Best Deal
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Comfort
96%
Durability
96%
Price
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$85.00
$149.95
Best Deal
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Comfort
95%
Durability
95%
Price
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Comfort
95%
Durability
94%
Price
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$119.95
Best Deal
11
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Comfort
95%
Durability
94%
Price
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.18)
$89.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Brooks Beast 18
  • Brooks Glycerin 16
  • Newton Running Gravity VII
  • Mizuno Wave Rider 21
  • Merrell Bare Access Ultra
  • ASICS GEL-Nimbus 20
  • Inov-8 Trailroc 245
  • Saucony Triumph ISO 2
  • ASICS GEL-Kayano 24
  • Saucony Guide 9
  • Merrell Trail Glove 3
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Best Vegan Running Shoes

1. Brooks Beast 18

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Brooks Beast 18
Comfort
99
Durability
99
Price
98
best offer for today
Pros:

Good upper breathability

Interior saddle design locks feet in place

Adaptable support provided by Brooks' DNA cushioning

An ideal choice for heavier runners

Cons:

A bit expensive

The #1 spot on our list goes to Brooks' Beast 18. This time the Beast tops the stack as the best rated vegan running shoe model. They certainly "unleash the fury of the beast" with this one, but in a more environmental and animal-friendly way. With benefits such as breathable upper construction, Secure fit, stability, and exceptional cushioning, Its top status seems to be well deserved. Check out below for our full review of the Beast 14.

Read more

Comfort
The cushioning in this model is surprisingly comfortable. There seems to be a nearly perfect balance between comfort and responsiveness, which makes these very popular for many different specific reasons. These are even an excellent choice for those who need a bit more motion control. The breathability offered by the mesh upper material is really quite impressive. Additionally, these have features such as Brooks' BioMoGo midsole with full length DNA cushioning for even more support.

Durability
The upper is well made. The mesh material is reinforced with both stitched and non-stitched overlays for added support as well as increased durability. Other than a few reviews which suggest some issues with the midsole after repeated heavy use, there really aren't any major reports of quality concerns. These are intended for road use, so taking them on a rougher trail or similar type of terrain probably isn't a great way to make them last as long as they could.

Price
Although not the most expensive running shoe in the world, they aren't exactly the cheapest either. Depending on where you look, there are usually some good deals on sites like Amazon. It does seem that, though they are a bit pricey, they are probably worth the cost when you weigh in the benefits.

2. Brooks Glycerin 16

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Brooks Glycerin 16
Comfort
99
Durability
97
Price
98
best offer for today
more shops
$149.95
Best deal
Pros:

Full-length Super DNA cushioning provides responsive comfort

More than adequate airflow through the upper

Energy returning properties

Cons:

Possible higher price

We should probably mention that Brooks is a company that produces, if not all, most of their products with vegan materials. And with features such as an adjustable saddle design that allows the shoe a better, more secure fit, and the full-length Super DNA midsole, these features are sure to give provision of benefit of a secure and comfortable run. Open the review below for more.

Read more

Comfort
The lightweight materials, secure fit, premium cushioning and energy returning properties make this model ideal for long distance or even competition runs. The full-length Super DNA and blown rubber sole work as a combined effort to archive outstanding comfort and stability to the user.

Durability
The upper is reinforced with overlays, which add additional support, but also help with the overall durability and form retention of the Glycerin 16. The only critical review that we have found regarding durability is one that suggests that the customer had an issue with the outsole. we don't know the conditions that the shoes were used under or for how long, so we really aren't too concerned when we only find one mention. In all the ratings from users are really good, putting this version of the Glycerin in the number two spot on our list.

Price
These could be a very inexpensive shoe or a rather pricey shoe depending on where you buy them. Your best chance for a great deal is on Amazon - just follow the link above!

3. Newton Running Gravity VII

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Newton Running Gravity VII
Comfort
97
Durability
98
Price
97
best offer for today
more shops
$174.95
Best deal
Pros:

5 lug design under forefoot promotes a more efficient stride

Forefoot Flex Zone offers a more custom fit for the toes

Breathable upper materials

Vegan materials used in the shoe's construction

Cons:

The innovative lugs aren't for everyone

Many recognize this one by the unique lugs under the forefoot which are designed to aid in forward propulsion and an effective gait. These also offer a great percentage of good cushioning in a seemingly lower profile build. The innovative 5 lug design, breathable upper, supportive and responsive sole all work together to provide a unique runner that help to enhance the efficiency of the wearer, all while using materials that are friendly to the animal kingdom.

Read more

Comfort
These incorporate Newton's Action/Reaction Technology. This basically offers a trampoline-like effect to help reduce energy loss during a run. Their Technology provides more rigid and isolated lug for even more improved efficiency. As far as stability goes, these are equipped with a Biomechanical Metatarsal Sensor Plate. This gives specific key areas in the foot necessary added support. Additionally, you'll find good energy return from the High-rebound EVA foam sole.

Durability
For added durability they have incorporated s.h.a.r.c in the build of the outsole. This is a super high abrasion rubber compound that is intended to protect against quick wear from the road. Although some people are hesitant to try new things like a shoe with lugs protruding from the bottom, those who have tried them say things like "I'll never buy a different brand." We haven't been able to find much critical feedback on the Gravity IV. Really the previous versions haven't suffered much criticism either.

Price
These have a slightly higher price tag than some other average running shoes. In the range of $100 to nearly $200, the Running Gravity VII seem to be worth the price. We have not found any negative reviews concerning the price tag.

4. Mizuno Wave Rider 21

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Mizuno Wave Rider 21
Comfort
97
Durability
97
Price
97
best offer for today
more shops
$119.99
Pros:

Wave technology under the heel provides energy returning impact resistance

Extremely breathable

Flexible and lightweight

Cons:

The sizing runs a bit narrow

Aside from Wave technology, The Mizuno Wave Rider is a vegan running shoe that has quite a few features to offer runners who like to put some distance under their feet. With some pretty positive ratings from users, let's take a closer look at what these are all about.

Read more

Comfort
Want breathability? The Mizuno Intercool technology offers exceptional ventilation throughout the length of the shoe. Additionally, the designed fit of the shoe's upper provides a secure, but stress relieving natural fit. Of course we couldn't fail to mention Mizuno's Wave technology which provides extra cushioning, equal to energy returning, shock absorbent bounce back.

Durability
There is a more durable high abrasion compound covering the high wear areas of the outsole. Really, there aren't many critical reviews of the quality or durability of this model. They seem to hold up well to quite a few miles .

Price
You're bound to find a great deal on these if you shop Amazon. Ranging between $60 and $155, you can get a high-quality vegan shoe in a variety of colors for a great price.

5. Merrell Bare Access Ultra

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
Merrell Bare Access Ultra
Comfort
97
Durability
96
Price
97
best offer for today
$139.00
Pros:

Good ground contact

Lightweight, minimalistic design

Vibram sole provides good grip on multiple surfaces

Cons:

Takes some time to get used to the reduced cushion and support of a minimalistic trail runner

If you like to take your run to the trails, then you're most likely familiar with Merrell's trail runners. The Bare Access Ultra is a slightly minimalistic improvement to the Bare Access line. With the grip of the Vibram sole and zero drop, these vegan trail runners are sure to provide a solid off-road run. Let's dig a bit deeper into the general features of this shoe.

Read more

Comfort
Although these are more of a minimalistic design, they do have some decent cushioning from the MBOUND+ midsole, which also offers efficient energy return. The Zero-drop and 0mm differential from heel-to-toe allow the wearer excellent ground contact and confident running stability. These are really meant to be used on the trails, but work well on the road as well. However, the impact response may be different on harder road surfaces.

Durability
The grippy Vibram outsole is designed to be used over off-road terrain, so they seem to hold up well to their intended use. There are, however, a few critical reviews from customers that claim the outsole didn't last as long on the road as it did over trails.

Price
These are available on Amazon for a moderate $160. We have found no reviews complaining about the price tag, so they are definitely worth your money!

6. ASICS GEL-Nimbus 20

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
ASICS GEL-Nimbus 20
Comfort
97
Durability
96
Price
96
best offer for today
Pros:

Great cushioning

The ability to wick out moisture to ensure the foot remains dry and cool all the time

The clutching ability so the heel ensures comfort and stability

Variety of color options

One of the best vegan shoes for underpronators with all the stability and extra cushioning

The outsole is one of the most durable ones as it makes the shoe equally durable

Cons:

Sizing can be slightly narrow

Asics brand comes with bundles of joy to any person who wants to rock it as a laid back look or for sports and this shoe was designed specificly for underpronators. It has lots of cushioning and a great enhanced support system. It is best for people who love animals but still like running for hours or in marathons. And just like we put it that in all vegan shoes you want to purchase makes sure you look for any signs or ask any questions to ensure you get the right vegan shoes and not otherwise. Asics also deals in leather shoes so make sure the shoe you buy is a vegan shoe.

Read more

Comfort
These shoes have attracted the eyes of many and we cannot stop getting positive feedback from the customers who purchase them. With their ample stability and cushioning that enhances comfort to the features, such as the fluid fit technique in the upper area, the cushioning made of gel, the ability to wick out moisture, to the clutching ability of the heel makes this one of the best vegan shoes out there.

Durability
With the comfort being on check we have to make sure the durability of this shoe doesn’t disappoint. With the outsole made from AHAR rubber to ensure that it is of great quality and durability making this shoe even more appealing.

Price
Asics shoes are one of the best-rated shoes, although they may have a cost that can make you think twice. With all the features that included, we are sure you wouldn’t mind giving just a few extra pennies.

7. Inov-8 Trailroc 245

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Inov-8  Trailroc 245
Comfort
96
Durability
96
Price
96
best offer for today
more shops
$59.99
$149.95
Best deal
Pros:

Very lightweight

Exceptional breathability

Decent traction over various types of terrain

Cons:

They run a bit narrow

Here is an offering from Inov-8, another manufacturer that produces really good vegan runners. Like the name suggests, Inov-8 does produce some innovative designs with features specific to the intended use of their particular models. The model that we have here is the Trailroc 245. This is a minimalistic trail running shoe that boasts some decent features to keep you going.

Read more

Comfort
The shoe's Natural Fit anatomical design gives the user a secure but natural and flexible fit, allowing better foot motion and control. Although a minimalist shoe, there is some cushioning and impact resistance provided by the Shoc-Zone midsole, which also offers a decent amount of bounceback.
You can have some added stability from the grip provided by the durable high traction outsole, which is ideal for the trail, but works okay on the road as well.

Durability
The durability of the Trailroc is enhanced by features such as upper overlays and abrasion resistant sections applied around midfoot and even more liberally over the toe, in the form of a protective cap. Although these are extremely lightweight with very mass, when it comes to material, they do hold up pretty well. There are some customer reviews that are critical of the shoe's longevity, but there really aren't any that give specific examples of conditions of use. So we will go with the majority of the reviews which are positive.

Price
The price tag on these are average for your typical high-quality running shoe. According to the number of positive reviews, they are well worth the cost. And of course don't forget the great deals you can find on the Amazon link above!

8. Saucony Triumph ISO 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Saucony Triumph ISO 2
Comfort
96
Durability
96
Price
95
best offer for today
more shops
$85.00
$149.95
Best deal
Pros:

Excellent breathability

Decent impact resistance with the SRC landing zone

Exceptional traction provided by Saucony's TRI-FLEX outsole

Cons:

Some experienced issues with sizing

Saucony is a great example of a company that produces shoes from vegan materials. And a great representation of one of their quality products is the Triumph ISO 2. This one boasts many of the features that Saucony includes in their best models, but in a normal design. Take a look below to see these features and just how they benefit the runner who puts these on.

Read more

Comfort
Starting from the top, the upper is made up of a breathable, lightweight mesh material which is blended with synthetic overlays that are non-stitched for additional support. Inside there is a soft ISOFIT inner sleeve liner, allowing a secure, comfortable fit. Moving down, the EVERUN topsole combined with the shoe's PWRGRID+ midsole,there is plenty of supportive and responsive cushioning. For increased shock absorption, the Triumph sports Saucony's SRC Landing Zone, which helps to manage impact response. Finally, the TRIFLEX outsole and fairly aggressive tread provide great traction, suitable for multiple surfaces and conditions

Durability
Saucony usually puts out products of good quality, made with durable materials. Besides added support, the upper overlays also help to aid in the shoe's overall durability. We have gone through a ton of reviews and customer feedback, coming up with no major durability concerns. There are some critical of sneaker sizing problems and firmness, but that's about it.

Price
The price tag on these are rather dichotomic. You can find some great deals on Amazon for about $50 or you can find a rather expensive pair for nearly $300. We hope you find your favorite shoe for the cheaper end of that deal!

9. ASICS GEL-Kayano 24

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
ASICS GEL-Kayano 24
Comfort
95
Durability
95
Price
95
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

This shoes are quite stable making the user comfortable in everything they do

Best for people with over pronation and high arches

The sock liner has ortholite 40 that helps athletes with the overpronation  and high arches

Cons:

The toe box can be tight

Among the vegan shoes this one comes in our list as well, Asics brand are well known in sport gears which makes this a phenomenal choice for runners. The stability of this shoes is unquestioned as it works best for people who have overpronation and are long distance runners. Also have in mind when shopping for vegan shoes that this brand also deals with non-vegan shoes and they are labelled L to mean leather is used while making them.

Read more

Comfort
When designing these shoes, they put comfort in consideration, with its FluidFit upper. The midsoles have inserts made of silicone gel to enhance cushioning, plus other features like the sock liner with ortholite X40. It is great for athletes with over pronation and high aches.

Durability
The durability of this shoe is outstanding whether you have them on for casual outfit or daily runs. The lining makes the upper strong to improve the durability of the shoe. The outsole rubber is also hard to make it long lasting and stable.

Price
The price is fair considering what you get in the long run. At $50 to $180, the features are worth the price.

10. Saucony Guide 9

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Saucony Guide 9
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Price
95
best offer for today
more shops
$119.95
Best deal
Pros:

Well ventilated uppers

Breathable

Good cost to value ratio

Lightweight with good stability

Good arch support system

Cons:

Upper mesh may wear fast if used on rough trails

Saucony is one of our best shoe brand as they always have the buyers’ interest at heart. This is another company that makes both vegan and non-vegan shoes, so if you shop off this list make sure you ask the right questions so your shoe choice is fully vegan. These are great for people who have average to mild pronation. The extra cushioning and thick heel sole makes them stand out as one of the best support enhanced vegan shoes in the market.

Read more

Comfort
When we put the comfort of this shoe to test it delivered quite an impressive result. Its EVA enabled midsole gave quite an impression of comfort and shock absorption when placed on the feet even after a long walk and run. This also means less injuries, with its light weight, good arch support, and increased breathability of the upper mesh.

Durability
The durability of the shoe is commendable especially if well taken care of. Of the 900+ reviews we researched, only a mere few complained of durability issues. These shoes were perhaps built for road or treadmill, instead of the rough terrain of trails. They may last longer on smoother surfaces.

Price
Saucony have great features in a shoe but all the same they have affordable prices. As always, you can find a great deal on Amazon where these shoes top off at $140. They are very affordable.

11. Merrell Trail Glove 3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Merrell Trail Glove 3
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Price
94
best offer for today
$89.95
Pros:

Comfortable zero drop

Vibram outsole

Omni Fit Lace System

Breathability

Good traction

Good FIT

Cons:

Some runners suggest a need for more cushion underfoot

Merrel produces a good line of shoes for various types of running and is well known for being one of the few brands to put out shoes for vegan runners and are happy to put on labels to confirm this.

This shoe can perform to high expectations and is comfortable, protective and gives good traction.

Read more

Comfort
The upper gives secure stable comfort with nice breathability performance, the upper has light reflective shoe tech and the Omni-Fit lace-up mechanism gives very secure FIT. The underfoot cushion is comfortable though some feedback suggests runners feel it could be more.

Durability
Durability is assured when good quality synthetics are used for constructing a shoe, therefore the shoe has an overall durability when the shoe is used in the right running context and the synthetic mesh is very durable. As this shoe is built to run trails durability has been factored into the construction. You feel comfort from the insole, the outsole gives nice reliable grip due to Vibram shoe tech

Price
Runs at a middle cost and is affordable in return for a good performance shoe.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

There are plenty of factors that contribute to the comfort you'll find in a running shoe, but with these vegan running shoes we focused on stability and fit.

If you are used to a more supportive running shoe, then you should select a vegan option that best reminds you of what you’re used to. Some runners make the mistake of going from a padded running shoe to a minimal barefoot runner to quickly and experience increased muscle fatigue, blisters, and even unnecessary injuries.

Stability is one of the qualities a shoe can have that will really make a difference when it comes to your personal comfort. Runners never know what they will come across when they head out of the door, so it was important to take traction into consideration when developing a “best of” list. Running shoes with aggressive patterns on the outsole will ensure that you can step with confidence and give allowance for you to follow through with your stride. Seasoned runners also look for well-spaced lugs that can make quick work out of small rocks and pebbles. Research demonstrates that vegan materials provide just as much grip and traction as non-vegan materials.

Choosing the right shoe size of the feet is one of the few things that are overlooked frequently by most people, especially by runners who are beginners. Typically, feet will swell throughout the day and after strenuous workouts. It’s a wise idea to get a size that is well fitting and sizing your foot whenever you are choosing your running shoe to get an accurate idea of your real size. Remember that these are running shoes that will see a lot of miles, and selecting the right size is crucial for comfort and support. Don’t assume that you’re the same size as your dress shoes.

Durability

There is a misconception among athletes that natural materials are somehow less durable than their industrially made counterparts. Nothing can be further from the truth.

When we took a look at the outsoles, midsoles, and uppers of these vegan running shoes and compared them to other shoes that we have reviewed, we found no difference whatsoever. Mother Nature is able to provide us with sustainable materials that stand up to the test of time and can take whatever you can throw at it. User feedback on vegan shoes demonstrated high marks in the durability department with just the same amount of mileage as a standard running shoe.

It is very important to keep in mind that while typical road running shoes are replaceable after every two hundred and fifty to six hundred and twenty miles, vegan running shoes are no different. Most runners agree that you should never go based on how much life the footwear “looks like” it has left. Furthermore, if you have a plan of running for back to back days strictly, you might need to have at least two pairs. Not only will this give allowance for your running shoes to get dried out from any moisture or sweet that has collected in them, but it will also let the midsole recover from the tougher impact that is common when running. If your shoes begin to loosen, rub, or feel uncomfortable due to wear and tear, then it is time to look at buying a replacement pair as soon as you are able to do so.

Value

It's up to you to decide whether the cost of the shoe is worth all of the value you'll be getting out of it.

Although cost isn't synonymous with quality, it is important to take into account how the price of a shoe affects its value. You can evaluate whether a shoe is worth the cost depending on your needs and your budget and comparing that to its cost. Most of the shoes on our list are in about the same price range, although there are a few that are more affordable than others.

Other Factors to Consider

Terrain

It is important to consider what type of terrain you will be coming across on your run. If this is your case, then you might be more wishing to consider to stick to a selection with a strong outsole pattern. Stay away from the minimalist models with less grip. If most of your running will be on a treadmill or road, then consider lower profile running shoe what can give you the benefit of lightweight steps. As mentioned above, your terrain will affect what you need from your shoe so make sure you consider whether you are running on flat or rugged ground most of the time.

Protection

We also focused on having a keen research and look at the overall amount of protection the footwear is offering. Most runners and athletes have it in their fingerprints that it’s extremely important to be able to trust your footwear when you need it most. This gave us, the researchers, more inspiration to find out what the seasonal athletes or runners had in mind after the usage of their running shoes on high paced and intense runs. We chose the safest type of running shoes that provide whole-foot protection and tough and the upper of the shoe that is rugged for the most safety as possible for the athlete.

Bottom Line

The great news is that today’s environmentally conscious runners don’t have to choose between an animal-friendly shoe and style or performance. Major running shoe companies have stepped up and made the choice to care about Mother Nature without sacrificing looks or features. We listened to the opinions and suggestions of everyday runners about performance over long-term periods or wear.

We are aware that everyone likes to choose themselves the type of footwear they will wear– one that will be in line with their personal style– so we made sure to present products from a wide range of colors and styles. Research shows that if you are happy with how your footwear looks, you are more likely to exercise and put it to work. Form and function both are incredibly important and are key to determining which pair of running shoes are right for your unique lifestyle. It is also important to think about where you are running as sidewalks and roads will have different needs for support and durability than trail running will.

We know that when the environment is important to you, what your shoes are made from matters. We performed our due diligence and researched beyond manufacturer’s information when ensuring that the running shoes we selected were free of any animal products of any kind; careful to also look for animal by-products that can be found in the glues used in the manufacturing process. We are happy to report that all our selected footwear is 100% vegan.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know if a pair of shoes is made with vegan materials?
a:

There are actually companies who produce only vegan footwear. Some of the companies that are vegan only are Newton, Brooks, and Mizuno to name just a few. Keep in mind that it’s also important to make sure that they don’t test products on animals or use animal by-products on dyes or glue. There are many aspects of shoe construction, manufacturing, and testing that can impact our animal friends so we must be mindful of them all as we check.

q: Will vegan shoes hold up the same as those made with non-vegan materials?
a:

Sure they will. Most running shoes these days are mostly made up of durable and lightweight synthetic materials. The big difference is that some are made from vegan methods of material production. Vegan materials are just as resilient as their non-vegan counterparts and runners reported high marks on durability. They also are often easier to replace for many runners because there is no guilt associated with buying another pair of shoes that were made from the abuse or death of an innocent animal.

q: Do any companies claim to produce vegan products, but really aren’t truly vegan?
a:

We haven’t found any cases of that. However, there are some manufacturers that produce both vegan and non-vegan products. So, just because one pair of runners from a company is vegan, a different model may not be. When shopping, you’ll need to look for the product to state whether it is or isn’t. There are plenty of resources online, but you can even email a manufacturer inquiring about the matter. It’s important to make sure if there is any doubt. Our list contains verified 100% vegan options that use no animal products or by-products.

q: Are vegan running shoes more expensive than non-vegan models?
a:

We haven’t really seen any evidence of that. Typically the brands that offer the option are the ones who tend to produce the higher quality footwear. So, the prices seem to be right in line with there other similar products and the idea of getting what you pay for and investing in higher quality now to save money down the road still applies to vegan running shoes. One of the best things about vegan footwear and apparel is that is doesn’t cost a penny more and you can really make a big difference in a defenseless animal’s life. Peta recommends that vegans vote with their wallets because it is thanks to the demand from vegan options that shoes like these are now available to us!

Sources

  1. Matt Frazier, No Meat Athlete , Vegan Blog,
  2. Nikki D'Amico, Brooks Blog, Brooks Blog,